We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose Homewood over Springhill at the same location: Here's why:”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Choose Homewood over Springhill at the same location: Here's why:”
Reviewed December 10, 2008

I travel a lot on business and I simply loved this hotel. Fresno doesn't have too many offerings as far as nice hotels go, but they are making progress.

This Homewood is brand new and the rooms are a real suite, with a separate bedroom separated by a door from the living room. Love the free popcorn too!

Evening reception has sorta OK wine, Bud Light on tap, and the evening I visited, chicken fingers and salad to eat. I am not a big fried food fan, but the chicken fingers were beyond your typical Banquet frozen variety, with spice, juice and flavor. I approved. They seemed more baked than fried... but I digress...

The room was so comfy and clean. The bed was so great. No noise quotient in the room. I really enjoyed my stay, and being as jaded as I am on hotels, that's a big thumbs up.

PS If you are debating about Homewood vs Springhill, basically at the same location, I 'd go with Homewood every time. Not to say Springhill isn't nice, but there is something definitely a little bit better about this place.

  • Liked — The Room
  • Disliked — OK, maybe they can serve slightly better wine and beer at the evening reception!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank travelingrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    172
    57
    28
    20
See reviews for
214
87
29
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2008

Business required an overnight trip to Fresno. Thought I would stay at this Hilton affiliated property. Although it is difficult to find, the location is well situated in North Fresno. My junior suite was extremely nice from the ceiling fan over the king size bed to the mini-kitchen. The bed was not the most comfortable, but it certainly was much better than most hotels of this class. The wireless internet was included in the room price (great AAA rate) and worked flawlessly. The complimentary breakfast selection was decent (cheese omlet, bacon, french toast and oatmeal along with assorted muffins, bagels and pastries). Only tip is to go early since the hotel ran out of coffee by 9 am.

  • Liked — Excellent wireless internet, flat screen HD TV in room
  • Disliked — Ran out of coffee at breakfast
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaytonBearBacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2008

Okay, if you want to make points with your kids soccer team, book this place. Everything is brand spanking new and shiny. The small suite we stayed in (sitting area/kitchen and a separate bedroom/bath) was clean, roomy, comfortable and it smelled great! There were two TV's, two climate control units, bath with separate vanity area and a kitchen equipped with a full size fridge, range top, microwave and a dishwasher. The breakfast wasn't bad and included small cheese omelettes, sausages and make your own waffle stations. The common area past the lobby is great for getting your family, group or team together in the evenings because it is really quite large and equipped with tables, chairs and TV. Also, from this area you can access an outdoor patio with even more room to congregate. We stayed here because I had HiltonHonors points to burn, but the rest of our team stayed up the street at a not as nice place. For a dollar more a night, they were in regular motel type rooms in an aging property. This is the place you'll want to stay at in the Clovis/Fresno area.

  • Liked — Rooms are beautiful and comfy
  • Disliked — Front desk dude was a little busy with personal matters :)
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Footloose39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2008

We stayed at this hotel because we were attending a wedding in Fresno. Last time we stayed at the Marriott Springhill Suites next door (apparently owned by the same person). They are both new hotels opened in Feb 2008 however the Hilton Homewood's rooms/suites are a touch better. The suites are noticebaly larger and decorated in a more luxurios fashion. The kitchens are full size, large fridge, large sink, dishwasher, microwave, dishes, cutlery, pans, tupperwares etc........ The Marriott only had paper plates, a microwave and a mini fridge. The Hilton has nicer accents like tropical plants etc....... There is a square kitchen table for use as an eating area or desk. The bedrooms are seperate rooms entirely. Both the bedrooms and the living room have flat screen TVs. The bathroom is mediocre and has a very basic tub.

The breakfast area is larger and more inviting than the Marriott although we were satisfied with the Marriott's breakfast. The Hilton serves more choices. Both hotels have a 24 hour snack and ammenities shop by the front desk.

I agree entirely with the comment that the manager lacks etiquette and social graces! We left our I-Phone adapter in the room and called about 6 times. We were initially placed on hold while the front desk claimed to be looking for it. I spoke to 3 different people and was promised each and every time that they would call me back. No one did! I then spoke to the manager and he made the same promises and just gave me lame excuses. He did not even bother to call me back to at least say, "We cannot find your item". He said he would call me within the hour and never did. I know it is not a big deal, but the fact that all staff acted in the same careless way was probably indicative of his managerial skills and training of them.

Regardless - we had a great time. The bottom line is that it is a clean and new hotel. You get what you pay for, and you can't expect much more from a hotel in Fresno. This is NO FourSeasons of course. Just do not expect customer service. You can expect a clean, spacious, comfortable and convenient room.

  • Liked — Clean And New
  • Disliked — Poor People Skills By Staff And Management
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank LetsPack!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level 5 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2008

Writing this from our jr. suite in the hotel. It is a brand new property, tucked away behind SpringHill Suites Marriott. It appears that the SpringHill Suites are equally as new.
Extremely comfortable. Our suite has a pull-out coach, sidechair, and 2 flat screen tvs. There is a kitchenette with microwave, dishwasher, fridge, garbage disposal, and table big enough for two. The bedroom is separate from the kitchen/living room.
The surrounding neighborhood appears to be a nice residential area. There are many places to dine & shop w/in an easy 5-10 minute drive. When we checked in, there was a complimentary buffet dinner with entree, salads, appetizers, wine, beer, and lemonade. Supposed to also have comp. breakfast too. Haven't used the workout room on the 3rd floor but plan to do so. There is also a pool & jacuzzi.
We were not able to locate this hotel on our GPS. When we contacted the hotel, they said that it was too new and hasn't been listed yet. I would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Liked — Safe neighborhood, spacious room, new & clean
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2008

My daughter and I stayed at the Homewood Suites for a week in late July 2008 with her 14U Travel softball team. We were there to play in the 14U Western Nationals in Clovis. There were about 4 teams staying at the hotel at the same time, plus a number of softball families staying there separate from their teams.

We found Melinda at the front desk to be delightful and very helpful. The crew working the food area were also very helpful - They did seem to be a bit overwhelmed and not prepared to handle the size of the groups staying at the hotel when we were there.

The General Manager, Daniel, needs to attend charm school. He definitely is unable to handle conficts or problems in a positive way. Daniel was basically rude to our group during the entire stay - he did apologize to one of our coaches after our coach decided to talk with him about a situation that happened the previous evening. Daniel stated that he had a long day and was very tired.....Rather than trying to be accomodating and friendly, his attitude was typically confrontational and threatening. We were all shocked by his behavior and we are submitting letters to the management of this hotel to share our concerns.

This hotel has a restricted liquor license - that means that if you want to bring in your own alcohol, you must consume it only in the privacy of your room. The patio area outside the lobby area and the pool areas are not identified as areas that alcohol can be consumed. Not a really a big deal if this is explained upfront, but it was something that surprised us when we wanted to drink a beer on the outside patio in the evening and we were basically yelled at by Daniel.

From my personal perspective, if Daniel remains the General Manager of this hotel, we will not return. There are other properties of equal value within the Fresno area that we will book at.

  • Liked — Melinda at the front desk.
  • Disliked — Management - General Manager Daniel needs to go to charm school
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank S0ftballDad94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2008

This property opened in February 2008 and is overall a pleasant property with good amenities. The kitchenette had everything you need to cook a small meal. The bed was "regular" and not the Hilton Sweet Dreams bed, but there was a nice flat screen tv. The pool and hot tub were a welcome refresher after a long day. The breakfast was well rounded and worth checking out. The property is three floors in a "U" shape with only two elevators so ask for a room near an elevator unless you are ok with walking a fair distance with your bags or taking stairs. The general manager was quick to respond to one unusual issue we had with housekeeping, so it was a good stay.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank swhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fresno hotels
7.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Fresno Convention Center
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fresno Riverpark
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fresno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Fresno RiverPark
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fresno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno
Address: 6820 N Fresno St, Fresno, CA 93710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Fresno
#3 Green Hotel in Fresno
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fresno
#8 Business Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood Suites Fresno offers a variety of options including studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites. Our suites are ideal for temporary housing as well as overnight accommodations. Each suite offers a range of home comforts including fully equipped kitchen with a full size refrigerator, flat panel televisions, complimentary high-speed Internet, and Serta Suite Dreams® Bedding. Additional hotel amenities include, fitness center, sports court with basketball, billiards room, pool with hot tub, and 24 hour Suite Shop®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Fresno Hotel Fresno
Homewood Fresno
Fresno Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing