We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2009

For starters, easy to find. There's a couple turns once you get off the freeway, but you can see the place from the offramp so it's not too hard. Plenty of parking. IHOP across the street and through a parking lot. Several other restaurants within blocks. The place looks quite new. No complaints about cleanliness or comfort. There was a small refrigerator and a microwave; we didn't use either but I assume they work. The refrigerator wasn't mildewy or anything.

Smoking area/ ashtray could have been closer to the entrance, and maybe sheltered from the wind and rain a little. (The whole hotel is nonsmoking) As it is, there was evidence of other smokers besides myself, and they didn't bother to walk the 100 feet. So there are cigarette butts near the entrance. It could be avoided.

The staff was friendly but looked incredibly bored. Very quiet this weekend.

The breakfast food is standard HI Express - heavy on carbs. Plenty of choices for breads and cereals, cheese omelets, some bacon or sausage. HUGE plus to me that the coffee was available all day. I never needed to mess around with the dinky in-room coffeemaker. Free Wifi is a big plus, too.

My only complaint, and it's not one that can be fixed easily, is the room construction. The bathroom door is wiiiiide. So when it opens, it hits the corner of the closet. The closet could have been built literally an inch further in and the door would swing all the way open. As it is, you exit the bathroom and find yourself trapped between the entrance door, the bathroom, the bathroom door, and the wall. You must close the bathroom door to get into the room. Very weird.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    85
    30
    12
    9
See reviews for
82
59
14
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2008

On my recent trip to Fresno, CA I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. This hotel is located with many other hotels in less than 1/4 of a mile. The hotel property itself is very clean as the hotel opened about a year ago. Front Desk Staff was not very helpful with our check in and didn't seem to offer what I would call quality customer service.

However our room was very nice. Rooms automatically come with a mini wet bar which consists of a microwave and a refrigerator, all of which you would have to pay extra for usually.

All Holiday Inn Express hotels do offer a free breakfast in the morning but I have to say this one lacks compared to others I have experienced. Eggs were cold and hard, muffins were hard, bacon was soggy, and the cereal was kind of stale.

With all the other properties in the area I would recommend going to a different hotel if you like to experience the luxuriousness and quality of a hotel.

  • Liked — Location and Rooms
  • Disliked — Customer Service of Staff
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jkhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2007

I stayed at this location twice. The first time was right after it opened. My TV remote didn't work and the ice machine on my floor didn't work. The manager explained that they were still working out the kinks since it had only been open a month. The next morning, I was unable to shower because there was no hot water. When I told them, they said that a couple of rooms had this problem, but, you know, they had just opened. I didn't ask for a discount, didn't complain. The next time my visit was very pleasant and I decided to make this the hotel I stayed at for my monthly trips to Fresno. The third time, I made a reservation. But, when I got to the hotel, I realized that I had left my drivers license at the office where I work at in Fresno. They wouldn't let me use my credit card without it. I offered to pay cash for the room but they wouldn't take that either. They had a policy that didn't allow this because people had damaged rooms and there was no way to get compensated. However, they also had two experiences with me and the same credit card to look at in their records. The manager refused to check their system. By this time it was late, and there were no more rooms available in that area so I had no choice but to drive home to Oakland, CA (3 hours away). I called the hotel several times to complain, I was so sure this was a mistake, but never got a call back. Would I ever stay there? NEVER AGAIN!!!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Really poor customer service
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tangentOakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2007

This HI Express is pretty new and is in good shape. The breakfast area is large and the rooms are clean. The swimming pool is on the small side & the rooms on the west side face the 41 freeway. If you can, request a room on the east side of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank cneumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fresno hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fresno Riverpark
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fresno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Fresno RiverPark
7.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Fresno Convention Center
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fresno Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41
Address: 7115 N Howard St, Fresno, CA 93720-2980
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Fresno
#7 Family Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno-River Park is conveniently located near the River Park shopping center. Just around the corner from restaurants such as the PF Chang's, Ruth's Chris, Famous Dave's, Slate's and more. We are minutes away from the Big Fresno Fair, SaveMart Center, the Grizzly Stadium, Fresno State University, Old Town Clovis and downtown Fresno. Easy on and off highway access. Hotel features include free high-speed Internet access, print on demand, free hot breakfast, a business & fitness center, guest laundry facility, and pay-per-view. Our prime location in Fresno will put you near famous attractions like Yosemite National Park, Sequoia National Park, Millerton and Bass Lake and casinos. Close to our Holiday Inn Express - Fresno, is also Children's Hospital, Kaiser Permanente, St. Agnes, Wells Fargo Corporate, and more. Visit Fresno, CA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Riverpark hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41
Holiday Inn Express Fresno
Holiday Inn Fresno
Fresno Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing