We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't Go Extra Mile”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fremont Marriott Silicon Valley
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Fremont
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Won't Go Extra Mile”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Senior Marriott Rewards members made two night weekend reservation for pleasure trip to Bay Area. Unfortunately, our flight to Oakland Airport (and reserved rental car) was delayed hours due to mechanical trouble, but airline offered a last minute flight into nearby San Jose Airport. Before accepting San Jose flight, I phoned hotel front desk to inquire about a special request for airport to hotel pick up assistance from hotel shuttle. Female Asst. Front Desk Mgr. was totally uninterested, uncaring and unhelpful. She made it clear that the hotel shuttle would not go the extra few miles to assist and outright said that we should "take a cab". When I mentioned that we may just end up cancelling our entire hotel reservation and trip, she let me know that would be perfectly fine. And, sorry to say, that is exactly what we ended up doing. Too much hassle!!!

Those employees who work for a major player in the "hospitality industry" should at least be trained in demonstrating a hospitable attitude. Hotel should not claim it is a "Full Service" property when it is not prepared to accommodate a few extra miles in an emergency or unexpected travel mishap. A little more consideration and concern for guest convenience and well being would have been appreciated and would have gone a long way to smooth the unpredictable situation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando C, General Manager at Fremont Marriott Silicon Valley, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Please accept my sincere apologies for being unable to accommodate your need for an airport shuttle, especially after such a long journey. We can assure you that we have shared your candid feedback with our Front Office team, and emphasized the need to be creative offering solutions for our guests. I hope that you will have the opportunity to experience our hotel during your next visit to Silicon Valley as I would love to personally ensure you have a memorable stay. Please let me know the best way to reach you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    170
    38
    15
    15
See reviews for
71
51
28
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed one weekend night recently and the room was clean and all pretty standard Marriott quality. There was a wedding reception being hosted, so the lobby was a little loud, but floors were quiet enough, so no complaints there. The bar is really nice, and the bartenders were great.

Things go sideways with the front desk clerk. Who was pretty clueless and gave me misinformation about some hotel amenities, which caused an inconvenience to me. This by itself is no big deal, but I dropped an email to Marriott corporate just letting them know that this person should probably have information updated for her. Not expecting much else, I probably would have given the hotel 4/5 at this point.
At this point however, Marriott Corporate forwards my email to the hotel, and I get an apology from a staff member at the Fremont Marriott. Very nice service. However, as part of this reply from the hotel, he offers a token of appreciation in the form of some Marriott Rewards points. I email him back, thanking him for the generosity. Then hear nothing, and no points in my Rewards account. A few weeks go by, and I sent a follow up email letting him know that I never received any points. Still no reply, and no points. Now I'm frustrated.

Basically, quality of the hotel is fine, and I appreciate that someone reached out to me about my issue, but why would you promise a tangible gift, then never follow-up on it? It leaves a sour taste in the customer's mouth. This hotel would have scored higher if they had ignored me, but instead botched up an apology and made things worse.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBearDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando C, General Manager at Fremont Marriott Silicon Valley, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, I am sorry to hear of your experience at the Marriott Fremont Silicon Valley and disappointed that your were not granted what was promised.

Since I am not sure which manager you spoke with regarding your issue if I can ask that you reach out to our Director of Sales/Marketing at 510-413-3774 so we may resolve your situation correctly.

Sincerely,
Orlando Carrasquillo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

About what you'd expect from an American FS Marriott. I'm spoiled by asian FS Marriotts, so this doesn't really impress me. I'm a plat, so they treat me pretty well. Lounge upstairs exists, but is super small, and snack selection is weak. Rooms are almost precisely what you get at a Courtyard.

Like Jon Stewart says: It was .... fine.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenblakely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were here to celebrate our anniversary. Every hotel staff member greeted us wherever we were in the hotel. Every member seemed to go out of their way to give you a special feeling. My wife and I always have and will be loyal to the Marriott Brand. The Fremont Marriott Silicon Valley is a perfect example of a brand deserving our loyalty. We had a suite with an extremely comfortable bed. I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NashMan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando C, General Manager at Fremont Marriott Silicon Valley, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for the great comments about our staff and hotel. We truly value customers that notice our sprirt to host our guest brilliantly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, MS
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

This place was booked solid but we got lucky and were able to get in last minute due to cancellations. The hotel is nice, has $10 valet, and a usual concierge lounge. The restaurant at the hotel looked nice, though I didn't eat there. Beds are comfy as usual for a full service Marriott.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank julesthetraveler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando C, General Manager at Fremont Marriott Silicon Valley, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for the great comments and happy you had a wonderful stay. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We used the Fremont Marriott for our wedding hotel block. We reserved 10 rooms without a deposit and received a great weekend rate for our guests. Their coordinator was easy to get a hold of through email and worked with us to also reserve the shuttle to bring our guests to and from the reception site. There was a little snafu upon check-in where our rooms were not ready by the guaranteed check-in time, and they offered us breakfast vouchers and champagne/strawberries. Our guests commented on how clean and well maintained the rooms were. Great experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LABruin01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

A lovely clean spacious hotel ideally located for business in Fremont - all the staff were very attentive morning, noon and night making for a great week. Breakfast was pletyful and varied, a nice small gym and pool if you fancy a quick work out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LangstaffSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fremont
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Fremont/Silicon Valley
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Court Inn
0.3 mi away
Good Nite Inn Fremont
Good Nite Inn Fremont
#5 of 19 in Fremont
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Fremont Silicon Valley
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fremont / Silicon Valley
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fremont Marriott Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fremont Marriott Silicon Valley

Property: Fremont Marriott Silicon Valley
Address: 46100 Landing Pkwy, Fremont, CA 94538-6437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fremont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Fremont
#2 Green Hotel in Fremont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fremont Marriott Silicon Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fremont Marriott Silicon Valley, the Only Full-Service Hotel in Fremont. Located at the southern tip of the San Francisco Bay just north of San Jose. Only 25 minutes from Palo Alto, 45 minutes from downtown San Francisco, 10 miles from Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (SJC), 23 miles from Oakland International Airport(OAK), and 34 miles from San Francisco International Airport (SFO). Discover modern, sophisticated accommodations and an unmatched level of personal attention in Silicon Valley. As the only full-service hotel in Fremont, California, this conveniently located destination is the premier choice for relaxing business trips and vacations, where your every need is anticipated with boutique-style flair. Moments from the high-tech epicenter of San Jose/Silicon Valley and enchanting Livermore Valley vineyards and wineries, this classic, contemporary hotel features first-class conference facilities, a stylish restaurant and superb leisure amenities – all at the remarkable value for which Marriott is known for worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Fremont Marriott Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Fremont Silicon Valley Hotel Fremont
Fremont Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing