We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Courtyard Fresno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Fresno
Ranked #20 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Geneseo, New York
Level Contributor
152 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Another great Courtyard. Check in was courteous, professional and friendly. Hotel in very nice area right off 41, but easy to miss road it is on right after getting off 41. First room had malfunctioning thermostat which we noticed right away, and was looked at while we ate a very nice meal at the Bistro. We were given choice of waiting for it to be repaired or to room right next to it, which we chose since we had not unpacked yet. All handled very nicely and professionally. Room was immaculate and comfortable and had great beds. Highly recommend to anyone in Fresno area and would definitely stay here again if in the area!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Disneyadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juleemay, General Manager at Courtyard Fresno, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate that you choose to stay here at the Courtyard by Marriott Fresno. I want you to know that we appreciate your feedback and look forward to sharing this information with our staff. We know you have choices when you travel and hope that if you do return to Fresno area, you will once again consider staying at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    56
    40
    11
    6
See reviews for
33
33
12
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

This Courtyard is in a nice area of Fresno, although the hotel is not easy to find at first.

My room was very spacious, with a comfortable bed and a large sitting area and separate desk space. The bathroom was clean, bright and nicely updated. As with many Courtyard hotels, this Courtyard had fresh fruit-infused water in the lobby and a nice, clean internet/business area off the lobby with printers (that work, unlike many hotels)! There is a nice lounge-like sitting area off the lobby with a giant TV where my party of business travelers spent some time catching a hockey game and talking shop.

This hotel also had a Bistro with made-to-order breakfast sandwiches and fresh fruit. In the evening, the Bistro served food and wine. The staff here was great.

There was a great outdoor pool area at this hotel. There were several lounge chairs surrounding the pool and garden/courtyard area, and they were very comfortable. The pool itself was very clean - clearly they make the effort to maintain this space as it was in good condition. During my stay, they were doing some renovation to the conference space alongside the pool area so it was a bit noisy until around 3 pm (understandably).

I have traveled to Fresno on two occasions and have stayed at two different hotels, and I prefer the Courtyard. I will stay here again on my next business travel to Fresno.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDRoadWarriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whittier, ca
Level Contributor
177 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Nice large rooms with quality beds and outstanding staff. They have an nice little café with wine and beer. Large and comfy lobby with free computers to use. It gets a nice and fun crowd of mostly business people around happy hour. They have a small but nice gym, and same with the pool. You are on the main drag in the city, close by up scale restaurants and shopping. Just a few miles from the college, this is the better part of the city.

Room Tip: The hotel is set back from Shaw, you can easily pass by and never see the place. Still it's easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edward v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

The checkin and checkout process is hassle free. The rooms are decent.
Breakfast (simple menu, for purchase) is efficient. Staff are quite good.
Decent restaurants nearby. Lot of strip malls nearby, in case you have a spouse who wants to shop.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamesh_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartpury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Really great location for visiting Yosemite, Sequoia and Kings Canyon. Excellent new hotel with pool in nice courtyard. Walking distance to nice family style restaurant that reminded me of times when I was a kid or, the other way, a new shopping mall. Hotel's own restaurant is pricey, especially for drinks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juleemay, General Manager at Courtyard Fresno, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about the Courtyard by Marriott Fresno. We enjoy hosting the many travelers that come through our doors on their way to visit the many National Parks in our area.

We're happy you were able to get good nights rest and enjoy the area surrounding the hotel. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Fresno!

Julee May
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas/Fort Worth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed at this location on a recent trip to Yosemite the night before heading to the park. Check-in was a breeze. The Front Desk staff was very helpful, proficient, and polite. The room was quiet and comfortable and there were plenty of restaurants in the area to choose from. (I walked to one not too far way and got a very good meal)

I checked out prior to 6am, and they had not started serving breakfast at that time. However, the staff did round up a very much needed cup of coffee for me that was greatly appreciated.

The room was a little pricey. I suppose because of the proximity to Yosemite. But all, it all I enjoyed my stay and I would definitely return to this Courtyard by Marriott for another stay in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D&M-DFW-TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juleemay, General Manager at Courtyard Fresno, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about the Courtyard by Marriott Fresno. I’ll be sure to share your positive comments with our Front Desk staff and I’m thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Yosemite is a beautiful park to visit and we hope to see you on your next trip. Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to having you as our guest the next time you’re in Fresno!

Julee May
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Nothing to complain about except the eating options
You land in a Starbuck-like restaurant which serves good food but overall we much prefer a real in house restaurant.
So much that in the morning we skipped breakfast to enjoy it in a proper restaurant.
Apart from this nothing to complain about - the grade reflects this despite an enjoyable lobby, room and pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maldivianairtaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juleemay, General Manager at Courtyard Fresno, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Courtyard Fresno. We value all feedback from our guests whether it is complimentary or recommendations for improvement.

I am sorry you did not enjoy the Bistro atmosphere or offering. I am happy you were able to enjoy the lobby and pool area. If you are in our area again I do hope we have the pleasure to serve you once more.

Julee May
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fresno hotels
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Fresno
Residence Inn Fresno
#18 of 64 in Fresno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno
5.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Fresno Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fresno Riverpark
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fresno Inn
2.6 mi away
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
#8 of 64 in Fresno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Fresno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Fresno

Property: Courtyard Fresno
Address: 140 East Shaw Avenue, Fresno, CA 93710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Fresno
#15 Business Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Fresno 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Fresno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fresno Hotel Fresno
Fresno Marriott
Fresno Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing