We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Friendly staff, good location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Fresno - Blackstone North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Fresno - Blackstone North
Ranked #58 of 65 Hotels in Fresno
Ceske Budejovice, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed here as stopover between Yosemite and Sequoia NP. We arrived later in the evening, check-in very fast, guys at the front desk were friendly. There is a complimentary pool for the guests only, it was clean and served it's purpose as nice refreshment after all day hiking. The room had some stains but what do you expect for that money. It was clean, we didn't find any hair or bugs, the AC is older and bit noisy. Otherwise the area seemed safe and was very quiet.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    6
    7
    8
See reviews for
4
9
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

This is one of the best motel 6 i even been to! There was even a nice TV, mini fridge and a microwave in the room!! There was also a grocery store near by so I didnt just have to eat fastfood all day long!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingJoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

To be clear, this is one of two Motel 6's on Blackstone in Fresno. This is the northern one, on the west side of the street just north of Ashlan Ave. near the Hwy. 41 exit, across from the Economy Inn and Carrows Restaurant. The other Motel 6 is a couple blocks south on the east side of the street. I've stayed at both of these, and reading the negative comments here, I wonder if some people got them confused, because the south location actually is pretty bad. The area isn't very nice and feels dodgy, and one of my first impressions when I stayed there once was seeing a big bouncer type guy, who looked a bit like Mr. T, come into the office and deducing from hearing him and the clerk talking that he was the night security guard. Eeek.

Anyway....the NORTH Blackstone location is quite decent. I sometimes stay there on my way home from Death Valley so I can make a visit to Fresno's Mormon temple, which is nearby. I've always found this Motel 6 clean, efficient, and safe and haven't felt insecure, although like any urban environment, everyone has to use some sense in walking around at night. IMO, the biggest threat in the area, especially at night, would be trying to walk across Blackstone without getting run over. The traffic all along Blackstone is truly alarming--and I live in San Francisco!

Motel 6's don't have restaurants, but there are several in the immediate area, and also a Von's supermarket a few steps away and a carwash a block north.

The rooms on the front facing the street do tend to be a bit noisy until the evening traffic thins out; Blackstone is a very busy thoroughfare. But at night, there isn't much traffic. Yes, the walls are thin--it's a Motel 6, not the Ritz. It has a laundry room, newspaper and soda machines, and a pool in the back away from the street. As I said, whadya want for $40 a night?

I'd recommend it to a friend who wasn't too demanding, who didn't expect a lot of frills or services, but wanted a decent, affordable place to sack out.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frisco_Roadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

Everything about our stay at this Motel 6 was wonderful!
Staff were personable, polite & friendly.
Room was spotless and beautifully maintained.
Even close to busy streets, there was no "road noise" to keep us up.
We WILL stay here again, and recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seykolova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
319 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2008

The thing about Motel 6 is that you never know what you're gonna get. I've stayed in many Motel 6's in the past decade. Some were relatively new and actually quite delightful. And others are just downright disgusting. This location however ranks right down below with the Motel 6 on Dean Martin in Las Vegas.. absolutely revolting and horrifying. I didn't spend too much time in Fresno, but I hope to God there are actual nicer parts of the town. Because from what I had seen of Fresno it is a total dump and this motel was a reflection of it.

I booked 3 nights at this Motel 6 as it was central to both Sequioa and Yosemite National Parks. Proximity to the parks was pretty much all this motel had going for it. Apart from that there was nothing to like about it. The room smelled of cigarette smoke despite it being a nonsmoking room. The carpets were stained and the sheets were soiled. The walls were pretty thin and much noise came in from the street. There were cigarette burns along the edge of the bathroom sink. Til this day I still regret using the motel towels.

I even considered moving to a different hotel during the stay, but other nearby places were either full or prohibitively more expensive, and besides didn't look any better. So I decided to just stick it out like a champ. The good thing is that I was out before dawn and back in well after dusk every day. My advice.. don't walk, run away from this Motel 6. You definitely get what you pay for.

  • Liked — Proximity to national parks
  • Disliked — Dirty
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheAnswer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

This is a hotel truck stop kind of Motel 6. It`is OK, but nothing else. Recommend for single men. Not for families. Rooms were renovated, but still, non-smoking room smelld like smoke.
Rooms are small, light and sound from exterior hallways come into room esily. Almost no privacy.

BEWARE: No internet

  • Liked — OK for the price
  • Disliked — Too bare
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lalotp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fresno hotels
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fresno Inn
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Village Inn
1.1 mi away
Ramada Fresno North
Ramada Fresno North
#31 of 65 in Fresno
3.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Fresno - Yosemite Gateway
3.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fresno Riverpark
5.3 mi away
Motel 6 Fresno
Motel 6 Fresno
#39 of 65 in Fresno
3.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Fresno - Blackstone North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Fresno - Blackstone North

Property: Motel 6 Fresno - Blackstone North
Address: 4245 N Blackstone Ave, SR 41/Eisenhower Freeway at Ashlan Avenue, Fresno, CA 93726-1910
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 65 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Fresno - Blackstone North 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Fresno - Blackstone North is close to area dining and shopping. Take a scenic trip to Sierra Summit Ski Area or Yosemite National Park, both within a 2 hour drive. Enjoy our outdoor pool. Relax with Wi-Fi available in all modern rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Motel-6 and Travelocity so you can book your Motel 6 Fresno - Blackstone North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Fresno - Blackstone North Hotel Fresno
Motel Six Fresno
Fresno Motel 6
Fresno Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing