We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“good bay area home base” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Foster City
oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good bay area home base”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We went to the Bay Area over Labor Day weekend- meeting my daughter and her family there. Since she has young kids the indoor pool was an important factor in choosing this hotel. We stayed in the executive tower which is seperate so had no noise issues related to the ballroom- although there were functions there -- we couldnt hear them. The pool and jacuzzi were good although on monday morning they closed the pool for renovations-- would have been nice to just finish up the long weekend and then start the renovations-- we had a disapointed little guy ready to swim! The walls are a little thin and we could hear mumbled conversation from the room next door. Other than that it was fine-- pretty standard-- nothing exceptional and nothing horrible either-- we were happy with the room, the value, the location ( San Mateo has many great parks with some great play areas!) and it was an easy drive into San Francisco for a day trip. We also had an option of taking the free hotel shuttle to the airport and the BART into the city from there--- we didnt do that becasue of the young kids but it would be a fine option with older kids or adults. There is a large outdoor mall area within very close walking it has a target, toys r us, bed bath beyond and more- also several resturaunts-- all within about a 3 minute walk. We found that to be very handy. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaFC, Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Hello Gail R,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We appreciate your review and hope to see you again soon. Glad you had a nice Labor Day Weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    134
    93
    40
    32
See reviews for
64
49
35
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raumati Beach, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Confortable room, nice breakfast.
I spent just one night at the Crowne Plaza - comfortable, fairly standard room and amenities.
The only downside is no outside view from the room, it overlooked the internal courtyard.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ShaneH13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed at this hotel after travelling all day from Charlotte, NC to CA. Was exhausted and looking forward to some rest. Unfortunately the hotel is an open concept building and all rooms are exposed to the lobby and ballroom. There was a wedding party the night I was there and the very loud music could be heard everywhere. It didn't stop until 2 a.m. No sleep for the weary until after that time. I will never stay at an open concept hotel again. I complained but nothing was done and no money refunded. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: No good rooms here. Do not stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeAnn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear LeAnn S,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had with the noise during your stay. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Foster City hotels

seattle
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed one night after a wedding . Check- in was very quick, staff was friendly, hotel was clean, and in a good location . My son complained about his sofa bed being uncomfortable, but they always are . Our bed was good , lol.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Very nice hotel- The rooms were nice and very clean. They have many dining/drinking choices on the property and many places within walking distance. This seems to be more of a buisness or adult hotel. We had a large group for a nearby wedding, probably not the greatest for small kids. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would stay her again.

Room Tip: Ask for an exeutive tower room, its away from the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJonesAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I have stayed at the Crowne Plaza in San Mateo several times and have never had a bad experience. The Crowne is a very nice standard business hotel, is affordable, offers free parking and has several options for dining on the property. The rooms had all the standard appointments including a nice workspace with wired and wireless internet, flat screen television and a good sized bathroom. The staff, including front desk, housekeeping and food service was all exceptional.

My favorite on property restaurant is Tokai with a great Sushi bar and is a favorite lunch spot. Breakfast is an efficient well stocked buffet in the lobby restaurant with an attentive wait staff that is fully aware most diners are in a hurry and need to eat and get to their morning meetings. For an after work cocktail make sure to stop at the Chit Chat lobby bar and have Bulent make you a vodka martini, shaken not stirred.
In the evening many weary business travelers head to the Clubhouse Bistro, a full service sports bar with several massive televisions broadcasting sports from all over the country.

If you want to dine off property, the Bridgepointe shopping center is a short walk away with several options including BJ’s Restaurant and Brewhouse and a Red Robin.

If you are in Foster City for a business trip you can’t go wrong at the Crowne.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaFC, Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Hello David D. Thank you for your kind review. At the Crowne Plaza, we meet guests' expectations by understanding the purpose of stay and personalize accordingly. We are pleased to know you had a great experience at our property and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We booked through hotels.com, specifying double beds and late check in, non-ground floor rooms, however, upon our arrival at 2 am in the morning, the front desk did not receive any of these instructions. We were put into a room with one bed and a sofa bed that could not fold out due to the placement of the air conditioning unit. On top of that, the room smelled strongly of B.O., throughout the night, there were sounds of water dripping, scratching, pipe noises, but we waited til the morning to switch rooms because we were tired from our late flight and the front desk had told us there were no other rooms available until morning. So in the morning, we headed to the front desk to raise our issues and Jeanie was able to switch our reservations and place us into rooms in the main building, which was a VAST improvement in terms of condition and cleanliness in comparison to our first room. Even though the hotel was was pretty full that morning, she addressed our issues in a professional and understanding manner and really took action to accommodate us. If not for her, I would never stay at another Crowne Plaza hotel again as the condition and comfort of the first room was extremely disappointing and soured our perspective on this hotel. Jeanie was extremely helpful and professional in turning this around, as a result, the rest of our stay was comfortable and fantastic, everything we had hoped for when we first booked this hotel.

Room Tip: However, please be aware that if you book this hotel through a third party/site, your preferences/sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeAAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaFC, Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Hello MikeAAP. Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to learn you had a sastisfying stay. All our staff strive to accommodate your needs as best as possible to guarantee a good night's rest. We, along with Jeannie, hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foster City
0.2 mi away
Courtyard San Mateo Foster City
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
1.4 mi away
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn
2.8 mi away
Sofitel San Francisco Bay
Sofitel San Francisco Bay
#1 of 16 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo

Property: Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo
Address: 1221 Chess Dr, Foster City, CA 94404-1173
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Foster City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Foster City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful Crowne Plaza Hotel in Foster City is centrally located on the San Francisco Peninsula between Downtown San Francisco, San Jose, and the East Bay. Our property is just 7 miles from San Francisco International Airport and 22 miles from downtown San Francisco. Our unique building design has a beautiful atrium lobby filled with koi ponds, waterfalls, and palm trees that will provide a relaxing setting on your next visit. Some of our features include:* Complimentary Internet access in all guest rooms, lobby, all restaurants, and pool area* Three different varieties of restaurants, room service, and a sports bar* Complimentary SFO airport shuttle* Complimentary parking* Complimentary shuttle leaving at 10:30am daily to The Hillsdale Shopping Mall* Conveniently located next to The BridgePointe Shopping center* 24 hour business center with complimentary use of three computers and a printer* Relax in our indoor heated pool jacuzzi* Use of Fitness center* Executive Club Level rooms include Dell XP desktop computers with DVD drive, flat screen monitors and Continental Breakfast, Monday-Friday.* 16,000 Square feet of flexible meeting space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo Hotel Foster City
Crowne Plaza San Francisco
Peninsula Foster City
Foster City Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing