We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor food quality” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outback Steakhouse

Outback Steakhouse
Ranked #126 of 480 Restaurants in Fremont
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor food quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We were in town to see friends and they selected this place in Fremont. I seldom go to our local Outback (Sparks, Nv) because of the overpriced/low value experience. This place however had even worse quality food. Steak too tough and poor quality. Service was ok but rushed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nogimmees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    4
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hayward, california
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Boy has this place changed. And not for the better either.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This use to be my favorite restaurant but either management has changed or workers don't care anymore. Walked in on a Wednesday night saw that tons of tables were empty but we were told to go to the bar and sit at one of the raised drink tables. I said no we really would like a table the hostess seemed annoyed with that simple request. We had to wait ten minutes and when a couple guys walked in they did call ahead they were told the same thing they actually walked out.

So we finally get seated in the best seat in the house at the rear right in front of the bathrooms. The waitress was really nice and professional the only reason I am not giving this place a one star. Every single time someone opened the restroom door it stunk like hell. That was the biggest turn off for me other people around were making comments on the smelly restrooms to.

I ordered the new chicken strips meal. Yeah. It was like large popcorn chicken with some awful creole sauce that I couldn't eat. And Chicken strips and Pop corn chicken are two different things. I made it through with the side of ranch the waitress brought over. But all night was sick with heartburn from that stuff.

The place needs a shake down. Clean it up. I might go back in a few months to see if anything has been done but geeeez horrible experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank willy550us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamitos, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My son and I dined in the mid-afternoon, so that there were no crowds. We were seated immediately upon entering, even having our choice of locations. We ordered the steak flights that we had seen advertised on television the night before. It take a manager's approval to match the price that was advertised on television: it didn't match what was printed in the menu!

The food was tasty, although a little skimpy for what it cost. We ended up eating two loaves of bread beforehand, so that by the time we were done, we were quite full.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Steak - I need a Steak!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I don't get a carving for steak very often but when I do, Outback is the only place I'll go. This last time I was a little disappointed that my favorite steak "Outback Special" is no longer 9.99, but happy to see that I have now 3 sizes to chose from! The 9 oz always works for me!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good service but very dark :/”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

The food was really great but the restaurant was pretty gloomy and when a restaurant is like that it doesn't seem as enjoyable and an experience that you would love

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mattsgane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing