We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice hotel that met our needs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice hotel that met our needs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We decided to stay in Fresno as the base for visting Yosemite National Park and chose this Holiday Inn after reviewing a number of Fresno options. It turned out to be a good choice that met our needs for a couple of nights stay.

Upon arrival the check in process was quick and efficient. My status as a PriorityClub member was recognised too. Unfortunately the hotel couldn't place the two rooms I'd booked close together and we ended up on different floors, but in the end that didn't matter.

The rooms were basic, but were clean and functional. My only minor complaint about the room facilities would be the noisy extraction fan in the bathroom which turned on when the bathroom light was switched on.

The hotel has a common room where a free breakfast is provided daily. Whilst this was a feature of a number of hotels we stayed at in the USA, this was by far the best. There was a great selection ranging from cereal, danishes, pancakes and yoghurt to a hot selection of bacon and scrambled eggs. Juice and coffee was also provided. There was ample space to sit and enjoy breakfast too.

The hotel also has a fitness room, but it was made up of only about 3 pieces of equipment including a treadmill which seemed in need of a service.

There is a shopping centre with a number of fast food outlets about a five minute drive from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adel-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marksoares, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to serve as a base for guests travelling to both Yosemite and Kings Canyon/Sequoia national parks. It was our pleasure to host you and your family and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    83
    26
    12
    9
See reviews for
76
58
13
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had a couple of reasons for staying in Fresno, firstly it is a good geographic location after a day travelling through Yosemite, and secondly, in October the Big Fresno Fair is on.
After reading numerous scary reviews of Downtown Fresno we decided to stay a few miles out and chose this H.I.E. Check in was quick and hassle free. It is up to the usual standard you would expect from Holiday Inn.
Large room, very comfortable bed and despite being right next to the highway very quiet. Breakfast is served in a smallish room and offers the usual items you would expect - Fruit, cereals, bagels, scrambled eggs,bacon, juices and coffee, but most importantly ......FROOT LOOPS and CINNAMON ROLLS

We wanted to go to Riverpark (Bars, Restaurants, movie theater and shops) and the guy on reception told us it was a safe area to walk in, which was cool as I didn't want to drive anymore that day, it was only a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

Very easy access from the highway and free parking.
Can't fault it and safer than being in Downtown. Didn't feel threatened or insecure even when walking back from Riverpark at 11.00PM.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anjoco69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marksoares, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Wow, is what we try to accomplish with all of our guests. It is important that our facility and our staff provides a safe and hospitable experience for all of our guest each and every time. I want to thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay, and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, in
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Recent stay at this facility. Staff are consistently kind and helpful. Would not hesitate to stay again. We especially like the Holiday Inn Express brand primarily because they have many new facilities. In fact, this hotel claims to be Fresno's newest hotel. I would suggest that this is not true. Beds were slightly worn. Walls in bath have multiple patches.
Prior to booking this hotel, I cancelled a nearby similar hotel and paid approx $25 more per night. In the end, I doubt the difference in cost was worth it.

Again, I recommend staying here, but would consider competitors in the area as well.

Room Tip: Ask for the even # rooms which do not face Highway 41
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docbfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marksoares, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We are very happy that you found that our service staff was kind and helpful. I am reviewing the room you stayed in and am taking steps to refresh or product for you and all of our guests in the future. We hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you when you travel to Fresno. Again, Thanks for bringing your thoughts to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our family (wife + 2 toddlers) arrived at the hotel around 10 pm after a long, tiring drive from LA. We were greeted warmly by Elisa immediately after arriving and she helped us to get our room in a quick and effficient manner.

We bought our dinner on the way to the hotel and somehow forgot to get the utensils. I asked Elisa if she could help us to get them and quite amazingly she had some forks ready at the front office desk and she quickly got us the plates from the dining room. A truly well appreciated service.

Other than that, the room looks great, clean, looks new, wide bathroom. The only improvement needed is that the small fridge does not seem to be cool enough even after i cranked the lever to the max, but it's not really that big of deal anyway.

Great!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamaSeutia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marksoares, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
On behalf of my staff and myself, It was a pleasure to have you and your family with us. We hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again. Thank you for your comment..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is my third stay at the River Park location. This is my first choice of hotels when staying in Fresno.
The staff is very courteous and helpful. The rooms are excellent and very clean. The beds are great and I sleep like a rock every time.

Breakfast is great and staff will provide you with a tray to take it to your room if no seating is available in the dinning room.

If you have valuables no problem. They have a safe to hold them in.

If you are planning a stay in Fresno and find this hotel full try the one Clovis. It to is great.

My 11 year old grandson and I take summer trips and have stayed in the Holiday Inn Express hotels in Carson City NV, Flagstaff AZ, and always had an excellent time. He likes the pancake machine.

If you are planning a motor trip you can't go wrong with a stay at Holiday Express.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marksoares, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for the great review of our property. We are proud to serve you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Assistant Manager Patrick Mata deserves the initial appreciation for arranging superb accommodations and follow thru for 10 of my family members when they utilized the hotel's facilities the weekend of Dec 2nd to help celebrate our 92 year old Dad's BD. The staff are also to be congratulated for a job VERY well done. Thank you again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudgeWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marksoares, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
We take pride in our kind and caring staff and management as well as our ability to prepare and organize special arrangements for groups and families. Thank you for taking the time to recognize us. From Patrick and the rest of the staff, it was our sincere pleasure to host your friends and family members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed here while visiting Seqouia and Kings Canyon National Parks. From the hotel, it's about a one-hour drive to the front gates of Kings Canyon via hwy 180.

All common areas and rooms in this hotel are clean and well-maintained. I haven't visited Fresno before, but this location seems to be on the "better" side of town, close to the newer-looking River Park shopping center. As a Priority Club (platinum) member, I received some snacks and water bottles upon check-in, which was nice. The included breakfast here has a good variety of hot foods, like eggs, sausage, biscuits/gravy, cinnamon rolls, and pancakes from a pancake machine.

Like some other people have said, this location is close to the highway. We stayed in a room facing the highway and none of us had trouble falling asleep, but others may find the noise distracting. The beds and pillows are also a bit too soft/lumpy for me, but I prefer firm mattresses, so YMMV. The in-room wi-fi only covered about 50% of the room; while sitting on the bed on the far side of the room, I was unable to get a consistent signal. Rooms on the front side of the hotel, facing away from the highway, may have better reception.

The mini-fridge in our room was not cold. We talked to the front desk guy after coming back at night, and he called us later and said the facilities manager wasn't on-site, but he could fix it for us tomorrow. They didn't try to contact us any further, but the fridge was cold after we came back the following night, so we were unsure if it was actually fixed or it just took an entire day to turn cold.

In summary, I would say my stay was good but not great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marksoares, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you had a less than perfect stay. I would like to invite you to come back to our property in 2013 as we will have a brand new bedding package in place so that our guests can sleep in the utmost comfort. I would also like to apologize because it doesn't sound like the front desk went above and beyond to help you with your internet and fridge issues. Please rest assured that this has been addressed by management and turned into a teachable moment for the entire staff to learn from.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fresno hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fresno Riverpark
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fresno
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Fresno RiverPark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fresno Inn
7.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Fresno Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41
Address: 7115 N Howard St, Fresno, CA 93720-2980
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Fresno
#7 Family Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno-River Park is conveniently located near the River Park shopping center. Just around the corner from restaurants such as the PF Chang's, Ruth's Chris, Famous Dave's, Slate's and more. We are minutes away from the Big Fresno Fair, SaveMart Center, the Grizzly Stadium, Fresno State University, Old Town Clovis and downtown Fresno. Easy on and off highway access. Hotel features include free high-speed Internet access, print on demand, free hot breakfast, a business & fitness center, guest laundry facility, and pay-per-view. Our prime location in Fresno will put you near famous attractions like Yosemite National Park, Sequoia National Park, Millerton and Bass Lake and casinos. Close to our Holiday Inn Express - Fresno, is also Children's Hospital, Kaiser Permanente, St. Agnes, Wells Fargo Corporate, and more. Visit Fresno, CA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Riverpark hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41
Holiday Inn Express Fresno
Holiday Inn Fresno
Fresno Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing