We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Emotions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Let's start with the good. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were clean and the free internet and breakfast are a plus.

What kills this hotel is its hard beds and location. The mattress was very firm and uncomfortable. The hotel is not located in the nicest of areas (putting it nicely) and is on top of highway 99 making it very noisy. These two mean a poor nights sleep.

I want to stress that rating is not low because of any fault of the staff, but I was unable to sleep when staying here and therefore cannot give it a higher rating.

New mattresses and a lot of sound-proofing would jump this hotel up quite a bit!

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the highway as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baseball4evr10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Baseball4evr101,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the beds prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We were truly pleased to see your positive comments for the staff as well as the high scores for Cleanliness, Rooms, and Service. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 98 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

I consider myself fairly tech-savvy for a geezer, but I was flummoxed by the remote control for the HVAC! Despite some cryptic instructions (it might be good to have a Rosetta Stone decrypter), the only thing I was able to do was turn off the AC. Fortunately, it was cool enough outside that we didn't need any air. But controlling the comfort of the room should not be that complicated!
Other than that, the room was nice enough. It was clean and well-maintained. It's convenient to the freeway (CA 99) and there are several fast food joints, including In-n-Out right next door, within walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bassn386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear bassn386,

Thank you for letting us know how your stay was with us. I appreciate the favorable comments about the room accommodations and great hotel location. However, please accept my apologies for the challenges you experienced with the air conditioning unit and heating system. We appreciate your feedback and allowing us the opportunity to address this issue with our the appropriate department for necessary improvements.

Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention. I hope if you get back to the area, you will consider staying at our hotel again.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We visited Sequoia/King's Canyon National Park and needed a place for the night.
We were 5 guys with lots of luggage. This hotel had everything we needed.
Not too far away from King's Canyon and a huge two queen bed suite with a pullout couch at a very reasonable rate.
The staff was very friendly at check-in (check-in was pretty quick). Our suite was huge with lots of space for us and our stuff. It was equipped with two flat screen tvs, fridge and microwave. Everything was clean. The a/c was not too loud, but this unit was not able to cool down the whole suite - they should add a second unit to this suite.
The wifi was very fast and reliable. Breakfast was ok (standard HI express).
There are a couple fast food joints in walking distance (you can't go wrong with In-and-Out Burger if you want tasty fast food).
Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here last week for a family reunion. I did not expect much however upon checking in and seeing the property I was very surprised how nice it was. The rooms were very nice and modern with granite bathrooms with amenities my wife liked. When traveling to Fresno we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Hotel was in a bad area with panhandlers all around. The bed was horrible. Felt like a hill in the middle and uncomfortable. Called for a replacement alarm clock on Monday night and Friday morning check out I still hadnt gotten one even though I asked every day. Saw morning shift desk clerk giving what appeared to be her boyfriend free food and coffee every morning. Just a bad stay and I will make sure my company never stays there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gr8whtshrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardeep M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you choosing our location for your stay in Fresno. We also thank you for your time to provide feedback and review of your stay. We are extremely sorry to hear about your experience. We do take service and professionalism of our staff very seriously here at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. We will definitely use your feedback to further improve our service. We hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for several days for business in August. The hotel was very nice, friendly and accomodating staff, nice rooms with a microwave and mini-fridge, and a nice pool away from the freeway. Unfortunately, there were no restaurants within walking distance unless you want fast food (KFC, In-n-Out, McDonald's) and the traffic during the lunch rush was absurd. It took almost 20 minutes to get from the hotel to the freeway which is less than 1/4 mile away. Most restaurants to drive to are more than 10 minutes by car and if you take city streets you have to drive through a very poor area of town where hundreds of homless are located. I felt unsafe if I left the immediate hotel area. Luckily the hotel is located right off of the freeway which is convienant if you are just traveling through and the breakfast is more than adequate. The meeting space is also very small and when the air conditioner in the meeting room is on, it is very loud and difficult to communicate.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side away from the freeway are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KBJ278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear FrankKiv,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service and facilities of the hotel. However, it seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience with regard to our location. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. The feedback we receive from you enables us to target problem areas. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

After getting lost in the Sequoia National Park and no hotel room available within 20 mile radius it was a sigh of relief that this place had a room available. Friendly front desk staff checked us in at midnight room on 4th floor with clean double beds. Can hear traffic noise in the morning since it's near the highway. It's average standards but I have no complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canyanyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear canyanyday,

We want to thank you for choosing our hotel and for leaving a feedback.

It was real pleasure to learn that your stay with us was such a pleasant one. Your opinion, as every single guest, is very important to us and serves us as an advise, reward and motivation for the future. We would like to express our sincerest gratitude for your comments which allow us to confirm that our efforts for the well-being of our guests have been met.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write to us. It is only with both positive and negative feedback that we can strive to improve our service to our guests and I do hope that you give us again the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fresno hotels
12.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno Northwest-Herndon
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno (River Park) Hwy 41
9.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Fresno RiverPark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Fresno Conference Center
7.5 mi away
Courtyard Fresno
Courtyard Fresno
#19 of 64 in Fresno
164 reviews
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Fresno Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South

Address: 2660 S 2nd St, Fresno, CA 93706-5448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range: $111 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Fresno-Jensen Ave.The hotel is conveniently located off HWY-99 just minutes away from Fresno Airport, the Fresno City Center, and the Convention Center. We are in the heart of the central valley close to Selma, Sanger, Hanford, and Tulare. Imagine having all the space and tools you need for business: high-speed Internet, a specialized work area in your room and a complimentary business center. And you re just minutes away from world class shopping, dining, entertainment and all the adventures that Fresno has to offer. No matter what brings you to the Fresno area, your room at our hotel is your personal retreat. We offer comfort with luxury bedding, plush towels, modern decor and 32 flat screen HDTV with plenty of premium cable, sports and movie channels. Stay fit at our complimentary fitness center or enjoy the California sun at our outdoor pool.Enjoy our hot, complimentary breakfast with possibly world s most delicious cinnamon rolls! Businesses and organizations near the hotel include California State University, Pepsi, Foster Farms, and Pelco. Nearby attractions include Fresno Sports Complex, Save Mart Center, Tachi Palace Casino and Kings Canyon National Park and many more!! Our friendly staff welcomes you to experience the new fresh look and feel of our Holiday Inn Express & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Fresno South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing