We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad they are back.”

Tahoe Joe's Famous Steakhouse
Ranked #33 of 1,122 Restaurants in Fresno
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Glad they are back.”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

After experiencing a decline in food quality after the sale of Tahoe Joe's my recent visits have confirmed they have returned to very good quality and service worthy of another visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    27
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California, USA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Had a Wonderful meal, but Great Service”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Cannot say enough about the service, from the front door welcome to the server and waiter make our Birthday for my wife complete. Our food was hot one time, our table of 5 were pleased. To complete the meal and to my surprise a HUGH slab to Cheese Cake was given to my wife and a round of Happy Birthday. Thank you Tahoe Joes.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“ok”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

pretty standard steakhouse. the steaks were top notch but everything else was pre packaged and pretty tasteless. it has a nice atmosphere and the service was good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank olddaddydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise in Clovis, CA”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

A group from my son's high school baseball team ate here last Friday night after a late game. When 13 of us showed up at almost 10:00pm, the staff eagerly greeted us and accomodated our large group. The restaurant was only about 25% full at the time. Next, we asked our waiter, Pierce, for separate checks, and again this was not a problem. The oustanding service continued throughout the meal. Although I was not very hungry I ordered chicken nachos thinking it would be a smaller meal, and I was wrong! They were more than I could eat and were loaded with chicken, cheese, gauc. and other toppings. Very good! My son had prime rib and it too was delicious. Some of the parents had the clam chowder and said it was the best they ever toasted. The cook their steaks on an almond wood fire, and one of the boys was allergic to nuts, so they gladly roasted his steak on a gas grill they use to cook fish. We were impressed with every element of the visit, and I highly recommed this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
218 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good early dinner -- Quiet.”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I had graduation duty, and we had to catch an early dinner. We had the Railroad Camp Shrimp for a starter, which was tasty as usual. This time I tried the Twin Filets (medium -- was like butter; Gorgonzola topping a plus); and my wife had the Virginia City Filet. The sides we chose this time were: rice (moist, tasty, with veggies); and a veggie side (green beans, accented with bacon; and not over-cooked). We both had enough to take a nice snack home (NO, we're not OLD -- just trying to eat sensibly before ).

Sometimes a mid/late afternoon dinner can result in under-staffed, poor service (shift change, who knows??). This was NOT a problem here. The added bonus for this popular (sometimes boisterous) eatery at this time of day -- great service; and it's quiet enough for a nice couple dinner and leisurely conversation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tahoe Joe's Famous Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Tahoe Joe's Famous Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing