We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegan???”

AU Lac Gourmet Vegetarian
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: Here at Au Lac the compassion manifests itself in the attention to detail that goes into every dish we want to cultivate an atmosphere where people come together to create a center of gravity pulsating with love, harmony, and health. We opened our doors in 1996 and introduced our Vegan RAW cuisine in 2001. The concept of the restaurant is we honor the arrival of every guest, treat each as our friend to honor the humanese concept, and anyone representing Au Lac is eager to present the two kitchens and have a chance to serve a delicious meal. It's a unique meal in that there are only plant-based, unprocessed and organic ingredients. Vegan-Living is our style of dining but also a lifestyle you can feel.
garden grove
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vegan???”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Never had vegan before. Always, been a meat eater and alway sneared at the tought of vegan food. TO MY SUPRISE, one of the best dinners ever. I cannot believe how good this place was. I never thought I would enjoy a dinner without meat. But, easily one of the best dining experience I ever had.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mac v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    8
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“bEst Raw-Vegan Restaurant!!!!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is the best gourmet vegan/raw food in Orange County and possibly the world! I love the creative dishes that don't miss out on flavor or texture. It not only taste excellent but it makes you feel good inside as well. Chef Ito creates dishes that will stay in your memory forever and keep you coming back for more!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marta l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OC, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A wonderful hidden gem”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I happened across AU Lac by searching for vegetarian restaraunts in the Huntington Beach area for a lunch date. It's hidden in a small strip mall center in Fountain Valley across from Mile Square Park. We were pleasantly suprised by everything about this restaraunt. Once inside the decor is soothing, elegant and contemporary. The menu, in my opinion, would appeal to non vegetarians as well. The presentation of each dish is art and the tastes and textures are wonderful. I had the yellow curry chicken and my wife had the green pyramid. We both enjoyed our entree's very much as we did the appetizer of spring rolls with peanut sauce. She also raved about her dessert of Rainbow in the Sky which came in a star shaped design.
We will be back to sample other new and interesting dishes on the menu at this hidden gem.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hans911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Woods, CA
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Creative vegetarian that a meat eater would love!”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We've been to this restaurant 3 times in the last six months. First, it is in a little shopping center; yet, once you walk in the door you are transformed into another world. This is a world of peace and gentle breathing. It is an experience if you wish to absorb it all. This is a true vegetarian restaurant with many faux meat/foul/fish options -- all are artistically presented and with creative sauces and combinations. The veggie spring rolls and the grilled 'fish' are exceptional -- did I forget to mention the amazing soups? We actually took one of our 'steak and potato' friends recently who has returned -- that good!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baltimore48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Thank you for providing a safe haven in the middle of LA to enjoy an amazing meal, service and ambience !! Well done !!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CharlieWonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AU Lac Gourmet Vegetarian also viewed

Garden Grove, Orange County
Garden Grove, Orange County
 
Garden Grove, Orange County
Westminster, Orange County
 
Westminster, Orange County
 

Been to AU Lac Gourmet Vegetarian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing