We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious older motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Garden Court Inn
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Fremont
Certificate of Excellence
Volcano, California
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Gracious older motel”
Reviewed June 6, 2006

This is a gracious older property. The rooms are nicely furnished, and idea for the business traveler (good sized desk, wireless). Each room has a balcony, looking out over mature trees and gardens. The continental breakfast was above average.

There are three or four restaurants within walking distance, including the outstanding Market Broiler seafood house.

I wish I'd found this place earlier - we were very comfortable here.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwwaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    120
    49
    15
    13
See reviews for
173
72
34
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san jose, ca
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2006

We checked into this hotel on a Sunday afternoon. Granted that it may have been a lazy Sunday afternoon, the lady who checked us in took that literally!! She took forever (and I mean, FOREVER) to find out names in the computer and type in the necessary information. While helping us with our check-in, she chatted with 2 fellow employees about calling AAA to get the keys out of his car. It was unbelievable b/c the entire process took a good half an hour.

By the time we got to our room, the room was old. Everything seems outdated (carpet, sheets, towels). This place is ok if you're only planning on staying for 1 night but please consider somewhere else if you're going to stay for a few days.

Hope this helps!

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
Thank ltrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2005

I checked into this hotel after checking out of another hotel in the area that was terrible. This hotel surprised me. It had interior corridors (unusual for a Best Western), a fountain out front, large rooms, balconies, and a great continental breakfast. The downside of the Garden Court Inn was that the heated pool was FREEZING and the guy who keeps the breakfast up and running is a bit intimidating. He seems as if the guest is always in his way. The TV in our room had a buzzing speaker but the desk clerk offered to give us a different room when we asked if they could change out the TV for us. The rooms were clean and quiet. One night, bed linens stayed in the hallway in front of 2 rooms for the entire afternoon and night, though it was Christmas day so I'm assuming the housekeepers took off early, I thought this should have been taken care of. Overall, I was really impressed with this hotel and I will definately stay here again when I return.

Helpful?
3 Thank sherriebabba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 7, 2005

The hotel itself is a fine budget choice. Unfortunately, it is also the favorite location for the local police entrapment squad. Unless staying at a place where armed police and camera crews are storming the halls is your idea of fun, stay elsewhere.

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2005

As a business traveler who stays in hotels for a living, I have enjoyed my stay here at the Garden Court Inn. The rooms are big, the pool is great although can get a little noisy on the weekends, and the garden setting is very relaxing. Great location as you are situated within walking distance to shops, restaurants and the movie theatre and mall. Best value I have found in this area. Continental breakfast needs some protien.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamadaSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2005

We ( a couple of single moms & kids) stayed here for the famous Fremont Festival of the Arts.. three nights, in August. The actual hotel is ok.. The pool was great. I have to agree with the other reviews it is the staff that ---- here!!! Saturday night at 10:00pm we had a worker of the hotel - still not sure who - open our hotel door without knocking or announcing himself. It was quite scary for us and the kids!!! When we called to the front desk to complain we got told "we should always have the security lock on our door"! No apology or anything... I even said something to the MANAGER at time of check out.. He did although apologize, but that was it!! He acted like it was acceptable for his staff to enter in a occupied hotel room at NIGHT w/ out notice!! So if they change the staff and management I would suggest this hotel to everyone...but until then... BEWARE!!!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicntot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins CO
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2005

My biggest pet peeve is bad customer service and that is definitely what we had here, otherwise it's a pretty good deal for the money.

When checking in, the front desk person talked to a friend on her cell phone and acted as if we were a major inconvenience. This wasn't a teenager but someone who appeared to be in her 50's. She spoke to us very roughly then would continue on her phone call. We had stayed previously and the rooms near the busy street are much louder than the rooms on the other side, and asked for a room facing pool side so we could sleep. She didn't even answer us because she was too busy on her call. We did get that side of the hotel thank goodness, because if you get the other side be prepared for loud street noise.

The hotel itself is clean and comfortable and the free breakfast is the average, just arrive early as they tend to run out early.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irishlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fremont
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Fremont/Silicon Valley
3.9 mi away
Good Nite Inn Fremont
Good Nite Inn Fremont
#5 of 19 in Fremont
470 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fremont Milpitas Central
4.2 mi away
Fremont Marriott Silicon Valley
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fremont / Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Garden Court Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Garden Court Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Garden Court Inn
Address: 5400 Mowry Ave, Fremont, CA 94538-1049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fremont
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fremont
#5 Business Hotel in Fremont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Garden Court Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fremont, California is in the heart of many bay area attractions. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, take time out of your busy schedule to just relax. Fremont's BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn sits amidst three acres of beautifully landscaped gardens for your enjoyment.The BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden Court Inn offers a beautiful, comfortable stay at an affordable price. Our hotel has 125 Spacious guest rooms, including Non-Smoking rooms. Each of our hotel rooms is furnished with a Refrigerator and Microwave, Oversized workstations with Ergonomic leather chairs, Complimentary in-room coffee, and Complimentary High Speed Internet Access, Cable TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN for your convinience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Best Western, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Garden Court Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Garden Court Hotel Fremont
Best Western Fremont
Fremont Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing