We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good price/quality ratio”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard San Mateo Foster City
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Foster City
Wageningen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very good price/quality ratio”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel after one week in San Francisco. What a pleasant surprise: very good location (not that it is a beautiful location, but a very convenient one), good room, pretty courtyard and nice and friendly service.The a-la carte breakfast in the lobby was also nice. And the price was as it should be, compared with the hotel in the same cathegory (not like the overpriced hotels in SanFrancisco). Good deal and good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuilhermeVaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakub Y, General Manager at Courtyard San Mateo Foster City, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for providing your feedback regarding your experience. We sincerely value your comments regarding our rooms, staff and our Bistro offerings. I will be sharing them with our teams and staff as it will help us to continually strive towards improving our product and services for our guests. Thank you very much.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    102
    36
    14
    9
See reviews for
63
33
11
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I know that any stay at a Courtyard will be wonderful, and the Foster City Courtyard is no exception! Rooms were super-clean with the usual Courtyard amenities. The staff was friendly and tremendously helpful. Service at the coffee/snack/bar was appreciated. There are places nearby to walk for coffee and meals. But the true highlight was the actual "courtyard" at this Courtyard. It is a large, beautifully landscaped area with inviting seating. At night it is a tranquil escape. We enjoyed our coffee here each morning of our stay and it was a wonderful way to start the day. I could have stayed there for hours!! Highly recommended for business or a leisurely getaway. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyDucky4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakub Y, General Manager at Courtyard San Mateo Foster City, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your generous comments regarding your stay. I will be sharing them with our teams and their staff. We have weekly scheduled landscaping coming into ensure that our courtyard and exterior are well kept. It gives us great pleasure to know that our guests are able to enjoy this as well. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Every time we come to the Peninsula we stay at this Courtyard by Marriott. Love the location, the pool, the on site restaurant, and the rooms are always top notch. We enjoyed our stay this month and look forward to visiting again next year.

Room Tip: We have never had a bad room!
See more room tips
Green Features: Very impressed....it makes a difference to know how seriously they feel about the environment, just like we do.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babbdawgcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakub Y, General Manager at Courtyard San Mateo Foster City, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear babbdawgcouple,
Thank you very much for returning to stay with us. We appreciate your business and generous comments about our property and cleanliness. I will be sharing your feedback with our team and staff.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I've stayed here several times on business and also brought my family. Every time we've stayed here has been a great trip. It's a reasonable cab ride from SFO, and it's within walking distance of all of my clients. There are a eating places within easy walking distance if you don't want to eat at the bistro every meal, and you can also take a shuttle to a nearby shopping center with plenty of stores and other restaurants.

The rooms have always been good - typical California Courtyard décor, comfortable beds, etc.

The staff is outstanding - everyone I met working at the front desk was helpful in terms of restaurant recommendations (from family restaurants to business dinner restaurants), and the shuttle is always timely.

Room Tip: I always prefer rooms that look into the courtyard - quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakub Y, General Manager at Courtyard San Mateo Foster City, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for providing your feedback. I will be sharing your gracious comments with our Leadership Team and staff. We are very excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the location worked out well for you and your family. We strive to meet our guests' expectations and we are always ecstatic when we receive feedback such as yours.
Thank you very much.
Sincerely,
Yakub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Nice and close to where I need to be for work not a huge much around without a car. The Bistro will feed you, with their choices, staff very friendly and helpful. I would stay there again due to proximity of work.

Room Tip: All relatively quiet which is nice
See more room tips
Green Features: Good environmental policies regarding towels sheets etc
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank degarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakub Y, General Manager at Courtyard San Mateo Foster City, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear degarr:
Thank you for your time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback and use it to improve our hotel.
The City of Foster City is working deligently to expand the city and attract more shops, restaurants and other venues. The BridgePoint shopping center which is within walking distance of our hotel offers wide selection of dinning and shopping.
Once again, thank you for your time and looking forward to serve you in the near future.

Best Regards,

Yakub Yakubi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed here in April 2014 with my wife and children. Had stayed here for work in the past. Hotel is well located near San Mateo, SFO, and San Mateo bridge. It is in a nice, quiet, business park area of town. Grounds well maintained, a nice "courtyard" inside indeed. The lobby was renovated with the new Courtyard look and services (e.g. small restaurant) a couple of years back. The rooms are spacious, with 2 queen beds but the decor is just OK. We were on first floor and could definitely hear children running, jumping in room above us so might be best to get a top floor room. My kids really liked the pool area as well as hanging out in common areas by the lobby and in the courtyard. Good value with Marriott points, only a level 4 (20K points per night) if I recall correctly. I would return if I am visiting that area again. One recommendation for Courtyard - bring back the free coffee in the lobby!

Room Tip: Top floor might be best, had some noise with people banging room floor on the floor above us
See more room tips
Green Features: Did not notice any practices, other than you can tell them you want to re use your towels
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoTraveler80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakub Y, General Manager at Courtyard San Mateo Foster City, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear ChicagoTraveler80:
Thank you for taking the time to write your experience on TripAdvisor. Your feedback helps us to improve our product and services. I am very happy to hear that you had a great family vacation and took advantage of our pool, Bistro and other outlets that are designed with your needs in mind.
Once again, thank you and looking forward to serve you in the near future.

Best Regards,

Yakub Yakubi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambria, California
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel when leaving for and returning from a trip to Puerto Vallarta. Rooms are very quiet and we like the bistro/bar for a light dinner or breakfast without having to search for nearby restaurants. The only downside is that you (or your taxi) have to drive on Bayshore Highway to and from the airport, which can be problematic during weekday commute hours. Other than that, it's a great stay.

Room Tip: No problem with aircraft noise from SFO, but ask for a room away from the boulevard near the entranc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cambriariter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakub Y, General Manager at Courtyard San Mateo Foster City, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Cambriariter,
Your response has been received and I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write. I hope that you had a great trip to Puerto Vallarta and back. Bay Area traffic is always a challenge, mainly during peak hours. The taxi drivers should take advantage of carpool lanes with two or more passengers in the car.
Once again, thank you for your patronage and wishing a great summer of 2014.

Best Regards,

Yakub Yakubi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foster City
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
3.1 mi away
Best Western Coyote Point Inn
2.6 mi away
Pullman San Francisco Bay
Pullman San Francisco Bay
#1 of 17 in Redwood City
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Mateo Foster City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Mateo Foster City

Property: Courtyard San Mateo Foster City
Address: 550 Shell Blvd, Foster City, CA 94404-1634 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Foster City San Francisco Bay Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Foster City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Foster City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Mateo Foster City 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Mateo Foster City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Foster City San Francisco Bay Area Hotel Foster City
Courtyard Foster City
Foster City Courtyard
Foster City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing