We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad, Even for Fresno”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Joaquin Suite Hotel
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Reviewed December 26, 2012

A disappointment from beginning to end. While it's advertised as a suite hotel, and there is a wall separating the bedroom from the "living" area, the rooms are incredibly small and the word "suite" is a far stretch. The living area was probably ten feet by twelve feet and the bedroom about the same.
The place was dirty - walking without shoes felt like I was on a beach and was something I did not do a second time.
Both the property and the furnishings are very shopworn, and this was a "renovated" room.
Breakfast? A joke! A really bad joke! Breakfast consisted of cereal, Wonder Bread, some darker Wonder Bread, black bananas and a couple of withered apples. Coffee was good, though.
When I checked in I had planned to stay for five days, but checked out immediately the first morning after having coffee and viewing the breakfast offerings.
Strangely enough, when I left, there were only two cars in the entire parking area - apparently many people had gotten the word ahead of time.
Fresno, not being a major metropolis, requires that you temper your expectations a bit, but the San Joaquin Suite Hotel is not up to even Fresno standards. Try one of the major mid-level chains and bypass this place.

Room Tip: The only acceptable rooms are in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elbarbado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 156 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

nice and quiet, good area, food is near. I looked at a lot of hotels this is the first one i looked at, then drove around looking for what i wanted, at least 8 differnt ones....this one fit the bill...a little peace and qiuet

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

If there was a secret gem in the BEST section of Fresno, this hotel is IT.
We keep coming back here repeatedly and when you do, they grace you with an awesome corporate rate so be sure to ask for it! Pet friendly with a lovely pool and decent breakfast. Plus it IS an all suite hotel so the only thing small about the rooms is the price! Super friendly staff and the place has a mellow quiet vibe. Even though it is not a 3.5 or 4 star property we pick this over the "nicer" hotel because of the reasons mentioned above.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelIndustryPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I am a local, but this is the hotel we have stayed at before both my sister and my weddings. My husband and I also spent the night here on our wedding night. My out of town family and friends also stayed here. Every one seemed pleased.

For both of our weddings we stayed in what they call a "deluxe two bedroom suite." It's very comfy and spacious. They easily sleep four, but we brought in roll away beds and had up to 7 girls staying in the room. We all got ready in the room before the wedding and had plenty of room for hair, makeup, etc. I have not been in any of the other room types. I was told there wasn't anything really special about the standard rooms, but there were no complaints. Everything was clean and comfy.

The staff here is super nice. The location is central (although Fresno is exceedingly spread out so you have to drive every where no matter where you stay). The pool and central courtyard are a really nice usable outdoor space with little seating areas spread throughout. I would highly suggest this hotel to anyone visiting from out of town.

Room Tip: Stayed in the deluxe two bedroom suite, last one towards the back of the hotel on the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ciyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

My new Husband and I stayed the night befor are wedding with are wedding party and then the night of are wedding. We love this place and the staff treated us as family. Are Friends and Family came in and out of are rooms as we got ready and all just loved the look!

Room Tip: If you want fancy then ask for the newly remodelled rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Schatzi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

we stayed at this hotel and was so satisfied with the rooms and they were beautiful inside so warm the guest service was so good they were eager to please us when we needed something we used the atrium for the wedding and it was such a great place to have a reception was pleaseant and bright it was very high class place to have it the place is run so well and managed well everyone there were so nice and polite we felt like family here

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Unfortunately we ended up at this place, extremely tired we exited shaw ave heading towards the first decent hotel we could find to catch some rest. San Joaquin looked nice from the outside, at about midnight, so we pulled in and my husband ran in to see if they had anything available, sure enough they did! The reception area looked clean and nice, and all suites... We thought we had gotten a deal at $89 a night for a regular suite..... Until we walked up to our 'presidential suite' on the third floor! As soon as we opened the door and walked in we were greated with the smell of filth and not only outdated furniture, but broke down furniture...
It looked like the furniture in our room were odds and end pieces picked up from a local yard sale!
I felt like I was part of a bad prank for a second, it was like a motel room from a horror movie..... I could go into so much more detail but to sum it up this place is a dump, would never recommend!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ayj123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fresno hotels
5.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Fresno Convention Center
1 mi away
Hotel Piccadilly
Hotel Piccadilly
#9 of 64 in Fresno
632 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ramada Fresno Northwest
Ramada Fresno Northwest
#23 of 64 in Fresno
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fresno Northwest
3.7 mi away
Garden Inn and Suites
Garden Inn and Suites
#21 of 64 in Fresno
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Joaquin Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Joaquin Suite Hotel

Address: 1309 W Shaw Ave, Fresno, CA 93711-3602
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range: $87 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — San Joaquin Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your San Joaquin Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Joaquin Hotel Fresno
San Joaquin Suite Fresno
Hotel San Joaquin Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing