We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Stinks in soooo many ways” 1 of 5 stars
Review of University Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
University Inn
Ranked #39 of 65 Hotels in Fresno
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stinks in soooo many ways”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

stayed with my college~aged daughter after reading a few reviews, some good , some ...not so much. My own experience, included sitting in my car at first, considering leaving because of the dompletelly out of control "families" in the surrounding rooms . The room smelled of a bad chemical and I felt "ill" regardless of the air conditioner. I had to call 911. The phone would not dial out and the desk clerk would NOT help. After the violence abated w/ police action I wanted a relaxing shower. No amenities and I'd brought none. The next morning, the breakfast was: a selection of crumbs from flaked cereal with no sanitary way of scooping and 2 pieces of white bread- the discount loaf bag was in the tray. We went elsewhere. My experience seems consistent w/ the others' with low ratings. The high ratings seem to describe an alternative reality.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MimosaVendetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    18
    22
    8
    19
See reviews for
15
25
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Maybe it's just that the rooms are old. Everything had a strange smell.even my aunties room. When we turned on the air the smell became worst. On a secondnote here's some Advice: don't let employees stand outside the doors of the hotel smoking. Not everyone wants to smell it!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Italianmission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UniversityInnFresno, Manager at University Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
I thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately from time to time, we can have guests that smoke in non smoking rooms leaving an unpleasant odor for most of our guests. When a front desk staff is informed of the situation, we will usually switch you to a room of your liking so that we may treat the problem room. It is advisable to always let a staff member know of the situation so that the problem can be corrected.
Thank you again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fresno hotels

Ludvika, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

This place is the worst. Not only because the door for our room was broken, not because the breakfast is awful, cheap cereal in plastic bowls, but because during the evenings drug dealers can be seen in the parking lot going about their business freely. My girlfriend was quite scared.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ichrisper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UniversityInnFresno, Manager at University Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thank you for taking your time to write a review. We are a 24 hour facility that is located across the street from a concert venue and Fresno State University. Due to this, it is bound to have people and students roam around the property at different times. It would be unfair to say these people are drug dealers specially on a concert night. Illegal activities are not only prohibited by the property, but by the law and you are encouraged to report any of such activities to property management and the police so proper measures can be taken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Was not too far from the campus. I thought the continental breakfast was great! The rooms were clean and the staff were great! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank surfergrrrl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UniversityInnFresno, Manager at University Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thank you for staying with us! We are glad we have met your expectations in your stay. Thank you for mentioning the proximity to the campus, which is right across the street, a lot of our guests love that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Stayed for one night only and the place is average to say the least. Pretty run down and would really benefit from a major makeover. Close to many restaurants and conveniences.

Had dinner in the hotel bar and it was ok. The staff in the bar were very helpful and polite. Breakfast was free but not a lot of choice.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annabelle2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

Was not sure what to expect after reading several reviews here, but took a chance and made a reservation for the University Inn because it is right across the street from the University of Fresno and an easy walk to the graduation ceremonies going on there. I was very pleased to find my room was clean, comfortable, and I got my request to get an upper floor room overlooking the pool. The housekeeping staff were prompt and efficient, and the front desk clerks helpful and courteous. Numerous places to eat within walking distance, and Starbucks next door for a great morning cup of coffee! My only complaint is there was no shampoo or conditioner in the room, but I had brought my own anyway. It was a great weekend, and I will stay here again if I ever need a room close to FSU in the future!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firedog13814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UniversityInnFresno, Manager at University Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
We are glad you had a great stay. We hope you come visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

To our dismay, the room was not serviced. I called the front desk and inquired about the situation and the night manager said "Sorry, we had a lot of rooms to clean." The sales manager's reply "thank you for the feedback. I'm sorry for the inconvenience but we will make things right for you. I will conduct an investigation and will get back to you shortly. All I can tell you right now is that our rooms get serviced on a daily basis and "we had a lot of rooms" is not a response i'm satisfied with either." The University Inn never made it right.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank torrance15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UniversityInnFresno, Manager at University Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thank you for your review. Cleaning a room on a guest staying-over is a standard hotel practice. For the guests privacy, do not disturb signs are available for you to hang in the door. This means the hotel maid will not clean your room as per your request. Our hotel carries a full housekeeping staff to cover all rooms as well as a housekeeping supervisor to make sure the job is done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fresno
0.9 mi away
University Square Hotel
University Square Hotel
#37 of 65 in Fresno
3.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramada Fresno North
Ramada Fresno North
#31 of 65 in Fresno
3.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clovis Fresno Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Clovis
6.3 mi away
Econo Lodge North Parkway Drive
3.1 mi away
Piccadilly Inn Express
Piccadilly Inn Express
#34 of 65 in Fresno
3.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn

Property: University Inn
Address: 2655 E Shaw Ave, Fresno, CA 93710-8228
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 65 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — University Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a two story, 24 hr hotel located in Fresno, California, directly adjacent to Fresno State University and the new SaveMarket Center. We are close to many fine restaurants, shopping centers, theaters, and are near freeway access to Yosemite, Kings Canyon and Sequoia National Parks. Guests may enjoy the spa and pool and the fine setting of Fresno's bustling northeast University district. All rooms feature free high speed internet connection, and guests may enjoy a free expanded continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Fresno
University Motel Fresno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing