We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Longer Built For Business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard San Mateo Foster City
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Foster City
Certificate of Excellence
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No Longer Built For Business”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2008

I'm a fan of the Courtyard By Marriott concept and usually get an amazing experience all around from check-in to check out.

This stay check in was great, but the in room accommodations are showing the age of the property.

The biggest problem was the power outlets next to the bed were so abused with wear and tear that the were unable to power anything without being held and jiggled.

The telephone cord didn't move farther than the pillow, a dramatic departure from the original concept, making me thing someone is skimping on repairs.

The towels weren't as fluffy as in other CBM and the overall appearance looked tired. I seriously doubt this is a corporate run property.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of value, for the price one can get much better in the area
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank workinganywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    96
    33
    13
    8
See reviews for
59
31
11
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2007

This is a great place to stay if you want a base to see not just SF, but all the bay area. We stayed with 3 kids aged 9,12, and 15 and we all had a great time. Our room was actually right next to the pool, but we never heard a sound from there. We had a great nights sleep every night, and on the occasions we had breakfast on the property we really enjoyed that too. Foster City is safe and clean and we had all the stores and restaurants we needed within a mile.
Just one complaint: there was no airport shuttle. I don't understand why a hotel within 10 miles of a major airport would not have a shuttle, particularly when there there is another Marriott Courtyard in san Matteo(about 1 mile away) which does have a shuttle. Could they not share?
Anyway, it did not spoil our holiday, and we would definitely return.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank BCRoadhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, NM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2007

We stayed for a week and had fantastic accomadations. Customer Service is great and the room spotless. Everything we asked for was done with a smile! A full breakfast was also included during our stay (summer promotion). Many restaurants, Costco, grocery stores, two malls, ice skating rink, Caltrain and a beautiful park nearby. You won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — Clean rooms, queen size beds
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DebraN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2007

We stay at the Foster City Courtyard at least once every year. I have never stayed at a better Courtyard property. Convenient to food places(Starbucks, Jamba Juice, Boston Market, etc). I am always treated great. We like a certain room by the pool for our daughter and they always look it up and block that room out for me. I am not a vip or anything,,,,they just know how to treat a customer right! I have stayed at many brands of hotels....from Hilton to Ritz Carlton and more.......but this is one of our most relaxing places to come and enjoy the pool and fun of San Francisco.
The reviews that complain about bath items and so forth need to go somewhere else......pay $400-500 a nite and then they can gripe if they don't get what they want. Please leave this hotel to those of us who don't find the need to complain about everything in life. Keep going on Foster City Courtyard!!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing to complain about
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rvjrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2007

Stayed here last year prior family event.Room spacious and comfortable staff friendly and helpful.Hotel was quiet and comfortable which was welcome after a 6000 mile flight.
Breakfast a bit pricey but some cheaper places close at hand if all you want is coffee and a bagel.Would recommend

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — cant` think of anything
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank manwithsuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2007

This hotel is quite near to the entrance to the San Mateo Bay Bridge, in Foster City, CA.

The hotel is also in a very nice business district. It's easy to walk around in that area. Parking spaces are plentiful.

It is also within a very short walking distance to Wells Fargo, Costco, Jamba Juice, Noah's bagels and Starbucks. It is also within a short driving distance of several well-known restaurants and stores.

One nice thing the hoted did was to provide a very nice set of papers recommending local restaurants. It contained explicit instructions how to get to each one. Because of this, we were able to dine in a nearby excellent Japanese restaurant that had reasonable prices.

Our room was a very good size, and the beds were extremely comfortable. Lighting was excellent in there. We had a floor level room, and we were able to see the indoor pool and spa from our patio window.

The water from the bathtub, while hot, does run very slowly. The towels were not big-sized, and we had few of them. We also could not find any hair conditioner item. The soaps were OK. The hairdryer was difficult to locate, and we finally found it hanging under the ironing board in the closet.

The hotel serves a breakfast for about $10, but we opted to eat out.

For travelers who want convenience to Foster City's offerings, and easy access to the San Mateo Bay Bridge, this is a good hotel to stay at.

  • Liked — Good location
  • Disliked — Bathroom amenities could be better
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kaleykerny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2006

Room stunk of cigarettes and perfume. This was supposed to be a non smoking facility. When complained about the smell which was also in the towels and the shower curtain in the bathroom, (which by the way) made me wonder if the towels were changed or not I was only offered fresh towels, and they promised that they would keep their fingers crossed that I would not get a migraine. Which I did. Then next morning when checking out and I told them that their room agained smelled and I now had a migraine I was told "to have a nice day". Never mind that our plans were ruined because of this.
Would never stay there again.
Be careful, they seem to care only about the bottom line, and not the health of their guests.

  • Liked — easy access from freeway
  • Disliked — room stunk to high heaven!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whywhywhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foster City
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Mateo Foster City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Mateo Foster City

Property: Courtyard San Mateo Foster City
Address: 550 Shell Blvd, Foster City, CA 94404-1634 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Foster City San Francisco Bay Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Foster City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Foster City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Mateo Foster City 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Mateo Foster City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Foster City San Francisco Bay Area Hotel Foster City
Courtyard Foster City
Foster City Marriott
Foster City Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing