We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for the price”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #47 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed in the hotel only 1 night coming from Sequoia park. Rooms were spacious and clean, although the interior haven't been refurbished for quite some time. Good is that they have a pool and their own parking lot. It's ok value for the money I would say.
Breakfast is I would say american hotel standard :D, few toasts, fruits, jam, butter etc.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 141 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

Reception was Ok and check-in was fast. However they couldn't give us two cards to enter the room.
When we approached the room building we found stains everywhere on the carpet, the walls, doors, everything. There was a foul smell everywhere and even found a loose dog around the hallways. The room was really big but the window was in front of the street so no privacy there, we had to keep it shut all day. The vents were extremely loud and A/C was not working very well. The bathroom was dirty and full of stains everywhere.
Finally the breakfast was lacking. There was only toast with butter, they offered eggs, milk, varied juices and cream cheese but you're lucky if you happen to find them.

The only good thing was the hotel's location and the comfortable beds but besides that I think you will find much better options at the same price. For instance there's a days inn one block away from this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank juandi89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajCC, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Hotel on tripadvisor.com.
I appreciate your suggestions and your opinion is important to us.
I would like to begin by apologizing for any discomfort you had to endure during your stay.
To make sure that our guest in the rooms have a better experience we are currently working on improving the amenities of all guest rooms and also upgrading the hallways and the room decor.
However, dirt or uncleanliness in the room or not getting a second key is not our property norm and I wish that we were informed right away so that we could have taken care of that problem.
I do apologies once again.
I would also like to say thank you for staying with us and giving your feedback.
I hope that we will see you again and that your future experience will be more positive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night, and never again. First when we walked in the room it was like 90 degrees in there and the air conditioner wasn't working very well. Then we requested a wake up call because he was there on business the wake up call never came in and he was late. Instead of staying there the 3 more days we moved to a different hotel were they didnt let us down and showed us great hospitality. I really hope they fix the issues cause this could be a great place to stay

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CgonzalesJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Did you ever request a wake-up call from a hotel/motel that never came? Me neither, until my visit to Red Roof Inn. Other problems included: a bathroom vent so loud it kept me from falling asleep, a large mirror speckled by large brown dots of something (paint, maybe); a computer in the lobby positioned by blinds that the staff was unable to close, thus piercing me with the sun when I went on-line --I tried to position the yard-sale mirror in front of it to block the rays, but it began to fall apart piece by piece when I touched it. I didn't want to get charged $1 to replace it; breakfast that included a choice of holey (worm infested?) apples; and a pool with dirty walls. It's clearly not the one pictured. At least my bed wasn't slanted. Another guest requested a different room because his was.

If you want a good night's sleep at a decent price, don't stay here. If you want quality, don't stay here.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs, an alarm clock, and your own breakfast.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobynE701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajCC, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Hotel on tripadvisor.com.
I appreciate your suggestions and your opinion is important to us.
I would like to begin by apologizing for any discomfort you had to endure during your stay.
To make sure that our guest in the rooms have a better experience we are currently working on improving the amenities of all guest rooms and also upgrading the lobby and the room decor.
However, dirt or uncleanliness in the room or not getting a wake up call is not our property norm and I wish that we were informed right away so that we could have taken care of that problem.
I do apologies once again.
I would also like to say thank you for staying with us and giving your feedback.
I hope that we will see you again and that your future experience will be more positive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

the rooms at the red roof were very large, and very comfortable, and come with a fridge, and yet very reasonable priced, staff is very polite,

The ac/ heat are one a boiler system so you have only choice of one during the apporiate season, but they do have fans avaiable at the front desk

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACER_PICKLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The rooms are huge and the staff is very friendly. If you come prepared, you will have a decent stay. Our room was quite large had a queen and a king bed - great for a family! Fridge and coffepot in room. Breakfast is an okay continental breakfast but if that is important to you, with the $ you save, go out to eat at a restaurant. Had to ask for extra towels for the number in our party, no kleenex, soap/shampoo dispensers were empty but we had everything we needed with us. Hotel was packed but quiet. Mix-up in our reservation and room was quickly and pleasantly remedied.

Room Tip: If you are a family with a couple of kids, ask for the rooms with the king and queen. Our room ove...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LINDA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

november we check in its been such a wonderful time we benn her since november 1 2012 the manager is great on top of things the staff is right t here and comfortable there if u need them you fill safe. they have security thats great a nice continental breakfast are great. its family filled here . i highly recommenend if you come to fresno stay at the redroof inn on blackstone at ashlan across from petsmart. thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terrie568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fresno hotels
1.3 mi away
Ramada Fresno North
Ramada Fresno North
#34 of 64 in Fresno
537 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hotel Fresno
The Hotel Fresno
#50 of 64 in Fresno
392 reviews
2.2 mi away
University Square Hotel
University Square Hotel
#39 of 64 in Fresno
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Ambassador Inn And Suites
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn Fresno Near University
5.3 mi away
Motel 6 Fresno
Motel 6 Fresno
#49 of 64 in Fresno
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 4141 N Blackstone Ave, Fresno, CA 93726-3808 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Fresno - Yosemite Gateway)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range: $55 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you as our guest on your way to or coming from experiencing all of the natural beauty to found as you explore Yosemite National Park, Sequoia National Park and Kings Canyon National Park. For your convience Walmart Superstore is just accross the street. We are a short drive from Table Mountain Casino and Chukhansi Casino. All rooms are 100% non-smoking and complete with free WiFi, a refrigerator, hair dryer, iron & ironing board and work area. Also, enjoy a microwave and 32" LCD TVs in our newly renovated rooms. We have a conference room for your business meetings or our business center is open to assist you with any needs. We know it will be hard to leave, so late check-out is available. Enjoy complimentary coffeehouse style coffee and tea in the lobby. Don't feel like going to a restaurant? Relax and take advantage of our order-in feature. *Attention: We do not accept prepaid cards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Fresno Water Tree Hotel Fresno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing