We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Keep On Driving... Past This Hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Courtyard Fresno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Fresno
Ranked #20 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Keep On Driving... Past This Hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2010

Stayed two nights at this hotel on a business trip.
Initially, the hotel was hard to find as it is set back very far from the street.
Checked in to my room and was starving...could not find any information in the room about food options. I called the front desk and they said there was no room service, but I should look through the dresser drawers for a guest book that might have a couple of menus from restaurants that deliver in the area. Never found the book, but did find a couple of laminated menus. Called local Italian place - food was so-so and was delivered with no cutlery.
Checked out the "Ice/Vending" room on my floor...only found an ice machine. Apparently the vending machines had all been removed to give guests a chance for a little stroll down to the front desk to buy drinks/snacks from their "mini-mart" with maxi prices.
Sliding glass door to balcony was not locked when I arrived and it took some effort to get it locked - it seems like the lock had been tampered with in the past. Balcony overlooked parking lot and giant hedge - that almost hid the traffic zooming by on the highway. Didn't need to worry about oversleeping since the truck traffic picked up quite early.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathyLMGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    56
    40
    11
    6
See reviews for
33
33
12
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
El Cajon, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2010

Four finicky ladies found this fabulous hotel clean and classy! The beds were sooooo comfortable and the shower perfect. We were pleased with the service and attention, expecially at these low rates. We'll definitely recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melodyhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2009

Courtyards are like 3 Musketeer bars or cans of Coca-Cola. There are certain expectations you have of the product when you open it up and it's more than a little disappointing when something you always count on to be the way it always is ... isn't. While I had the usual great experience here I have two major beefs ... there is no airport shuttle and you have to pay to have access to the "breakfast bar". How does a hotel that advertises to the biz traveler NOT have an airport shuttle? And it's a restaurant and not a "breakfast bar" when you charge for it. Both of these beefs caught me off guard as I'm a fairly regular Courtyard customer and I've not seen either of those issues before. I got breakfast at the airport and paid $27 plus tip for a cab ride to get there despite Courtyard's estimated cab fare of "less than $20".

Be prepared.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoubleJoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2009

Marriott Fresno just installed (summer 2009) a new thermostat system that shuts off when you are not in the room, and Fresno can get HOT. With two room suites, you go to watch TV and the infrared sensor figures you’ve left the building, so the bedroom heats up to 90. What ho, we had it set for 72; but now you get to dance around and wait forever for the room to cool. And if you sleep calmly, then you’ll enjoy waking up drenched in sweat. And when you get up to figure out what is going on, the thermostat will switch on again, and so forth and so on throughout the night This torture is brought to you by “Smartsystem” (I’d bet this is a shill name for some larger company to avoid the inevitable lawsuits when someone’s pet dies (as in leaving them in a hot car) or someone kicks-off overnight due to the wild temperature swings) “CCP Cool-Control Plus”. Welcome to Hell; but hey, Marriott is saving money on utility bills. (You can find “SmartSystem” ads on the internet touting the savings to hotel managers.) Please warn of other hotels that install these, as this is a real-life nightmare that you get to pay to experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean-Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fresno hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2009

The hotel is conveniently located on Shaw Avenue, not far from Hwy 99 and the 41. It is close to restaurants and decent shopping. We were there for a graduation at CSU Fresno. The breakfast buffet is okay with waffles, cereals, eggs, the usual suspects. Fresh strawberries were good. Front desk staff were helpful and friendly. They upgraded us to a suite without our having to ask. The in-room coffee maker was a one-cup kind, with no glass carafe. I brought my own coffee and filter, so had to make a one-cup makeshift filter. The thing spit and spat and was not very friendly. They had only paper cups. Not a big deal, but helpful to know if coffee is important to you. The hotel has coffee, but it's not very good.

Although I didn't use it, the exercise room looked decent. There were two or three treadmills and some other equipment, enough for a good on-the-road workout.

I did appreciate being able to buy single serve organic milk for my child in the lobby.

Parking is convenient and close to the room.

Trying to sleep was an absolute nightmare. We could hear the people above us in what sounded like a herd of elephants stomping all night and all morning. Thank goodness for the outdoor gazebo, where we could escape the noise in the morning for a little peace before we left. I will never go back for this reason.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrscac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grover Beach CA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2008

We stayed for a couple of night while attending a softball tournament in Clovis. The staff were very helpful. Rooms were clean and nice. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BleednBlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2008

This is a decent hotel near the 41 and off the busy street (it can be hard to find with mapquest directions!)

Pros:
Beds are great
Air conditioner works well
Clean
Free Internet in room
Nice pool and indoor jacuzzi

Cons:
No fridge
No pets
and the BREAKFAST BUFFET that is free at all other chains costs $10.99 and the crabby lady puts all the food away at 9:30, so you will not get your money's worth. Don't set the alarm for this folks. It is semi warm/rubbery microwaved and not worth the price. I would much rather had a McDonalds breakfast for a third of the cost.

  • Liked — lots of pillows
  • Disliked — expensive breakfast and screaming teenagers in halls
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LAtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fresno hotels
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Fresno
Residence Inn Fresno
#18 of 64 in Fresno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno
5.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Fresno Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fresno Riverpark
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fresno Inn
2.6 mi away
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
#8 of 64 in Fresno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Fresno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Fresno

Property: Courtyard Fresno
Address: 140 East Shaw Avenue, Fresno, CA 93710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Fresno
#15 Family Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Fresno 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Fresno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fresno Hotel Fresno
Fresno Marriott
Fresno Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing