We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“input for business travelers” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Fresno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Fresno
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Certificate of Excellence
Northern California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“input for business travelers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Pros: the staff is friendly. There is a "manager's reception" in the evening with drinkable wine made at Fresno State (at least on the 2 weekdays I was there). There is a hot breakfast, free newspapers, and the eating/lounge area is pleasant. WiFi is free. Cons: I had a housekeeping issue (which was handled promptly when I mentioned it on my way out one evening). The room could have been cleaner. I noticed 2 things. (1) In the place where the carpet meets the bathroom floor, there was a fair amount of "dirt" in the corners/cracks. (2) When I had to put in a new roll of TP, I noticed that the back of the TP holder was quite nasty. The HVAC unit is in the window. When the A/C compressor comes on, it is very loud (as is a bad-night-sleep loud). The rooms face east or west. In the summer, I suspect that the rooms on the west side get really hot. There are no trees to create any shade. There is no place within walking distance to eat, except Chili's (sp??), where the laminated menus at the bar are sticky (ick). Across the street from this motel are a Holiday Inn Express and a La Quinta. A couple of comparable brand-name-motel-lite places are within a three block radius. I don't understand why Fresno @ 41/Herdon/Shaw does not have anything even one notch higher end (say a real Holiday Inn or a Hilton Garden Inn) .... I stayed here because I'm Hilton silver. I will probably stay again when I am in the area for business but only because I doubt anything nearby is any better.

Room Tip: Avoid a room facing west in the summer (if I recall correctly, west facing room have even numbers)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JP&mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    141
    39
    17
    12
See reviews for
153
101
25
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Nice hotel with great accommodations. Would stay again. When we checked-in the room reservation was not right for what I booked through Hampton's website, and the hotel staff made sure of our guaranteed satisfaction with another room as complimentary. The surrounding area is rather new, commercial and close to H-41. It is a generally a safe area to go out at night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel appears fairly new. The lobby and overall rooms are neat. However, in our room, we unfolded the couch/bed and out popped two almonds. Worse, in the shower hanging on the shower head, was a dried up/used wash rag! Ewwww! Makes you wonder how much attention these rooms get after the last visitors......

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Bill Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicki P, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Fresno, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Bill Z,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your recent stay in the area and we sincerely apologize for the housekeeping problems you experienced. I can assure you that unclean rooms are not typical at our hotel and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will make every effort to ensure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards and that our guests are 100% satisfied with their stay. We hope you will give us another chance if you visit this area in the future. Thank you again for your comments and we wish you safe travels.

Sincerely,
Nicki Passeggi, Assistant General Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites Fresno
559.447.5900 x525
nicki.passeggi@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reseda, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Loved my stay at this hotel, easy to get to due to freeway access. The staff were on their "A" game and made my stay comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was abundant. Will definitely use this facility again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Silvina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This Hilton brand hotel was a perfect fit for my last business trip and apparently others for leisure. There were no problems (other than the pool was not yet open for the season). It's near a major freeway, but no problems with vehicle noise. They have a managers special Monday through Thursday nights which includes hors d'oeuvres and free local beer and Fresno State wine. If you arrive in the late afternoon, you may even have the option to try a cookie.

There is plenty of parking, it's clean and current. There is an Applebee's on the corner if you need a quick late night bite. Try Wasabi to Die For down the street - I rated it as well with high marks. While there be sure to plan a day trip to Yosemite and Sequoia National Parks.

Room Tip: The east side rooms are opposite the freeway, but you should not have any noise problems. A basketba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HighPowerGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Fourth time staying here. We enjoy the Manager's welcome and clean, comfortable room. Highest recommendation for a place to stay. Four visits, Four times 5 star. Great Breakfast as well. Worth the stop, even if you have to quit driving a little earlier than planned.

Room Tip: Four times here, four different rooms, all great. Super nice big showers too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelOgfmSLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here last minute as we were in the midst of moving. Good location, easy to find and near several restaurants. Also near River Park for shopping, movies, etc. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean and even smelled fresh! The breakfast was terrific! Made our move much more pleasant to spend a night here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Masstraveler84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fresno hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fresno Riverpark
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno
7.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Fresno Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Fresno RiverPark
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fresno Inn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Fresno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Fresno

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Fresno
Address: 327 E Fir Ave, Fresno, CA 93720-2974
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fresno
#2 Business Hotel in Fresno
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Fresno 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly remodeled Hampton Inn & Suites Fresno is located in a great area of North Fresno in the heart of the medical community off Highway 41. Hotel amenities include a complimentary full hot breakfast buffet, evening reception with free beer, wine and appetizers (Mon-Thurs), outdoor heated pool and whirlpool, fitness center with brand new cardio equipment and free weights, business center, high speed internet access, new 32” flat screen TV’s, and Clean and Fresh Hampton Beds. 1,900 square feet of meeting space is available for up to 80 guests. Walking distance to three restaurants: Chili's, IHOP and Sweet Tomatoes. HHonors points awarded for every stay. Nearby attractions include: Fresno State UniversitySave Mart Center Grizzlies Stadium (Giants' AAA Baseball Team)Woodward ParkYosemite National ParkSequoia and Kings Canyon National ParksFresno Chaffee ZooIsland Water ParkForestiere Underground GardensSaroyan TheaterChina Peak & Badger Pass Ski AreasFresno Convention CenterTower DistrictMadera and Fresno County WineriesFresno Yosemite International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Fresno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites, Fresno
Hampton Inn & Suites, Fresno Hotel Fresno
Hampton Inn Hotel Fresno
Hampton Inn Fresno
Fresno Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing