We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chalet Ticino

Chalet Ticino
Reserve with OpenTable
Chalet Ticino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 61 Restaurants in Foster City
Cuisines: Swiss, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Chalet Ticino offers traditional Swiss-Italian cuisine in a relaxed European ambiance.
.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Chalet Ticino is a small family owned restaurant in Foster City, it appears to be a hidden treasure.
Alex the owner goes out of his way to explain everything is made in-house, which we appreciated.
The Rosti de Salmone was a particular treat! It was absolutely on paar with what one might find in Europe. I would not hesitate to introduce out of town guests to this charming place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Flyinglady5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, CA
Level Contributor
196 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice neighborhood change of pace restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Chalet Ticino is located in a small strip mall/plaza type setting in Foster City. For those not familiar with the area, Foster City does not have a true downtown or main street, just a number of shopping plazas sprinkled around the residential areas.

We have been there a few times over the past year or so and have had good experiences each time. We have been on Sunday evenings because they have a musician there from 5-8 on Sunday only.

We have tried four or five things on the menu and all have been good, enjoyable meals but not outstanding. The last time we had the fixed price meal for $22 which included a small soup and a small scoop of ice cream. They have a limited wine selection but all that we have tried have been good. One thing I like about the wine is the owner will pour a bit to taste first so if it is not what you thought you can order another.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavenCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Terrible food and worse service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Please save your money. Bad food and worse service should not be rewarded. The sauce on our lasagna came from a large can purchased at Costco. The owner removed the only other food offering (bread) from the table when we mentioned that we might not eat it! We were shocked. I have traveled all over the world and this was probably one of the worst meals/service. Unfortunately it is in my hometown. And it ain't cheap either!! One square of ugh lasagna, one glass of iced tea (no refills) and my bill was $18.00. Stay away.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SHADDACalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Avoid At All Costs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Living in the Bay area for a decade, we tried this place on a Saturday evening. Though we have dined out at many different places, this was the worst of all. The owner/greeter became surly once we declined wine and appetizers. The wait staff was noncommunicative. The food was awful, varying from dripping, greasy pancakes to risotto that was little more than plain rice with a few mushrooms. The Veal Zurich was mostly onions and mushrooms, with a few strands of tough meat. The menu descriptions and pricing are totally out of line with what you get, and profit is clearly the motive. At a minimum, this place needs a real cook. Never again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank CaliforniaPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A nice neighborhood restaurant with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I go here a lot. They have great food, it is a short walk from our house and they have an outdoor seating area were we can eat when we have our dog with us. Alex, the owner, is very personable and he and his staff know us well enough to bring our preferred drinks before we even ask for them! The restaurant serves a variety of Swiss and Italian dishes, many of which I have not seen elsewhere. They do a nice job with the fondue and with the salmon and cheese ravioli. They also do catering. Chalet Ticino is well worth a visit!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chalet Ticino also viewed

 
Foster City, CA
Foster City, CA
 

Been to Chalet Ticino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing