We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tower Staple”
Review of Irene's Cafe

Irene's Cafe
Ranked #18 of 19 Bakeries in Fresno
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Tower Staple”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

What's a morning in the Tower District without breakfast at Irene's. They serve lunch and dinner too, but breakfast is my favorite. That said, I know many that can't live without their giant double burgers. Thrifty ice cream too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank family2shop4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    15
    6
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
440 reviews
311 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“First Time”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were met at the front door by homeless/bums looking for a hand out.

The place was nice and clean. Service was good and friendly. The Vegetable Omelet had lots of filling but it was flat and greasy. It would have been a lot better if it was fluffy.

Cap & Virginia

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very poor service.”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We heard good things but unfortunately were disappointed. The service was horrible. There was a spilled drink on the floor and no one bothered to even wipe it up the entire time. Our toast and potatoe orders were all wrong and mixed up. Ended up paying $15 for an omelet and potatoes which is not good value in my opinion.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geristlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanger, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Irene's Cafe - A Place to Eat & Relax in Beautiful / Lovely Fresno”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I want to share a great place to go when you want to "Eat & Relax" for a Breakfast or Lunch. Irene's, located right in the middle of the Tower District, has been my favorite place to order food; sit outdoors in the patio area; read the paper and watch people, cars & motorcycles that drive through the Tower District and enjoy a great meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrisb55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Irene”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I like that it's walking distance and the food tasted home made. Very good, delicious and affordable$.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1955DD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Irene's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing