We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good neighborhood place”
Review of TAI WU Restaurant

TAI WU Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 61 Restaurants in Foster City
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Metuchen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good neighborhood place”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Decent food, large portions and good prices. The wonton noodles were good but not great. Cooking Papa has better food but if you are shopping at Ranch 99 next door, it's still worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent soup”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Had a great evening meal! The soup was terrific. The sweet and sour fish was excellent. Quick service. Would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank gwfritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Cheap, fast, tasty”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This restaurant is round the corner from my mom's place so I come here whenever I'm in town. It is located in a strip mall next to a big Chinese grocery (Ranch 99). I come here because it is close, it has parking, it is not super crowded, it is fast (not the usual 20 minutes - they get their food out in less than 10), the food is fresh (tremendous turnover) and the food overall is quite tasty.

My favorite is the house special won ton noodle soup. It has lots of stuff, seafood, mushrooms, won ton, noodles. Cooked quickly with a very tasty broth. Be warned, this is classic fast chinese (cantonese) food so it has an abundance of MSG.

Ambience is not their forte. Don't come here for that but the place is relatively clean.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dzb3kv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Boring Chinese Cuisine - Needs a Physical Makeover”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Although the prices go up, nothing changes to justify the move. At least clean up the place and make it more appealing to enter. Food is just so-so, and with a large Asian population in the vicinity, it needs to improve flavors to remain competitive. Dishes are often inconsistent from one visit to the next.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SHADDACalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
568 reviews
369 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“The food is "off the hook"”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

When I go for Chinese cuisine I like a place that:

1. is nice and clean
2. has regular patrons many of which are speaking Chinese;
3. has waiters who are glad to see me;
4. has outstanding food; and
5. is inexpensive

If you have similar goals get your butt in this restaurant. The staff is unbelievably friendly, the prices are reasonable and the food is “off the hook.” They have great hot and sour soup, black pepper beef, Chinese broccoli and fried rice. This restaurant has great old-fashioned Chinese food and an extensive menu. They are also real fast. I noticed that many people came for “take-out orders” and many placed their orders before shopping at 99 Ranch Market next store. If you like wonderful people, a great location and superb food I highly recommend it Tai Wu.

You can also get free wi-Fi from the Starbucks next door!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CHOCOOLATE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TAI WU Restaurant also viewed

 
Foster City, CA
 

Been to TAI WU Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing