We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
University Square Hotel
Ranked #39 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I previously stayed at this hotel when it was the Picadilly Inn. Along with the new name, it is under new management so disregard old negative comments. After moving my college student into the dorms at Fresno State, I arrived really tired and was pleasantly surprised by all the improvements. Location to the college is the great and surrounded by many good restaurants within walking distance. I will definitely stay here again when I am in Fresno.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MornaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesClovis, General Manager at University Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2011

Dear Morna L,

Thank you for taking the time to provide the feedback for our hotel. I am glad to hear that everything worked out and you enjoyed our hospitality. Looking forward to catering to your hospitality needs in the near future! Make sure to keep in touch with us online, so you can stay updated with all of the upgrades we are currently going through!

Kindest Regards,

Jay Virk,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 184 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2011

I've stayed in this hotel over the last decade for various reasons and have never had any problems and just returned from staying overnight after a trip to Yosemite. Those who post poor reviews are just complainers by nature in my book. Easy check-in, happy hour and breakfast are what you pay for (nothing fancy), and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Lots of places to eat nearby; some within walking distance. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MorroRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

this so called hotel is very outdated, dirty, and unsafe, the staff was very unhelpful and they don't know what the word service means. My room had left over trash and left over food in the refridgerator. I would recomend a cheap motel over this dump any day

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank booboobooboo60750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
Thank N_Taylor105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank thoem246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Amir Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Sebastien V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fresno
1.5 mi away
Ramada Fresno North
Ramada Fresno North
#33 of 64 in Fresno
552 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Fresno Inn
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clovis Fresno Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
#11 of 64 in Fresno
613 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Clovis
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fresno North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Square Hotel

Address: 4961 N Cedar Ave, Fresno, CA 93726-1062 (Formerly Piccadilly Inn University)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range: $64 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Square Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The University Square Hotel! We are located just minutes from Downtown Fresno, The Fresno Convention Center, Save Mart Center Fresno and adjacent to California State University Fresno. University Square Hotel is the perfect choice for both the business or leisure traveler. The hotel is close to a variety of shopping or dining options like Fashion Fair Mall, Fig Garden Village or River Park. Looking for some more fun? University Square Hotel is near a multitude of activities like the Chaffee Zoo, Fresno Museum of Art, Fresno State Bulldog sports or the Fresno Grizzlies. If you want to relax, simply stay put and enjoy our amenities including a refreshing swimming pool, garden courtyard, heated spa and a comprehensive gym for an invigorating work out. Relax in our spacious guest rooms complete with plush, upgraded bedding. Each room comes equipped with the amenities needed for a great stay. All rooms come with a refrigerator and microwaves upon request. We offer our guests a deluxe hotel with a continental breakfast and complimentary high speed internet access along with a business center for free! Planning a meeting or special event? The University Square Hotel has a superior level of guest service and exceptional meeting, wedding, and banquet facilities. Our elegant ballroom can accommodate up to 400 people banquet style. The University Square Hotel has a full service catering team to meet your needs. We're ready to plan your next event. We welcome your visit to the Fresno area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your University Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccadilly Hotel University
Piccadilly Hotel Fresno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing