We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very helpful docents” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meux Home Museum

Meux Home Museum
Ranked #7 of 43 things to do in Fresno
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum was once the home of a Civil War-era surgeon.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very helpful docents”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Visited on a Friday around noon. 2 docents aboard, very knowledgable and took plenty of time to tell us about house, family, and Fresno area. We appreciated it greatly. $5 per person and donations are encouraged.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank vafedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Piece of History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

I've been to the Meux Home a few times and I always find it fascinating. I see something new everytime that I didn't notice on the previous tours. If you are interested in seeing historical collections, then you'll enjoy the home. The best time to come is during the Christmas season. The home is completely decorated and you'll see what life was like in the Victorian era.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rosefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Went for a special dinner and we were treated to a tour of the home - the guides were in period dress and knew all about the home, the people who lived there and the history - fascinating. Want to go back again.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HpyTrvlrFresno_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great add-on to Fresno trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Since we had a little extra time, we decided to take the tour of this Victorian mansion. Well worth the $5 admission for the fun, informative look at early Fresno history.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jumbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Collecton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This museum has a great collection of dishes and furnishings from early California. The home has been well taken care of and preserves some early Fresno, California history.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meux Home Museum also viewed

 

Been to Meux Home Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing