We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and clean.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Foster City
Santa Barbara
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable and clean.”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Stayed her for a weekend. The room was clean, roomy and comfortable. The eye mask and lavender mist were a nice touch. Convinently located near the freeways and airport. The staff was nice and the rates were great. Would definately stay here again. Free wi-fi. Pool and jacuzzi were nice. There is a sushi restaurant on site as well as a club and other food services.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    146
    98
    41
    35
See reviews for
71
52
36
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I stay here about 5-10 nights per year when I visit HQ in Redwood City. The hotel is alright, I usually stay in the Exec Tower to avoid the crowd and noise from the club on weekends. The rooms are medium size, furniture is cheap looking but functional.A/C unit is in the room and can be a bit noisy, not all rooms have a fridge so make sure to ask one if needed. Haven't stayed in the main building for a couple years but I remember the rooms being bigger but more run down than the ones in the Exec Tower.

Hotel has a sports bar and sushi restaurant that while not spectacular are good enough to attract non hotel guests diners.

Overall the hotel is okay but there are better choices around if the room availability allows it. The CP is usually priced aggressively and has more availability than say the Marriott across 101. Wireless and parking are free, so his Airport shuttle.

Room Tip: Exec Tower high floors on road side and not freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tootella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, IL
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I've stayed here 15-20 nights in the past two years. It's fairly convenient for conducting business in the San Mateo area... decent location right off 92, with ample free parking and (slow) wi-fi. About 20 minutes from SFO airport in good traffic. Pretty good in-hotel dining options. Beds are comfortable. Good size desk to work at, and a nice big TV to watch and relax.

Recently, the property seems to be suffering from a lack of care all around. On one recent visit, there was a nice line of mold growing on the ceiling in the bathroom. The front desk reaccommodated me in another room. In that room, I opened the ice bucket only to find... you guessed it... mold. And other small issues like the cover where the shower head disappears into the wall had fallen off and was dangling around the shower head, leaving a pipe disappearing into an unsightly, big hole in the wall. Like the metal/plastic housing for the elevator call button falling apart when you push the button. Like the front desk sliding someone else's bill under my door one morning in the middle of my stay.

The mold - twice - was the concerning part, the rest were relatively minor things that start to add up and that you'd think a four star facility would do better. Asked to speak with the manager, who was out of the office, and requested his staff have him call me back. Never heard back from him during my stay (3-4 days remaining) or any time thereafter.

Overall, it's an okay facility that is showing a bit of wear and has some cleanliness issues. Could be so much better if someone was paying attention.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building, facing the road and not the highway. The highway can be a bit n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greg3305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Case Manger at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear greg3305,

Thank you for your review. I apologize that you experienced these issues while at our property. I would like to discuss this further with you. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information about your recent stay. I look forward to hearing back from you.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Foster City hotels

Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Once my 'home away from home' in Northern California, I visited the Crowne Plaza-Foster City again this month, and found it to be all that I remembered from the past! Great restaurants, and comfortable rooms. The location is convenient to SFO, and is also surrounded by boutique shopping areas and diversified restaurant choices.

The sports bar deserves special mention! This facility has televisions everywhere, and great source switching as well. So one can see their game of choice, on a multitude of screen sizes and from a variety of seating locations. One of the better sports bars I have seen, and a highlight for the fans. I will be sure and return to this hotel, every time I visit San Francisco.

Room Tip: Suites with kitchens are available, and balcony rooms as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKBNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Overall this a very comfortable hotel with many convenient services at a good rate. Room was modern and clean and had a view of the atrium (inside room) so it was very quiet in the evenings (no road disruption while sleeping). Only 10 miles from airport and they offer a shuttle service to/from SFO. Hertz rental is onsite if you do need a car without the hassle of the airport. Beautiful atrium/lobby area. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: For a quiet room, ask for a room with a view of the atrium (or inside corridor room).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAYS_TRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

The hotel is located 10 minutes from the airport and you can get to San Francisco in about 30 minutes with good traffic. Located next to the 101 highway.
Lobby of the hotel is nicely decorated and there are 3 places to eat at the hotel; a pub, sushi place and the main lobby cafe.
Rooms are clean.
The hotel is a good fit for business travel to the Bay area.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the highway. It's a little bit noisy if your bedroom faces the highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quiqueCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for six days which can seem like forever when you are on a business trip. After the second day, I felt like everyone knew my name and asked how my day was. The breakfast food was excellent and worth every penny for the buffet. They had so many choices for dinner that I didnt even get to try it all before I left. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone near San Francisco!

Room Tip: If you can afford it get one of the executive suites. The walk out balcony was amazing and it was gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophiemonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foster City
0.2 mi away
Courtyard San Mateo Foster City
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
2.9 mi away
Best Western Coyote Point Inn
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo

Property: Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo
Address: 1221 Chess Dr, Foster City, CA 94404-1173
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Foster City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Foster City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Foster City-San Mateo is the leading event destination with16,000 square feet of meeting space on the San Francisco Peninsula. Designed with a sky-lit atrium and innovative services for business and vacation, our Foster City hotel features contemporary-styled rooms and suites with luxury bedding, refrigerators, 37'' HDTVs and our Sleep Advantage Program. Enjoy lifestyle conveniences like our business center, complimentary Wi-Fi, indoor pool and hot tub, fitness center, and free shuttle to SFO. Savor California and Asian cuisine at our relaxing restaurants, including Café Florian and Toyko Village, and enjoy cocktails and nightlife at Clubhouse Bistro and the Chit Chat Lounge. Just 7 miles from San Francisco International Airport, we are minutes of Silicon Valley businesses and Bay Area attractions, golf courses, shopping centers and scenic coastal trails. We're less than 30 minutes from San Francisco, Golden Gate Bridge, Pier 39, Union Square and AT& T Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo Hotel Foster City
Crowne Plaza San Francisco
Peninsula Foster City
Foster City Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing