We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“October Convention” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Fresno Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Fresno Downtown
Ranked #31 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“October Convention”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

This motel was clean and the staff friendly. Within walking distance to the Convention Center, 5 blocks. Restaurant on site is a Subway which is not open on Sunday. Local fast foods, McDonalds, Carls only a few blocks away, also a clean and friendly Denny's. Staff suggested an Italian Restaurant near McD's, excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    13
    7
    9
See reviews for
8
14
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seligenstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Only one night!
Room big but poor climated, aceptable furniture.
Bath ok, should better be renewed.
Bed is DIRTY like used by another one !
Horrorable !
Better stay in a hotel ord bed&breakfirst outside Fresno.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fresno hotels

SF Bay Area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

After reading some poor reviews, we were somewhat reluctant to stay, but this was the only available place with two beds for one night during a busy weekend. We reserved two rooms. When we checked in, the first room (#106) must have been occupied by heavy smokers before it reeked of tobacco. The desk clerk switched us to another one without hesitation. The second room was OK.
Both room were clean and everything worked. Nothing fancy, but for $59 (plus tax), it was just fine. The place was quiet. I recommend it for budget travellers.
When my cell-phone ran our ot charge, the desk clerk gave me a charger and let me keep it. I appreciated it!

Room Tip: Stay away from #106, and ask for another room if yours smells of tobacco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposa, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I called to book a room on our way down from Oakhurst area for a get away night. The guy who answered the phone was rude and said no just do a walk-in. Strike 1. I am an employee in the hotel industry.

Did get a reasonable rate 60.00usd after tax.

We asked for a smoking room. They had one. Plus...however when I arried into the room there was no ashtray. ok So i called the front desk to ask for one 15mins later he arrived with one.

Water Pressure was lousy. Strike 2

Room had a mini fridge plus 2

Fridge had someone elses stuff in it. Strike on housekeeping...

bed was alright pillows were flat we usually use 2-3 each at home. I asked for a couple extra Front desk said he didnt have any. Another Strike.

Towels were paper thin I think we could have dryed off better with the toilet paper. upon looking for a plug for my cell phone charge located the only available outlet behind bed no big deal however there was no cover over the wires. This scarde me a little due to it being a fire hazzard. We slept not well but did sleep.

I was going to explain to the front desk about it at checkout but the lady working the morning was just a rude. She asked if I was CHECKING OUT!!! I said yes and set the keys down on counter. She took them and dissapered. WTH?????????????? At least ask me about my stay???????

Room Tip: Don't Get Room 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

excellent customer service. The location is perfect for any activity when visiting Fresno (business or pleasure). The rooms were of newer furnishings, clean and comfortable beds! Everything was functional and the amenities were more than I could ask for in a budget priced hotel. I really like the lay out of this hotel and the swimming pool was very refreshing also the subway sandwich shop on-site was convenient for breakfast and lunch. the water fountain and palm trees add a serene feel for the hotel, nice added touch to the decor. I will definitely stay at this Americas Best Value Inn again when I am visiting Fresno for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mattv2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Economically priced hotel in downtown fresno. Close to the meeting i was attending and their was a subway on site, clean room hot shower and good food make this a plus 1 for me

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlosvman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

The staff was friendly and pleasant. However, the room was only marginally clean, and there are some real upkeep issues. For instance, mold on the shower curtain, and exposed wiring in the receptacle behind the headboard of the bed.

The Wi-Fi code I was given did not work, and the "free breakfast" consisted of a generic name Bearclaw in a cellophane wrapper. If you need to save money, this is a pretty good value, you just need to be prepared for what you're getting.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRayEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fresno hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center
2.1 mi away
Econo Lodge North Parkway Drive
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Fresno Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ambassador Inn And Suites
5.3 mi away
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
#7 of 64 in Fresno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Fresno Convention Centre Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Fresno Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Fresno Downtown

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - Fresno Downtown
Address: 2425 Merced St, Fresno, CA 93721-1810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Fresno Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Fresno Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Fresno Downtown Hotel Fresno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing