We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The nice room is offset by all the homeless people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambassador Inn And Suites
Ranked #38 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I would recommend this hotel only if you don't mind seeing a dozen homeless people walking through the parking lot every hour. I've had my car broken into in the past, so I was a little nervous.

Pros - Location next to the highway makes it accessible. Room is clean and the bathroom was nice. Breakfast was provided as a McDonalds breakfast combo for the McDonalds that is next to the hotel.

Cons - Tons of homeless people made me feel like my car would be broken into. In order to get ice, I had to go to McDonalds because the ice machine was broken.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank pvtmulholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 75 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2012

I enjoy staying in ambassador inn everytime am in fresno, they realy make me feel home away from home, friendly receiption, good hospitality, cleanlyness, super big rooms with all amineties,easy access to freeway, restaurants and a big parking lot, wifi and swimming pool to accomodate you.i highly recommend this motel.

Room Tip: all rooms looks pretty same to me
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abdi j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

reception staff friendly and helpful. Reasonably clean room. Breakfast at Maccas next door was an experience. We missed out on the Hookers :-)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

$50 a night is great value; clean and spacious rooms, decent beds and free McDonald's restaurant vouchers. Just be sure to book rooms near the front of the hotel; back rooms are reserved for hookers, who stand openly in the doorways, waving to clients. When confronted about this, the pleasant manager pretended he knew nothing about it, but local police, when we reported the hookers, insisted that he did. This hotel was even featured in a Fresno TV news story about freeway hotel hookers.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

we should have known...$49 a nite was just too good a deal. The owner is nice East Indian fellow--very polite who showed us a relatively clean room. He wsa happy to accomodate our small dog, so I paid him and we checked in. Little did we know that the place changes as the sun wanes.

Rooms come complete with hookers openly standing in the doorways, lots of junkies, pimps in nice cars every two hours, a barred liquor store across the street, and a horde of homeless folks who live in lean-tos attached to the side of the hotel. Got hit up for cash three times in the parking lot. Needless to say, our nice Lexus loaded with our gear and sporting with tourist plates was quite an attraction as the gang waited for our lights to turn off.. Couldnt possibly sleep, so we departed at 8PM for the 5 hour stretch to PD and saw four ( yes four) police arrersts within one block of our abode. Strolled in to PD at 1AM tired, but happy to be here with another lesson learned.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

The room was clean, that includes the bath room, the towels and the sheets. For the price we payed it was fine. Hot breakfast at McDonalds across the motel was included. So nothing to complain about. Staff was friendly and very supportive. For a one night stay where you don't want to pay a fortune, this place fits the bill.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor which was a little bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunsetd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Stayed here last night.. room was ok. But the bathroom was horrible. Toliet looked like it hasn't been cleaned and the tub cracked in 3 places and paint has peeled off. Yuck.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chellerae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fresno hotels
2.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Fresno Downtown
4.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Fresno
Comfort Inn Fresno
#29 of 64 in Fresno
172 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ramada Fresno Northwest
Ramada Fresno Northwest
#24 of 64 in Fresno
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South
2.9 mi away
The Hotel Fresno
The Hotel Fresno
#51 of 64 in Fresno
392 reviews
0.8 mi away
Motel 6 Fresno - Belmont Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Inn And Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Inn And Suites

Address: 1804 W Olive Ave, Fresno, CA 93728-2619
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range: $58 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ambassador Inn And Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Ambassador Inn And Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Fresno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing