We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Experience Of My Life”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Foster City
A TripAdvisor Member
“Worst Experience Of My Life”
Reviewed July 17, 2006

I recently had the unfortunate experience of staying at the Crowne Plaza Foster City. The front desk staff are terrribly rude, especially a gentleman by the name of Pedro. The rooms are comparable to a Holiday Inn, which sums up the quality of the hotel. Save your money and stay at the Marriott nearby.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    146
    98
    41
    34
See reviews for
70
52
36
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2006

We stay at the Crowne Plaza in Foster City on Chess Drive everytime we fly out of SFO. We have never been disappointed or had a bad room (although some can be noisy near the lobby). There is another "airport" Crowne Plaza on Airport Blvd in Burlingame, quite close by and in a similar position from the freeway. It is actually CLOSER to the airport but not as nice. Once we ended up there by accident even though we had previously been to the correct one. The BURLINGAME Crowne Plaza is not impressive. At least one of the previous reviewers and possibly others have confused the two. The Hilton Garden Inn is accross the street from the BURLINGAME one, not the better FOSTER CITY one. Buyers, readers, and reviewers beware.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CameliaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2006

I expected an averge hotel based on the star rating and that is exactly what this is. If you want a bed, OK food, a small gym and a bar then this will suit you fine. Even with the refurb the decor looks tired and dated.

Beware the weekends - the hotel is popular for wedding and birthday parties and there are lots of groups making use of the function suites. Sat night I was awake until 01:30 a.m. due to noise. The desk did warn me but I thought they might have a midnight cut-off or similar.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2006

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night midweek for a business event that was at the same hotel, so it was with some trepidation when I arrived at the hotel after reading the TripAdvisor reviews.

However, once I checked into my room I was much relieved. I got a room in the newer part of the hotel that's in a separate building (executive tower). The room is big, and nicely decorated. Really comfortable bed and comforters. A big plus is that they have a computer in the room with free wireless internet access. They have a convenience/sleep package - complete with earplugs, eyemask, a relaxing CD, and lavender linen mist. I have to say that's pretty different, even though I didn't use the package.

The receptionists were polite and I had no problems with the service at this hotel. The catered breakfast, lunch, dinner with the event is OK. Not terrible, not great, probably same as any run of the mill in-hotel restaurants.

There's a free shuttle to/from SFO. It's once an hour on the hour to the airport, and I think every 20 minutes from the airport (we had to wait about 15 minutes for one to show up).

There's nothing really of interest around the hotel, unless you count some shopping plaza and costco's across the freeway as entertainment.

I would rank this hotel on par with Hyatt and Marriott that I'd stayed in the past. Based on this good experience, I will definitely check out other Crowne Plaza locations for future stays.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stella t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 22, 2005

We just stayed here for 2 nights this weekend in a suite for free based on the problems we faced holding an event here (see below for details!) Even for free it's not worth the bother staying here.

First off the parking situation here is bad, partially due to the fact there are dozens of containers in one of the parking lots for their so called renovation that's been going on all year and was to be completed months ago. The front counter people are rude and unhelpful, the person helping us snapped at us when we let him know we were staying 2 nights instead of the 1 he stated. We had a suite in the executive tower that came complete with dust bunnies on the bed sheet and pillowcase as well as an extra dirty sock in the corner - not to mention the crusty dirty ice bucket.

On the last morning of our stay, we were walking back to our room when we saw the maid talking to one of our neighbors telling her she needed to clean the room now. The guest replied checkout wasn't until noon, and asked if she could get some towels since none were left the day before. The maid actually refused to give her any, indicative of the customer service at this hotel.

One thing we should mention is the poor layout of the meeting rooms and lobby. If you are staying in the executive tower you need to walk through the meeting room lobby to get there, and if there is any type of event going on (as this usually is) you have to claw your way through the throngs of people blocking the way.

So if you like rude staff, dirty rooms and free socks, this hotel is for you. If not, I would look elsewhere.

If you're still reading this and want to know the mishaps that happened at our event (which happened to be our wedding reception), read on:

1) The meeting coordinator was supposed to meet us when we were dropping off supplies, she was nowhere to be found and noone knew where she was or what to do with our stuff for almost an hour. In fact we never saw her at all the entire weekend, even though she promised to check in on the event herself. We are glad to report that she no longer works there (along with the other 2 coordinators we started out working with who left along the way.)

2) Wrong chairs were set up in the room - We stressed over and over again that we wanted the original chairs we were shown as the chair covers we had only fit on them, and as you would exepect they set the wrong ones up.

3) We were originally shown one large calla lilly in an extra tall vase that would be used as the centerpieces on the tables. What we got were mini calla lilies were in small home style vases, not the flower or vases we were promised. Fortunately one of the waiters was able to get the tall vases (but still had the tiny flowers) for us minutes before the reception was to begin.

4) CD Player – we asked several times to be able to see the CD player that was to be provided. Each time we were told it was put away in storage somewhere. What we ended up with was an old DVD player that wouldn’t play the CD’s we made, causing a run to Target to be made to buy suitable CDs.

5) Many food problems, including ants crawling on one of the salads. Instead of replacing the salad the waiter thought that wiping them off would suffice (we insisted they change it which they eventually did.) Many of the food items were either different and/or omitted from what was confirmed with the hotel. Many of the displays were pathetic, especially the cheese and pate plate, which only had strips of cheddar and pepper jack cheese and was missing the pate. There are numerous other food problems - far too many to list here.

We do have to say the original coordinator was very good, unfortunately she left before the event and each subsequent coordinator was worse. I wouldn't advise having any type of event here.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Foster City hotels

Los Alamitos, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2005

We just returned from the Crowne Plaza. The hotel had just completed all the remodeling of the halls, the guest rooms, etc. & we had an outstanding 2 night stay! We booked a king room with sofa bed at their Entertainment card rate ($150 total with tax for 2 nts. Thurs & Fri. nt.) & had room 450 overlooking the beautiful atrium. Wonderful sleeper bed. Enjoyed the food at their sports club. Had the sampler appetizer, enough food for 4. The gym is kind of small & could use some weights.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank campi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2005

I checked into the Crown Plaza last week and had the worse stay of all time.

Many of the rooms face into the reception and restaurant area. The windows are very thin and you can hear the faintest of conversations. There is also a sports bar in the hotel. My room, 362 was right above the club. Each night I would be awakened by piano or talking.

On Thursday, the bar has Kareoke night. The party was louder than the TV in my room and went on until past midnight. It was absurdely loud! Then, after the club closed downstairs, the hoards of people could be heard, laughing and running through the reception area. I finally got to sleep on Friday morning after 2am. The hotel comped Thursday night, but I was too tired to care. The hotel supplies earplugs in your room, you'll need them.

Helpful?
3 Thank Sapppro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foster City
0.2 mi away
Courtyard San Mateo Foster City
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
2.9 mi away
Best Western Coyote Point Inn
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo

Property: Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo
Address: 1221 Chess Dr, Foster City, CA 94404-1173
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Foster City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Foster City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Foster City-San Mateo is the leading event destination with16,000 square feet of meeting space on the San Francisco Peninsula. Designed with a sky-lit atrium and innovative services for business and vacation, our Foster City hotel features contemporary-styled rooms and suites with luxury bedding, refrigerators, 37'' HDTVs and our Sleep Advantage Program. Enjoy lifestyle conveniences like our business center, complimentary Wi-Fi, indoor pool and hot tub, fitness center, and free shuttle to SFO. Savor California and Asian cuisine at our relaxing restaurants, including Café Florian and Toyko Village, and enjoy cocktails and nightlife at Clubhouse Bistro and the Chit Chat Lounge. Just 7 miles from San Francisco International Airport, we are minutes of Silicon Valley businesses and Bay Area attractions, golf courses, shopping centers and scenic coastal trails. We're less than 30 minutes from San Francisco, Golden Gate Bridge, Pier 39, Union Square and AT& T Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo Hotel Foster City
Crowne Plaza San Francisco
Peninsula Foster City
Foster City Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing