We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very neat”

Forestiere Underground Gardens
Ranked #2 of 48 things to do in Fresno
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Take a tour off Highway 99 and visit Fresno's best kept secret. *A hand-built network of underground rooms, courtyards and passageways reminiscent of the ancient catacombs. *Unique fruit producing trees, shrubs, and vines growing underground - some over 90 years old! *Ancient Roman architecture - arches, vaults and stone-built walls. *Underground micro-climates - temperature variations of 10 to 30 degrees! *Underground home of Sicilian visionary and self-taught artist/builder Baldassare Forestiere.
Fresno, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very neat”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Went there in the summer with some friends. They brought their 5 year old nephew. He loved it. The adults enjoyed it as well. It's in a random location that looks kinda like a half-done garden from the raod, but once you get inside, there was so much to see and learn. Parking is a pain, but this wasn't built to be a tourist attraction. While it's not an "eight wonder of the world" type place, you will be amazed at the will and determination of one man. There are so many tunnels, so many interesting layout bits - you have to go see it yourself. The staff is great and the tours are educational. Go ahead and go see it - you won't regret it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Caliguy227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    153
    29
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sanger, CA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fresno's best kept secret...”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Parking is difficult but everyone should see this... It is on Shaw AVE near Golden State AVE. Thousands drive by everyday and not pay any attention. I'd say it is totally unique in the United States.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Innovative, impressive and simply cool place.”
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Great place for family or couples or if you are looking for some inspiration . This is place celebrates the greatness of the human mind and human will. I went there with a friend, in a hot summer Fresno day, we were amazed with all the tunnels, fruit trees and the innovation of this Forestiere's innovation. Very affordable and a great way to spend a long summer afternoon

Helpful?
1 Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fresno, ca
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Got to see it to believe it!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Incredible place to visit! The efforts and determination of one man! Got to see it to believe it. I have visited this place four times and still every time I went, I just marvel at the sheer vision of one single man.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank inlandcalifornian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Many underground rooms, very interesting to see and the story is interesting too. Not to expensive. It was very busy the day we went to the tour was rushed. Would like to go again when we are not rushed and can look around more. They sell fruit in season to the people who take the tours, very reasonable price. We got pomagranates.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SLC1UT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forestiere Underground Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Forestiere Underground Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing