We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Average accomodations” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Piccadilly Inn Shaw

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
Ranked #7 of 65 Hotels in Fresno
Certificate of Excellence
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Average accomodations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2007

Had a room tucked away in the back in a small ranch-style building (they have multiple buildings). Was a little creepy at night, walking down the pathways to the rooms. The facility and rooms appeared to be older than their stated age. The bathroom shower and sink had mildew growing around handbars and faucets. Not something I like to see. If you like quiet, dark solitude, this is a perfect place to stay. We could have heard a pin drop at night.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Khawnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    183
    93
    36
    26
See reviews for
168
92
25
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2007

I like the Piccadilly Inn Shaw and have stayed here twice on business. It is very quiet and not stuck right on the freeway like some of the big chains nearby. I like this place because it is peaceful and not part of a giant chain. I like the fact that the pool and jacuzzi are not just stuck in there by the road but actually situated in the middle of the property with nice greenery all about and lots of little birds. I like that the trees are older, therefore big and well situated giving a nice, full look to the landscaping rather than the thin, sticky, sparse look many of the newer places have. It just seems sort of specific to Fresno in a charming way.

The rooms are huge. It is maybe a little dated, but very clean and in good shape. There IS free internet access, unlike what another reviewer says, but maybe they just instituted that. There is also a little fitness center and a lovely pool (not heated) and a nice outdoor jacuzzi. The front desk is very friendly and helpful. There is a lot of useful shopping nearby (Whole Foods, Office Max, etc.) There is also a refrigerator in the room. My coworkers aren't thrilled with it though--too far from the action, no elevator to the second floor, and they prefer the modern room design at some of the newer hotels. So, maybe not for everyone.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank SF_egret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2007

I stayed here on a business trip in early January. I have some very positive things to say about the hotel. First, the front desk service was extremely friendly and helpful. As an example, the nature of my business was that I was not sure when it would end. It could have been one night or five. As a result, I showed up one evening after 5 and checked out. The front desk did not charge me for a late check out or, worse, another night. They did this without me asking.

The rooms were large and well maintained. It is not a new property and looks a little dated but I did not find that a problem. It was very quiet which was extremely important to me. (Per my review of the Radisson, I left there because of the noise.)

My only complaint is that I couldn't find a luggage cart when I checked out and, since I had 8 boxes of documents with me, it took me a while to load.

  • Liked — Front desk service
  • Disliked — Spread out, difficult to get around.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Tgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2006

Seriously! And i've heard this is the nicest hotel in fresno - IT SMELLS. Yes, rooms are big, location is on the main drag - but for a hundred bucks or more?? Seriously - next time i head to Fresno, i'll search on hotels built in this century that don't smell like the 70's.

  • Stayed February 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SFBayMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2006

stayed two nights .. and changed rooms because I thought I was leaving and then decided to stay extra overnight and the orignal room was not avail. Both rooms were spacious and clean. Stayed in the garden rooms and that is very convenient to transport luggage into the room. The remote control for tvs did not work so well in either room. I could not flip channels without getting up close to the tv. Had room service both days and food was fine. First room did not have info about internet access ( which you have to pay for it is not free) second room had a card on the table announcing the internet access I am use to staying at chains that have free internet access and so that did not make any points for me. There is not a gym either as in some of the new chains for bizz travels. there is a pool and a laundry for guests. It was fine. I would stay there again possibly. I do like free internet access and treadmills to work the kinks out of driving for hrs.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2005

We have stayed here several times over the last 12 months and have always found the experience pleasant. We have always stayed in one of their "garden" rooms and found our stay superior to any other "mid priced" chain.

The other 3 Piccadilly Motel/Hotels in Fresno are also quite nice and good values.

  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank hrgii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2004

This has been a consistant performer for me. I have stayed here in July 2003 for three weeks, as well as for the five weeks of Mid-Summer 2004. The entire property should get a round of applause for being attentive to the travelling customer. They have been noted as being the best place to sleep in Fresno, and I can attest to that. From an AC unit that doesn't sound like a jet turbine, but a quiet whirrr, to an attentive maintenence staff that is always on the lookout to make the proerty better, the details SHINE here.

Helpful?
11 Thank tomp4657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fresno hotels
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fresno Inn
5.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Fresno Convention Center
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fresno Riverpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fresno North
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fresno
3.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piccadilly Inn Shaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccadilly Inn Shaw

Property: Piccadilly Inn Shaw
Address: 2305 W. Shaw Ave., Fresno, CA 93711
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Fresno
#6 Best Value Hotel in Fresno
#14 Business Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Piccadilly Inn Shaw 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Piccadilly Inn Shaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccadilly Inn Shaw Hotel Fresno
Piccadilly Hotel Fresno
Piccadilly Hotel Shaw
Piccadilly Shaw Fresno
Piccadilly Inn Shaw Fresno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing