We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Literally the worst hotel i have EVER stayed in!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parkway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Parkway Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Fresno B&B and Inns
Himley, South Staffordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Literally the worst hotel i have EVER stayed in!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Well, even from the outside this hotel looked the pits!!! When we arrived there were blokes hanging around the car park playing really loud music and looking like they were upto no good.
We felt that unsafe in this place that we actually put a chair up against the front door (I have never ever done this before).
It really put a downer on one of our last nights in america im just glad we were there for less than 12 hrs, not sure my car would have had tyres if we had stayed much past 6am.
If you have a choice DO NOT STAY HERE!! keep driving or youll regret it..
Not only that I think the cleanliness of the room is questionable, I didnt dare look too closely to be honest.
I cant actually put into words how horrible thsi place is!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    6
    8
    20
See reviews for
7
17
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here one night on our way to Los Angeles from Sacramento. We were scared to book the room based on the reviews but we took the chance given the very affordable price. It's not the fanciest motels but for $40 what do you expect? We got a room with two queen beds. It was very basic but clean and large. We arrived around 7pm and left around 9am. So we didn't see anything that was suspicious. The area is ok. There is a zoo right across from the motel. We didn't visit but maybe next time. Overall it was a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbum101_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Dirty dirty, dirty! Taxis delivered hookers. Got there late so forced to stay. Very bad neighborhood! Run, don't walk, somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamahawk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmo, BC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

Check-in was fine ... but that was where "fine" ended.

It had been a hot drive but there was not one cube of ice in the communal ice-maker. We were told that "Someone has taken all the ice." The same "someone" who emptied the ice-maker so that it was empty again at 6:30am., I'm sure! A working machine might solve the problem.

Our in-room coffee maker was inoperable. The breakfast room had eight tables and 18 chairs ... but room for only about six people, at a maximum. The food on offer for the "Continental Breakfast" was paltry in the extreme. We interrupted our onward journey, as soon as possible, to find something actually worth eating!

Driving to the Rodeway Inn we passed at least five other motels which appeared to be on a par with the one we booked. ALL were advertising prices lower than that to which we were already committed. This was especially galling. We feel that the on-line booking servive let us down on this one.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

We stayed here one night on our way to Yosemite. The room was OK, but the toilet was not cleaned. The locality appeared to be not very safe and we saw people walking around in the parking lot at night who appeared to be involved in immoral activities. We found that the glass window in our room was not locked and it could be opened from outside easily. As for the free breakfast, although we didn't expect much, there was nothing available.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SP_travel35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
196 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

First of all, don’t let the scary images of the neighborhood on Google Maps scare you—those pictures are dated. The area is undergoing urban renewal, with lower-end motel chains taking the place of by-the-hour sleazy dumps. Neighbors to the Rodeway include Motel 6, Super 8, and Days Inn.
The best way to describe this property is “very, very ordinary,” which is obviously not stellar, but not bad either. In fact, our experience was far from bad. The room was clean, and staffers were very friendly and helpful. Room décor was borderline tacky, but not gaudy, with art deco headboards, 1980’s looking TVcabinet/dresser, and nondescript artwork. Strangely the coffeemaker had no supply of coffee, and part of the cabinet (where one would expect to find a mini-bar) was locked shut. A small dorm fridge was located in the roomy clothes closet. The bathroom was bright and clean, with glass-doored stand-up shower only (no bathtub).
We stayed on a Wednesday night, and experienced none of the previously reported homeless, prostitution, or party noise. (Whether there are differences on the weekend I couldn’t say.) We kept the ever-present Highway 99 freeway sounds muffled by keeping the heater on; the same could be done by using the air conditioner or just the fan (all these in the same under-window unit operated by a wall thermostat).
Apparently the property used to have a pool and restaurant, as indicated by the older of the two tall, visible-from-the-freeway signs. Evidence indicates that the restoration of the restaurant may be in the works, but there are no signs of the pool—I think it was filled in and paved over at some point.
The free breakfast was basic, but good, including cold cereal (corn flakes), mini-muffins, coffee, and orange and apple juices—just enough to get us started on our journey.
We were looking for a cheap “crash pad” about half way between San Fran and Los Angeles, and that’s what we found at the Rodeway Inn.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B_Pope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

Unless you are looking to pick up hookers for a night, avoid this motel at all costs. It is in a run down area with hordes of hookers on the prowl. Rooms are not very clean or pleasant and no decent restaurants in the immediate vicinity. Definitely not suitable for people with children. Also worst breakfast in a Choice Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fresno hotels
2.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge North Parkway Drive
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Inn And Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Fresno Convention Center
3.7 mi away
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
#7 of 64 in Fresno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Village Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkway Inn

Property: Parkway Inn
Address: 959 N Parkway Dr, Fresno, CA 93728-2724 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Fresno)
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Parkway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Parkway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing