We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Foster City
Reviewed January 26, 2009

I stayed at the Crown Plaza Hotel in Foster City in January 2009.

From the SFO airport you can take a shuttle bus directly to the hotel. It takes about 10 minutes, but it's a bit hard to find. You need to ask the information desk at the airport to point you to the right direction. Make sure you say Foster City, because there are several Crown Plaza's in the vicinity.

The hotel is very nice and located in a quite area. Just 2 minutes walk from the hotel there is a huge shopping complex complete with Target, Marshall’s, Staples, along with many restaurants. The area is quite safe and stores are open a bit later. The hotel also offers a complementary shuttle which runs every hour to one of the other main galleria malls.

The staff were very friendly and warm, and the room was very nice and spacious. If you are there on business, there a main floor bar which has different events every night.

The room service was over priced. For example a roast beef sandwich with a soda will run you $20 as there is a room service charge to the bill. It is better to eat out or go down to one of the restaurants.

This is a great hotel to stay for business and/or a short stay. Outside of the outlet malls there isn't much to do here if you don't have a car.

The business center would use some improvement, there are only 3 people that can be in there at once, and it reminded me of Dilbert with the cramped workspace.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sailorann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

374 - 380 of 440 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2008

My experience of American hotels is that they are loveless. There is no charm and no joy in staying in them (and where charm is supplied it is sugar sweet and over the top). To this extent the Crowne Plaza is above average. The rooms, in the executive wing, are a good size and pleasantly decorated. They also supply free Wifi (a must for all modern hotels). Bathrooms not so lovely but adequate. Also access to the hotel is good and they supply a shuttle bus to and from the airport.

The downside is that things keep falling off! I had to change rooms three times when I arrived because things weren't working and then ring reception to get a number of other things fixed during my week stay. The staff are odd. In most hotels the guest takes priority, not here, and you will often find the staff pushing in front of you at breakfast or as you are trying to get through a door or into the lift (bizarre!). But my biggest criticisms is saved for the food. Really awful and I got a dodgy tum after eating there one day (the only meals I had that day were at the hotel). But generally the coffee at breakfast is shocking and the food generally is very sub standard.

Eat out and you will enjoy this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank emmjaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2008

Excellent room and hotel. I was here for training and had all I needed. Quiet and safe and plenty of amenities in the room.
Fitness room was right down the hall.
Restaurants downstairs were fine. Close to other restaurants.
Convenient shuttle from the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank EVGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2008

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Foster City for 3 nights. When I checked in the representative confirmed my king non-smoking room. When I arrived at my room it was not a king. I called down to the front desk and they sent up a new key for a king room on a different floor. The room was comfortable and clean equipped with a hair dryer, CD player alarm clock and refrigerator. It took forever to get to and from our room since there was only one functioning elevator. The other elevator was marked out of service the entire stay. We had breakfast at the hotel the first morning but thought it was overpriced for what we got and decided to go out for breakfast the other 2 mornings. Parking is free and the hotel is close to some shopping and chain restaurants. I have stayed at the Baylanding before and would probably pick it over the Crowne Plaza if I had the choice because it offers free breakfast, has a microwave in the room and is closer to the San Francisco airport.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank platinum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2008

My family and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights during this year's Memorial Day weekend. We had decided at the Crowne Plaza at SFO (San Francisco Airport) but they charge $16/night for parking alone so we decided to go a little more South to this great hotel which has free covered (on the 1st floor) parking. The hotel is very big, clean, nice, and above average. There is a large atrium in the hotel with huge gold fish and a small waterfall (great for pictures or to let the kids interact with the fish). The staff was not overly nice like in other reviews and the check-in clerk was not very helpful nor did he go out of his way to find an answer that I was looking for. There are 3 restaurants in the hotel so you have options to eat in if you would like. There is the main hotel restaurant, a huge restaurant/sports bar that is very popular we found out in Foster City on Sat. nights, and a japanese restaurant with very reasonable pricing (for sushi). Our room was very nice. Had a view of the street so no big deal there. We had a sofa bed which made it nice for our 4yr old daughter and a small fridge for snacks and drinks. The rooms were very clean and though Sat. night was a busy night for the restaurant/club, there was no noise from the lobby but not sure that other people that were closer to the lobby may have felt that way as the music was loud when we went thru the lobby and up to our room. The walls of the rooms are thin indeed as described in other reviews. We heard some people stumble into their rooms but hey, been there done that so I can't and won't complain. The drive into San Francisco is not bad at all. Save the money and stay here rather than closer to the city with probably less nicer accomodations. Overall this was a great hotel and I definitely recommend it to anyone as we really enjoyed our stay !

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank txact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while visiting San Francisco. It was part of a package we found on a travel website that included air and hotel. The package was a cheaper one to San Francisco because this hotel is about a 30 minute drive into San Francisco. This didn't bother us. The hotel was in a quiet area, our room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The drive into San Francisco was not bad and was worth it for the money we saved. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sf213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for two nights during a friend's wedding. The majority of the guests were staying here, which made it a great place to meet up. The hotel also provided a shuttle to and from the rehersal dinner, which was wonderful.
We stayed in a large room with one king size bed. The room and the bathroom were both large. The shower is an average hotel shower. Everything seemed newer and remodeled. The bedding was wonderful. There is a bit of "white" traffic noise, but it's not hard to tune out. The windows are big and let in lots of natural light into the room.
This hotel seems to cater to business travelers, as it was very quiet around our room for both days, hardly anyone on our hall, and no one above or to the side of us.
Another guest had a "suite" room in the main part of the hotel, and it was great for entertaining with an additional "living room" area and a large patio/deck
The site is also conveniently located right near the highway exit, which made it easy to get in and out of the area.
I would recommend this to anyone having a wedding in the area, and for anyone looking for accommodations in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank coloradogirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foster City
0.2 mi away
Courtyard San Mateo Foster City
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites San Mateo Foster City
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
5.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
2.9 mi away
Best Western Coyote Point Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo

Address: 1221 Chess Drive, Foster City, CA 94404-1173
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Foster City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Foster City
Price Range: $128 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Foster City-San Mateo is the leading event destination with16,000 square feet of meeting space on the San Francisco Peninsula. Designed with a sky-lit atrium and innovative services for business and vacation, our Foster City hotel features contemporary-styled rooms and suites with luxury bedding, refrigerators, 37'' HDTVs and our Sleep Advantage Program. Enjoy lifestyle conveniences like our business center, complimentary Wi-Fi, indoor pool and hot tub, fitness center, and free shuttle to SFO. Savor California and Asian cuisine at our relaxing restaurants, including Café Florian and Toyko Village, and enjoy cocktails and nightlife at Clubhouse Bistro and the Chit Chat Lounge. Just 7 miles from San Francisco International Airport, we are minutes of Silicon Valley businesses and Bay Area attractions, golf courses, shopping centers and scenic coastal trails. We're less than 30 minutes from San Francisco, Golden Gate Bridge, Pier 39, Union Square and AT& T Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo Hotel Foster City
Crowne Plaza San Francisco
Peninsula Foster City
Foster City Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing