We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freeway or Trains?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Fresno-Northwest
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Certificate of Excellence
Rocklin
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Freeway or Trains?”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Although this is a new hotel with double pain windows it sits right in between the highway or the train tracks so there is no getting away from the noise. The first night I spent on the freeway side and all I heard during the night was trucks and cars zooming by all night. The expansion joints in the freeway made for lots of traffic noise and I might have slept 2-3 hours.

The next day when I asked the clerk to move to the other side, he told me there is noise from trains passing by. However, as I told him they are consistent like the freeway noise. That night while I did hear the train whistles on occasion they we nothing like the freeway side. If I was to stay there again, I would definitely stay on the train noise side.

Other than that, the hotel was nice since it was new and the staff had very good customer service.

Room Tip: If you have trouble sleeping because of excessive constant freeway noise or an occasional train horn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    93
    37
    5
    7
See reviews for
88
35
17
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Overall my room and hotel was clean and updated. Beds & pillows were comfy. Front desk staff was friendly. But breakfast did not have fresh fruit mix as at the other Hamptons that I stayed and the juices taste watered down. Not much in the immediate area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Benjamin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I will start off by saying the hotel was nice & typical of other Hamptons . Clean room , nice linen , comfy beds & clean bathrooms ! Breakfast was ok , like the various coffee's ! Now for the bad ! I have a co-worker who stays there & is locked in at a special rate ! Now I show up & mention this to girl at desk & she say's she cannot give me that rate , has to be through the GM . I am a co-worker & work for the same company & cannot get that rate . Now for the kicker , I asked what kind of discount can I get , a corporate rate , commercial driver , triple a ? I got some discount , so I asked her what would be the grand total and she gave me a quote . Next day at checkout there was an excess 15 dollar tourism tax ! What the heck ? Why was I not given the total when I asked ? Was it her first day on the job . Just lost a potential customer & telling the rest of my co-workers to stay away ! Thanks for nothing Jameelah .

Room Tip: Rooms facing east away from freeway are more quiet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunky-68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardeep M, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fresno-Northwest, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback for your stay. Your account has been credited back for the rate difference. We appreciate you choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Fresno Northwest. Please feel free to contact us for any questions or concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Enjoyed the stay at the Hampton. Very restful during a busy weekend for my son's band competition for which we were help to chaperone. The band stayed elsewhere about 20 minutes away but the Hampton is one of the closest hotels to the site of the competition at Koligian stadium. Great breakfast and comfortable and clean rooms. The bed was great and I fell asleep almost immediately.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank alexfamdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I have stayed here twice in the last month and, as with most Hampton Inns, it was excellent. My daughter's name is Kathryn, so I enjoyed sending her a picture of the street sign! This one is a bit north of town but it's right on the 99 so easy to get to...and there is a restaurant (Yukon Jack's I think?) and a Starbucks next door, handy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank thomasdR2070YD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I had no issues booking this room online. Once I got there there were no issues. The person in the front did warn me that there were trains constantly passing by but did offer me the choice of a room facing train tracks or freeway. One thing that I was not able to figure out is how to close the blinds to keep the light out but nothing major since it wasn't super bright. The noise was not bad either. Only hiccup was a power outage (3rd party at fault) which I thought would hinder me more than I thought. Hotel staff was very helpful and apologetic and I was not charged for that night. I'd def stay there again if I needed to stay in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jorge V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Had a good stay at the Hampton Inn Fresno. I was unhappy with the loud train noises throughout the night. Didn't know if that kept us up more or the loud AC unit. Overall service was great. Breakfast host/food was not up to par. Food didn't look fresh and the hosts we NOT friendly or welcoming at all.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fresno hotels
10.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Fresno Convention Center
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fresno
7.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fresno Riverpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno
7.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Fresno RiverPark
12.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Fresno Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Fresno-Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Fresno-Northwest

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Fresno-Northwest
Address: 7194 W Kathryn Ave, Fresno, CA 93722-9305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Fresno-Northwest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Fresno-Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing