We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very good as advertised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fountain Valley
Novato, CA
1 review
“Very good as advertised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Everything we read about this hotel was right on. Though it was our wedding anniversary weekend and we had to bring along the kids at the last minute and the hotel could not accommodate our request to upgrade to two bedroom suite, everything went smooth. Location is convenient to beaches, which we enjoyed, and grounds were clean and not crowded. The only glitch we encountered was at check-in where we were given a room whose door did not lock properly. We soonafter mentioned it to a person at the front desk, who seemed to know which room we were talking about, which made us wonder why the door hadn't been fixed and we were still given a room with an unsafe door. That said, we requested and were politely granted another room by the friendly, albeit young, front desk staff though the new room was located right above the lobby. We checked out a day early. Bottom line: For the price, room size, location, free hot breakfast and accommodations, it's a great place to stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheerfulTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    54
    21
    5
    12
See reviews for
80
20
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
475 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 461 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were forced out of our digs in Huntington Beach by a flood (broken water line) from an adjacent Condo and so stayed here for two weeks while clean was underway. Breakfast foods were basic and adequate but we enjoyed the people watching more than anything. From careful eaters to basic slobs stuffing their faces. Quite interesting and often amusing. Made me glad that my Mom taught me basic etiquette! TV had basic channels and we could watch KCAL-TV which has been blocked by TimeWarner Cable for the past month due to issues with programming fees. Bed quality was average, A/C kept us cool and kitchen was useful. Maid service was excellent. We didn't try dinner as we ate our dinner meals at nearby restaurants. Parking was plentiful and we could usually find a spot directly in front of the office. Our room was above the office area and usually all was quiet. Front desk staff were very polite, conversant and VERY HELPFUL!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank photoguy66degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I have stayed at several Residence Inns. This was the smallest room size I've seen in a suite hotel. The sofa bed had nothing supporting the mattress when the bed was opened. The mattress itself was stained and filthy. The room had no bedding for the sofa bed. Two calls to the desk, late at night, finally resulted in bedding but no pillow. A third call for a pillow was answered but no pillow was ever delivered.

The bathroom had bugs. The room had inadequate storage--no place to put suitcases etc.

One night was enough for us and we checked out in the morning. The hotel is very near a major freeway, has minimal parking and is not that close to Huntington Beach. This is a place where I won't be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank desertdad67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtA622, General Manager at Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear desertdad67,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of our hotel, I'm sorry that you found our hotel location and guest room sofa bed condition disappointing.

We value your feedback and will use it to better our services and product. Every year, we invest lots of money to improve our hotel, and it is comments like yours that help us to identify where we need to spend.

Thank you again for your feedback, and I'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We spent one night at this Residence Inn, traveling with two toddlers. The staff was wonderful; friendly and prompt. We stayed in a one bedroom unit, which has a sleeper sofa in the living room. This was perfect for us. Everything was great except for one thing.......the beds, both the king size and the sofa sleeper, are in need of replacement. We found the mattresses to be uncomfortable and the pillows small and flat. If new bedding finds its way to this hotel, we will certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the back side of the hotel, right at the 405 freeway. The room must be insulated ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank restls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtA622, General Manager at Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear restls,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel. We appreciate your comments and we will certainly use them to improve as our goal is to provide an extraordinary stay for our guests. We hope to see you again!


Regards,

Art Aquino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, MN
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have stayed at many Residence Inns, and they all have either a separate building that does not allow pets OR rooms set aside that are "pet free" - which we have always requested since I have pet allergies/asthma. This is the first Residence Inn that has told me that they don't do this. They said that the best they could do was put me in a room that hasn't had a pet in it for a while. I decided to keep the reservation anyway and risk it. Luckily when the time came, I did NOT have any real allergy problems with the room.
The 2 bedroom was great, nice hotel. Good location. Free breakfast. We had a nice stay.
But I do wish that they would consider doing what the other Residence Inns have done for their customers with allergies.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtA622, General Manager at Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Stephanie011,

Thank you for taking the time to write a favorable review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your comments and we will certainly use them to improve as our goal is to provide an extraordinary stay for our guests. We hope to see you again!

Regards,

Art Aquino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

It is one of the few in the area that offers two bedrooms. The bedrooms are big enough, each with a TV. Beds are relatively comfortable. The kitchen offers bare essentials, but enough so you can cook a meal. They do offer hot breakfast and a lite dinner most days. The meal quality is average, but it's handy. The "living room" is quite small, but has a TV and a work station for your computer. WiFi is complimentary and works well.
Staff is friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Prefer second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harding3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtA622, General Manager at Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear harding3,

Thank you for talking the time to write a favorable review about your recent stay with us. It is comments like yours that drive and remind us to keep doing what we're best at, and look for the opportunities to improve on.

I value and appreciate your time and feedback!

Regards,

Art Aquino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We just returned from a weekend getaway to a couple of beaches and stayed at this residence inn 2 nights. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. It's not to far from Huntington Beach and Seal Beach. Compared to other residence inn hotels, this is now one of my favorites. Why? Let me tell you: we stayed in a studio unit (king size bed and sofa bed) and it was very roomy, bathtub/toilet room wasn't tiny (can easily move around in there to change), long counter space by the sink bathroom (very helpful when you have toothbrushes, combs, makeup, hair clips, etc...). Our unit was clean and the bed comfortable. Kitchen was perfect to hold our snacks and prepare lunch. We're definitely going to stay here again.

TIP: there are no elevators to the second floor. If this is an inconvenience for you, request a first floor room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtA622, General Manager at Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Julie R,

I am happy that you found our hotel to be the perfect place to stay for your weekend getaway. Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback and the experience that you had at our hotel.

I am familiar as to how hot it can get in Bakersfield during the summer, so my team and I look forward to seeing you again soon and providing the Marriott Spirit to Serve!

Regards,

Art Aquino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fountain Valley
0.1 mi away
Ayres Hotel Fountain Valley/Huntington Beach
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Huntington Beach Fountain Valley
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
#10 of 20 in Huntington Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 20 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,741 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Surf City
BEST WESTERN Surf City
#7 of 20 in Huntington Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
1.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Fountain Valley/Huntington Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley

Property: Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley
Address: 9930 Slater Ave, Fountain Valley, CA 92708-3500
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Fountain Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fountain Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn® Huntington Beach Fountain Valley Hotel is located near South Coast Plaza, Disneyland and the OC Coastline, providing just what you need to maintain your normal pace when planning an extended stay in Fountain Valley. You’ll enjoy a newly-renovated lobby designed with a variety of comfortable spaces, perfect for work or relaxation, complimentary Wi-Fi throughout and The Market, which is open 24 hours a day. Our spacious Huntington Beach suites each feature a sectional sofa and ergonomic desk, while a contemporary color scheme complements each suite’s separate spaces for eating, sleeping and working. Take advantage of your fully-equipped kitchen when you so choose, but don't miss our free hot breakfast in the morning, featuring various fresh, healthy selections. Finish your day at our evening Residence Inn Mix™. At our Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley Hotel, we give you everything you need to maintain your balance and thrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Huntington Beach Fountain Valley Hotel Fountain Valley
Residence Inn Fountain Valley
Fountain Valley Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing