We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful!”
Review of University Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
University Inn
Ranked #42 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Worst place we've ever stayed at!
The rooms smelled funny.
The carpet and chairs showed dirty stains...
The sheets were dusty en made me itchy.
I felt dirty after sleeping at this place.
The rooms were overall real dirty, and old, this place urgently needs a full make-over!!!!
Plus the service was poorly and the wifi did not work, annoying when you are on the road for one month!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UniversityInnFresno, Manager at University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you for your review, every comment is used to correct any problems we might have in our property. We have a 24hr maintenance staff that can help you with any problems you might have during your stay.
Regarding the internet, I personally made sure every guest has internet. Except for when our service was being upgraded two months ago for a day, the internet has not had any problems. OUr system runs on the same network that our guests use, therefore we can't operate the business if there is no internet. If you had any problems, our front desk staff will direct you to maintenance or myself during the hours of 8am - 7 pm. After those hours, maintenance can still resolve the issue by simply dialing "0".
Our room carpets get cleaned after every third stay or depending on how the previous guest left it. If its noticeably dirty, the housekeeper will report it and have it cleaned.
Sheets get changed after every guest checks out and there are no exceptions in that.
As with any hotel, please inform management if you have any problems so that we can correct the issue right away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for University Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 88 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2012

Hotel was not clean. Had no shower curtain, shampoo, soap, etc... Told front desk staff about the shower curtain in the morning and they were surprised, but offered no compensation. They just said "that's too bad".

Grounds were dirty (broken glass and we even saw a razor blade)

We would not stay at this place again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Free2bgr8ful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UniversityInnFresno, Manager at University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thank You for the review. I'm sorry the hotel was not to your satisfaction. All of our rooms have to have a shower curtain and "thats too bad" is not an appropriate response and I apologize on behalf of whoever might have said that. We work diligently everyday to make sure our hotel is properly maintained. I still appreciate you taking the time to write this review.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

NO shower curtain, loose taps and dirty!! Need I say more... Dirt on the carpet, behind the stands but towels were clean....

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jsimmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

stayed with my college~aged daughter after reading a few reviews, some good , some ...not so much. My own experience, included sitting in my car at first, considering leaving because of the dompletelly out of control "families" in the surrounding rooms . The room smelled of a bad chemical and I felt "ill" regardless of the air conditioner. I had to call 911. The phone would not dial out and the desk clerk would NOT help. After the violence abated w/ police action I wanted a relaxing shower. No amenities and I'd brought none. The next morning, the breakfast was: a selection of crumbs from flaked cereal with no sanitary way of scooping and 2 pieces of white bread- the discount loaf bag was in the tray. We went elsewhere. My experience seems consistent w/ the others' with low ratings. The high ratings seem to describe an alternative reality.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MimosaVendetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Maybe it's just that the rooms are old. Everything had a strange smell.even my aunties room. When we turned on the air the smell became worst. On a secondnote here's some Advice: don't let employees stand outside the doors of the hotel smoking. Not everyone wants to smell it!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Italianmission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UniversityInnFresno, Manager at University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

I thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately from time to time, we can have guests that smoke in non smoking rooms leaving an unpleasant odor for most of our guests. When a front desk staff is informed of the situation, we will usually switch you to a room of your liking so that we may treat the problem room. It is advisable to always let a staff member know of the situation so that the problem can be corrected.
Thank you again for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

This place is the worst. Not only because the door for our room was broken, not because the breakfast is awful, cheap cereal in plastic bowls, but because during the evenings drug dealers can be seen in the parking lot going about their business freely. My girlfriend was quite scared.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ichrisper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UniversityInnFresno, Manager at University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

Thank you for taking your time to write a review. We are a 24 hour facility that is located across the street from a concert venue and Fresno State University. Due to this, it is bound to have people and students roam around the property at different times. It would be unfair to say these people are drug dealers specially on a concert night. Illegal activities are not only prohibited by the property, but by the law and you are encouraged to report any of such activities to property management and the police so proper measures can be taken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Was not too far from the campus. I thought the continental breakfast was great! The rooms were clean and the staff were great! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfergrrrl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UniversityInnFresno, Manager at University Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

Thank you for staying with us! We are glad we have met your expectations in your stay. Thank you for mentioning the proximity to the campus, which is right across the street, a lot of our guests love that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fresno
0.9 mi away
University Square Hotel
University Square Hotel
#39 of 64 in Fresno
182 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramada Fresno North
Ramada Fresno North
#33 of 64 in Fresno
538 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ambassador Inn And Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Clovis
2.5 mi away
Best Western Clovis Cole
3.6 mi away
Best Budget Inn
Best Budget Inn
#28 of 64 in Fresno
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn

Address: 2655 E Shaw Ave, Fresno, CA 93710-8228
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range: $66 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — University Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a two story, 24 hr hotel located in Fresno, California, directly adjacent to Fresno State University and the new SaveMarket Center. We are close to many fine restaurants, shopping centers, theaters, and are near freeway access to Yosemite, Kings Canyon and Sequoia National Parks. Guests may enjoy the spa and pool and the fine setting of Fresno's bustling northeast University district. All rooms feature free high speed internet connection, and guests may enjoy a free expanded continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Fresno
University Motel Fresno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing