We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pasta, Pasta, Pasta!”
Review of Parma

Parma
Ranked #10 of 1,131 Restaurants in Fresno
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Palm Springs
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Pasta, Pasta, Pasta!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

A few years ago I told my partner that he should go to Parma when he was in Fresno on a business trip. I had found some good reviews online and he loves Italian food. He came back with a glowing review of the restaurant.

This past January I accompanied him on another trip to Fresno and got to experience Parma myself. It had moved from the location my partner had dined at, but he still thought the food was great. We both had the fresh tri-pasta special that came with a house salad. The salad was super crisp with a light house dressing, and the pastas were all delicious. They melted in your mouth along with the warm bread and butter. The price was sooo reasonable for the quality of the food.

My only critique would be that the wines by the glass were both a dollar more than the menu price, and the bolognese pasta was slightly crunchy. Otherwise, this was a delightful meal with good service in a lovely atmosphere. The Italian owner chatted with us on the way out, and we told her that we would definitely be back next time in Fresno.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandSPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    20
    5
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Okinawa, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No complaints, will go back when I can”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I was visiting family in Fresno for my birthday and chose to eat here for my birthday dinner after reading a few reviews. At first I didn't want to, only because it sounded very upscale and not baby-friendly and I had my baby with me. However, we had a wonderful dinner at Parma. The restaurant was clean, well-decorated and quiet. We were offered a quiet area in the restaurant and the waiter apologized for not having any high chairs. Baby-friendly or not, the waiters (and owner) were all very kind and didn't give us any trouble, instead they talked to him and seemed quite happy to see him. The food was delicious. It seemed like it took a while but I imagine that any tasty dish takes time to prepare so I didn't mind. They kept bringing out more bread and butter, and our water glasses never emptied. I chose the manager's special (or whatever it's called), which came with an assortment of pieces as an appetizer, 3 different pastas, as well as a dessert of my choice. The appetizer assortment was insane. It was artfully displayed and all of it was very good. I enjoyed 2 out of 3 of the pastas, the third was well-prepared but not my kind of pasta I guess. I have never had authentic Italian before but I thought it was great. And the desserts were fabulous. My family ordered different ones and we tasted them all, they were just great! Beautifully displayed and very tasty. The manager kept checking on us, not enough to annoy though. She was even kind enough to hand my baby a book to look at. I was very pleased with this restaurant. While I really don't know many people in Fresno and I live out of the country, I will be sure to recommend to anyone visiting the area. I will also come back for dinner the next time I am in town! 5 stars.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steph0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Outstanding meals, well prepared and always delicious”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The proprietor, Elena Mastro, welcomes all to her restaurant as if she was welcoming you to her home. The menu offerings are varied and every meal we have enjoyed is well prepared and presented. The staff is attentive, without hovering. This is an excellent choice for authentic Italian food. I've been with friends and family and all plan to return..

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KathiO-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Italian Restaurant on Fresno”
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

I like their house Chianti, fresh parmasean, and breadsticks. The gnocchi is fresh, light, and excellent; better than Italy. Their food is fresh. There is no fish on the menu since the owner will not serve fish that was frozen. If you want fish, the owner will buy it fresh if you call one day in advance of your visit. That is great service and assurance that the food is fresh. Bravo!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeltLink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, California
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“best Italian in Fresno”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We went for our anniversary. The food was excellent, and the service was friendly and welcoming. It is easily the best Italian in Fresno. The Gnocchi was nearly perfect and the Agnolotti was as close to Italy as you can get without being there. Well worth the moderately high price (for Fresno). Absolutely will return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederick i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing