We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Shinzen Japanese Gardens”

Shinzen Japanese Garden
Ranked #4 of 46 things to do in Fresno
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Shinzen Friendship Garden is a traditional northwestern American Japanese Garden. The Garden was constructed to honor Fresno’s Sister City, Kochi, Japan, celebrating the spirit of understanding and promoting educational and cultural awareness. The beauty, grace and serenity of Japanese design is present in the use of varied plant material, rocks and stones, and water throughout the five acre garden. The garden is designed around the four seasons of Spring, Summer, Fall and Winter; granite markers identify each section. In the Fall of 2015 we were proud to be chosen to house and display the world-class Clark Bonsai Collection, which is now on permanent display in the garden, offering a seasonal rotation of some of the finest Bonsai in the United States.
Fresno
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Shinzen Japanese Gardens”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The adjectives that come to mind for these gardens is peace, tranquility and serenity. The gardens are on a hillside overlooking the lake. The walkways are clean, wide and interspersed with shaded seating. There are many ponds filled with fish; there are waterfalls; and there is lush foliage.
Bring a book, relax, and enjoy some tea!
You might just luck out and see a peacock family cross your path.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank travelingranmaFresno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    25
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a beautiful place to visit. Spring is the best time when the azaleas and Camilla's are in bloom. Take the time to walk through all the gardens then just sit for a while. Don't forget your camera. Mid Fall would be a good time for color change. Watch for special events.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jema_T_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Garden”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I am also a member of the Japanese Garden. It is a nice stroll through the garden and over the 1/2 moon shaped bridge. Benches to rest, a restroom. A fee to get into Woodward Park and another small fee to get in the garden. Only 50 cents for seniors.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Leona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice, but small garden”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This garden is nice, but very small. Compared to other botanical gardens, we found this to be on the small side. So small, you wonder why they charge a fee to park and an entrance fee. At the time we went, parking was $5 and $3/person. Some of the waterfalls are pretty, but none are natural and the pump station noise gives that away pretty clearly. The other parts of the park are just as nice as this area, so its worthwhile to venture outside the small garden to spend some more time to get your money worth. The garden, even at a slow strolling pace, won't take more than 15-20 minutes to walk through.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank zeroorone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
593 reviews
202 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 415 helpful votes
“Pretty”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I couldn't hold it any longer so I took a shizen the Japanese Garden. I did not get into trouble so I stayed for a while. There are some very pretty features. The Koi pond is nice. So is the rest of the park area. There wasn't much in bloom in January - bad timing on my part.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank kuwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shinzen Japanese Garden also viewed

 

Been to Shinzen Japanese Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing