We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Chinese Food and Service”
Review of China Chili Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
China Chili Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
california
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese Food and Service”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is one of our favorites Chinese restaurants. The quality and quantity of food is excellent. You get real tablecloths and napkins even for lunch. Everything is delicious. Watch the menu is you don't like hotly spiced food. You can ask for it to be not hot and they gladly accommodate your request. There is soothing music in the background from the player piano. This is a great place for just the two of you or a large group. They do a great take out business as well.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SFbythebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    9
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mazatlan, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good variety of Asian dishes, easy takeout menu…reliable service.”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Love the website--easy to order. We had takeout this visit, but the service is good for the dining room & the white player piano is just kind of nice . As a vegetarian, I liked the spicy Eggplant dish over rice. Our group liked the Lemon chicken (another fav is the Pecan Chicken); the Tea smoked duck was dry, crunchy, past it's prime. We fed 7 people for around $60.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geebetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“China Chili Revisited”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This restaurant has been here for a very long time but has remained consistent. For years, despite good food we have only visited it for special occasions as its prices were much higher than other good Chinese restaurants in the area. As time has past, other competitors have raised their prices, which now makes China Chili a restaurant to consider for everyday meals. China Chili quality is generally very good and one of the better Chinese restaurants in the Fremont neighborhood. Service is good and it provides a good atmosphere with Oriental urns, and wood carvings. They even have a player piano for 'live' music which unlike many other restaurants, is kept at a background level so patrons do not have to yell over the music. However the acoustics are not great so large parties do create loud undamped noise. They make an excellent shrimp toast, wonton soup, wontons in a spicy peanut sauce, and a chili shrimp dish. Their moo shu dishes are rolled at the table and also very good. Our bill for 2, including soup, an appetizer, rice, and 3 dishes came to $58 including tax and tip.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GymAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
193 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Unexpected joy to be found”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

had several recommendation and when we drove to area we felt certain we were in the wrong place and it was broken down area and trash on street and no sign to announce the place! We drove around because the GPS said we were at the right address and did find the place after a few minutes.

Pleaseant place to walk into, attentive staff and a great menu and exceptional flavors and choices. A little pricey, but worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnM602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calif
Level Contributor
247 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Generally good food”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We've eaten at China Chili many times over the past 20 years. The only time I've ordered something bad was when I ordered the pu pu platter. It was shockingly bad - worse than the food kiosk at the mall.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigpenny34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Chili Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing