We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best...not the worst” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of University Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
University Square Hotel
Ranked #36 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not the best...not the worst”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

The rooms look like they have been halfway renovated. There is a new tv and semi-new carpeting. The beds were clean and comfortable...and that ends my positive experience. The walls are paper thin. We could hear our neighbor's television until midnight. We thought that at that point we could get some sleep, we were wrong! We could hear their entire conversation. This went on until 3. AM. They were not arguing, so a call to the front desk would have done no good. The bathroom sink was broken and the mini fridge in the room sounded like it was going to explode at any moment. The loud motor running sounded like there was a generator in our room. The room definitely smelled of cigarettes even though they said that all of the rooms were non-smoking. The apartments directly behind the hotel were a bit scary as well. When we came back after dinner we could hear people arguing outside. I don't think that I would ever stay here again. I would prefer to pay $20 more to have a nicer place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at University Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Renee:

Thanks for your review. Yes, our beds are newer and clean. The hotel was build in 1984 with plaster drywall for better insulation and noise reduction. I will personally investigate the noise issue. We are in the process of renovating the guestrooms. The newly added security gates add extra security. Hope your next stay would be more comfortable.

Thanks,

Hoang Tran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    38
    47
    31
    27
See reviews for
47
35
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

As others note, this hotel is a little bit run-down and shabby around the edges, but I found the staff to be friendly and helpful, the location just 10 minutes from the Fresno Airport to be handy, and the complementary breakfast to be not bad.

Frankly I chose this hotel because on my past visit to Fresno, the hotel I'd stayed at was in an characterless, auto-centric neighborhood, and I thought that this USH location next to Fresno State University would provide for a livelier and more interesting neighborhood, for someone like me who likes to explore on foot.

Unfortunately, no: Fresno appears to be a universally uninteresting, auto-centric town (sorry, Fresnoans). As Gertrude Stein once famously said, "There is no there there." Even around the University -- which is hemmed in by six-lane boulevards on all sides, thereby destroying any hope for evolving a pedestrian-friendly neighborhood -- it's mostly chain restaurants and nondescript apartment complexes. Oh well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GonzoDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at University Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear GonzoDon:

Thanks for staying with us. Our hotel has a unique English Tudor architectural design which is not as boring as newer hotels in the area. Many guests have enjoyed a large courtyard with refreshing swimming pool. I am sorry that you found Fresno State University uninteresting. It's been there over a century with a newly elected president and a strong football team. Come and stay with us again and let us know how you like the egg rolls for breakfast? Our all you can eat breakfast has been well received by our guests.

Thanks,

Hoang Tran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

This property is rundown and our room was worn, tired and dingy. The room furnishings were cheap and the lighting very dark. The bathroom light fixture looked like something from the 1960’s – fluorescent and ugly. The air quality overall was stale. On the first of our two night stay, the guests next to our room were blasting music and smoking and eventually the police were called to quiet them down. (The hotel verified that this is a non-smoking facility). This ordeal took over 90 minutes to get under control which did impact our already very underwhelming experience considering we spent $100.00 per night, not an excessive amount, but the quality and environment would have been more fairly priced at $60/$70 (max) per nite. The manager did offer to provide a $20.00 discount -- the best he said he could do for our first night stay but offered a discount only after I asked. In truth, it would have been appropriate for them to comp the night’s stay since we got to bed so late due to the incident mentioned and got next to no sleep. This venue is in need or a remodeling overhaul.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spiritofitalytours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at University Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Spiritofitalytours:

Thanks for your review. I am so sorry for a neighboring guests that were out of control during your stay. Our employees tried the best the know how to quiet them down unsuccessfully. We never had to call a police before, but had no choice in this case for the benefit of other guests. We are striving to do better providing comfort to our guests. The renovation of all bathrooms is in progress. Hope your next stay would be a better experience. Please send me an e-mail with your reservation number. Once your reservation is verified, I will authorize my staff to offer you a free upgrade during your next visit. We would like to earn your business.

Sincerely,

Hoang Tran (e-mail: htran@universitysquarehoteloffresno.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elk grove
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was our second stay at this homestyle hotel. We arrived there in the afternoon on Saturday for an overnight stay in one of their suites that is like having (2) master bedrooms with their very own refigerator,tv w/free wifi etc. Went to the Sizzler on Shaw Marvin's B-Day dinner. Came back to the hotel.
Sunday we had a all you can eat buffet breakfast compliments of the hotel.The breakfast Consisted of eggs, sausage, toast, waffles a variety of cereals danish fresh fruit and for bevarages were coffee, tea milk,orange juice. Excellent service. I would recommend them.

Room Tip: Ask for their suite it like have two (2) master bedrooms equipped with a tv wifi refrigerator, coff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank red316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pablo, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

I would agree with most of the reviews in repect to comfort of my room, upgradedTV, great pool, the breakfast, and the the courtesy given to my family. The big Plus was when they shuttled us over to the event we were going to.
I would stay there again.

In reference to the smoke and age of the building, is it old?, yes but well maintained and I did not detect any cigarette smoke in my room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FredHD R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElkGrove
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

They get an A for trying but this is a rundown hotel. They have central heat and air that sends the cigarette smell from one room to the next regardless of what building. I am allergic to cigarettes and felt like I was going into anaphylaxis shock from the fumes. Thankfully, they refunded my money and I stayed at the Hilton Garden. I am still in shock that they are both rated 3 stars because the Hilton felt like the Ritz Carlton after leaving the University Square.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the pool are better and the ground floor rooms open up to the pool courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi500, Manager at University Square Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay. I apologize for your experience with us regarding the smoke smell. Our hotel is 100% non smoking but we do allow guest to smoke in designated smoking area outside and in the courtyard. Guest who don't follow out nonsmoking policy are charged a fee if they smoke in the room. Once housekeeping cleans the room and reports that there was smoking we immediately break down the room and do a deep cleaning. We also put an ionizer machine in which collects all of the smoke particles in the air. We aim to please our guests throughout their stay and appreciate feedback before you leave so that we may resolve any issues immediately. I hope you return to give us an opportunity to earn your business again. If you do I will personally take care of your reservation and I will do my best to make sure you have an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Close to clovis it worked great. Iys right next to some great places to eat and csu Fresno. The pool is a nice shape ans comp breakfast was decent. Ice machines are brolen.which.sucked because when i was there it was 113 degree s. stay here its nice for the price
i

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kswag999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fresno
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fresno Inn
4.3 mi away
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
#8 of 64 in Fresno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Fresno North
Ramada Fresno North
#29 of 64 in Fresno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clovis Fresno Area
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Clovis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Square Hotel

Property: University Square Hotel
Address: 4961 N Cedar Ave, Fresno, CA 93726-1062 (Formerly Piccadilly Inn University)
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Square Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The University Square Hotel! We are located just minutes from Downtown Fresno, The Fresno Convention Center, Save Mart Center Fresno and adjacent to California State University Fresno. University Square Hotel is the perfect choice for both the business or leisure traveler. The hotel is close to a variety of shopping or dining options like Fashion Fair Mall, Fig Garden Village or River Park. Looking for some more fun? University Square Hotel is near a multitude of activities like the Chaffee Zoo, Fresno Museum of Art, Fresno State Bulldog sports or the Fresno Grizzlies. If you want to relax, simply stay put and enjoy our amenities including a refreshing swimming pool, garden courtyard, heated spa and a comprehensive gym for an invigorating work out. Relax in our spacious guest rooms complete with plush, upgraded bedding. Each room comes equipped with the amenities needed for a great stay. All rooms come with a refrigerator and microwaves upon request. We offer our guests a deluxe hotel with a continental breakfast and complimentary high speed internet access along with a business center for free! Planning a meeting or special event? The University Square Hotel has a superior level of guest service and exceptional meeting, wedding, and banquet facilities. Our elegant ballroom can accommodate up to 400 people banquet style. The University Square Hotel has a full service catering team to meet your needs. We're ready to plan your next event. We welcome your visit to the Fresno area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your University Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccadilly Hotel University
Piccadilly Hotel Fresno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing