We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place with a but”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Inn and Suites
Ranked #19 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Zug, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice little place with a but”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The owners are most friendly people, attentive to their guests' needs. The rooms are simple, but clean, with nice furniture. Bathroom in our room in need of a repaint. Good WiFi signal. Good breakfast; I would say better than similarly positioned motels. However: The hotel is just adjacent to a noisy freeway and the sound isolation is insufficient for this location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSTZug_Switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    32
    11
    7
    5
See reviews for
45
36
1
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We have stayed here twice now and it is great. The rooms are very clean. The atmosphere is wonderful. You would never know your one block from the freeway. They have fresh fruit from the garden every morning. The whole grounds are planted in various fruits and veggies. This is a small business that deserves support. The only place I will ever stay in Fresno.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in July. The rooms are very basic and bathrooms not great. AC was not very soft, but could not switch it off with the heat in July. Free wifi was good and reliable. Breakfast was very basic with little variety. Fruit from the hotel's garden was a nice touch. Staff is friendly and helpful. But for the price I would have expected more.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hansvonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Selected this hotel based on rating with booking.com and trip advisor. Based on the rate I was expecting a three star hotel which this is not. Very dated room in need of repair. Noisy AC made it hard to sleep. Wierd breakfast selection with no freshfruit. The parking was good and I could walk right from my motorcycle into the room. The room rate should be 35 dollars lower.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Garden Inn Is the Only choice when visiting Fresno! We flew down fr WA to meet Relatives from Europe who were traveling the US by car. They had reservations @ another motel but checked out after 1 N when i told them about GI. Jaime moved us so we had a adjoining room to their suite which made it very comfortable. Spacious rooms & bathrooms, great pool and gardens. Liked the waffles, yogurt and fresh fruit at breakfast. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gratefulll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

There were many pluses to this place but their air conditioning system would keep us from booking this place again in the summer. My husbands said when it’s 115 degees outside it’s hard for any air conditioner to keep up. But having the room thermostat registering 97 degrees at check in, it was awhile before the rooms got to a comfortable temperature. Fortunately the ceiling fans made it tolerable. The pluses were the friendly people managing the place, the breakfast (with variety of delicious fruits they grew), the cleanliness (the decorations we not my taste), the well-maintained grounds, and the close proximity to the Forestiere underground gardens (if that is your destination). I hate not being able to give this place 5 star rating as the people were really nice but if you are bothered by warm rooms, you may want a place that has a better air conditioning system. As I could not in good conscience give them a 5 was not going to write a review, but decided since I read many Tripadvisor reviews to make my decisions, I should post thoughts when my review is not glowing.

Room Tip: The lower level rooms may be cooler as the upper level had vaulted ceiling that could contribute to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellies852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Read the 5 star reviews--they are all correct---and then some.
It is like staying in a beautiful botanical garden.
What a charming place!!
Clean as can be--over the top friendly-and just plain wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMK18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fresno hotels
7.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Fresno Convention Center
2.7 mi away
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
#9 of 64 in Fresno
590 reviews
6.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Fresno RiverPark
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fresno North
0.2 mi away
Ramada Fresno Northwest
Ramada Fresno Northwest
#24 of 64 in Fresno
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Inn and Suites

Property: Garden Inn and Suites
Address: 4949 N Forestiere Ave, Fresno, CA 93722
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small unique courtyard condominium setting hotel. Surrounded with flowers and fruit trees. It feels like home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Garden Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Fresno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing