We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“At last...good Thai food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gem of Thailand

Gem of Thailand
Ranked #81 of 1,103 Restaurants in Fresno
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“At last...good Thai food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

The Thai food in Fresno has gone from good, to mediocre, to awful over the years. The good closed or changed hands, only to be followed by the latter. Gem of Thailand gives one hope. The Basil Fried Rice was a standout. Pad Thai with shrimp has great balance of flavors that is complemented when you add a side of fresh limes to squeeze over it. Yum Beef Salad has the most refreshing dressing, and the beef slices were cooked to perfection...not well done like many others. The only negatve was the Mu Satay has a bright orange seasoning rub that was not complimented by the peanut sauce. Without this rub, it would have been better.
All in all, a wonderful meal.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank family2shop4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
196 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Consistently great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

This small restaurant is always great-- sometimes it fills up early on Friday and Saturday (go early, or later). We usually get spring rolls and/or egg rolls as appetizers. I like Panang Curry (seafood); but Phad Pet (sp?) is good (Pad Thai is good, too). Service can slow a little if full, but well worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Norm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great Thai food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great little place for a good meal. I had the lunch special of Squid Chilli Jam and it was really good! Service was great and staff were very sweet. Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because I was a little disappointed by the sparse menu and lack of seafood choices, as I don't care for mine fried.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderfully delicious and authentic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

After visiting Thailand, we often crave for some authentic and spicy Thai food....Gem of Thailand is just that...a brilliant gem. The redolent smell of the dishes evoked memories even before our first bite. The perfectly spiced "drunken noodle" was a delightful complement to the "panang beef" that was both spicy (I brave to request for it to be spicy) and sweet curry sauce. The "crispy pork" was lightly battered, crispy, with green and yellow onions...with red sweet and sour sauce...delicious. We topped it off with a "sticky rice with Thai custard" for dessert...we simply looked at each other and mumbled....yummmmm. Most importantly, the service was just as wonderful. We highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bonsai3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Thai food !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

This is THE BEST Thai restaurant in Fresno!! Chicken satay, any of the curries, delish :) Also the nicest people.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SoccermomRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gem of Thailand also viewed

 

Been to Gem of Thailand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing