We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Questionable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Joaquin Suite Hotel
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Reviewed June 29, 2013

It was a well manicured area, beautiful flowers and such around the pool and inner court. Our rooms were clean and in fairly good condition. Clean at first glance and roomy. We had issues right away with the WiFi. I had specifically asked about connectivity during booking. They had WiFi alright but management did not tell us it was slower than dial up when connected. Apparently they knew about the problem and weren't fixing it. One of three TVs worked well. One was completely dead. A cockroach the size of a chihuahua joined us for breakfast. We had booked for two days but moved on after the first night. Got a little noisy around midnight.

Room Tip: Choose a suite away from the elevator.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for San Joaquin Suite Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 153 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is an all-suite hotel that obviously has some age on it but, like a dowager holding onto her former glory, still opens a window on some gilded days gone by. If what you're looking for is comfort, clean and a lot of room at a bargain this is something to consider. Living room and bedroom, nice balcony, gorgeous landscaping and an outstanding location. Just about anything you want is on Shaw Avenue. I feel so sorry for the people who had to watch an old TV there (they give you two). Maybe they could stay home and watch their big HDTV and miss Yosemite and Sequoia. Sure the housekeeping is a little lackadaisical. They didn't seem to know to open doors and replace coffee supplies and remove the previous guests' empty bottles. And our refrigerator never got cold. Use the free ice. We did. But the room was clean and comfortable, it was convenient to CA 41 and where we wanted to go. And it was a tremendous bargain. That's important to real people.

Room Tip: Old side=bargain; new side=fancier. Eat the continental breakfast inside in a glassed-in pool house...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peachpit01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were at the San Joaquin for a family reunion. It will be hard to remember all the thing this hotel did wrong. Despite weather in the 80s, the pool and hot tub are not heated--that's right, cold hot tub. Staff forgot our rollaway (and had no more to give) so one of my kids had to sleep on the love seat. No enough towels to go around, so none in the pool area until we asked for them. Dirty smells here and there, especially on the pool furniture. You get the feeling his place is limping along without the cash to maintain even basic standards. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hdelcarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My room decor is outdated. The 15 inch tv from the 70's is difficult to watch. Tried to take a bath but no hot water. I've never seen such a small fridge and microwave. The only nice thing is the grounds which are pretty. No help from the desk unless I wanted to pay more.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinker12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stopped here for one night on our road trip en route from Las Vegas to San Francisco. What a delight, particularly for $70 per night! We had a suite with loads of space, there's a pool and spa, nice gardens and a great breakfast and breakfast room. Yes the décor is a bit 1980's and the TV's 1970's but we didn't care. The staff were very nice and helpful so I have no hesitation in saying that this deserves a 3 star rating no problem. Check it out if you're passing through Fresno and need somewhere to stay. Only negative although nothing to do with the hotel is that the surrounding streets are quite dark although everything seemed safe enough.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryK538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a little special overnight trip with my hubby (First night away from new baby) on Sat night. The ground-floor rooms are nice, newly renovated. I don't know what any of the other rooms look like. I let the front desk know it was a special occasion and they automatically upgraded us to ground floor room at the same price. For the most part, the room appeared very clean. However I must note that the white down comforter appeared to have a small blood spot on it. The main annoyance for me, came when I realized that the fan in the bathroom could not be turned off. So, in order to enjoy the nice large bathtub, I had to take a bath in the dark. Also, we went to dinner and came back a little after 11, changed into our swim clothes, and headed for the spa, only to be informed by the front desk that it closed at 11. There were no signs indicating this, and we were caught completely off guard. This was one of the main reasons I picked the hotel, for the nice spa atmosphere. The hotel would not make an exception and let the two of us enjoy the spa... again, the bathroom fan became a real annoyance....
Also, around 11:30 pm, we opened our blinds only to disconcertingly realize that a police car was parked outside. It made us wonder.
Overall, it was a pretty good stay. We might stay here again but I will probably continue looking for something that's more Fourseasons quality.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shyerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

For $69 a night, this was a steal! Instead of a regular motel or hotel chain we decided to try San Joaquin given the great reviews it had received. The regular one bedroom suite was a bit old, but affordable, spacious, clean and very comfortable. Ours was called the 'Director's Suite' on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool on one side and a quiet side road on the other. We had a living room with a sofa, a bedroom with a queen bed and a large bathroom with a tub and shower. It did get a bit warm at night as there was no airconditioning. The breakfast was simple and adequate, and the location on Shaw St was faily close to a lot of restaurants and shopping malls. Despite being a bit old, we enjoyed staying here the one night we were in Fresno and the hotel definitely exceeded our expectations given the price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Axl_Globe_Trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fresno hotels
1.0 mi away
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
#9 of 64 in Fresno
608 reviews
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fresno Riverpark
5.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Fresno Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Fresno Inn
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fresno North
2.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Fresno RiverPark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Joaquin Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Joaquin Suite Hotel

Address: 1309 W Shaw Ave, Fresno, CA 93711-3602
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range: $100 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — San Joaquin Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your San Joaquin Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Joaquin Hotel Fresno
San Joaquin Suite Fresno
Hotel San Joaquin Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing