We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tokie's hasn't lost a step with it's move to Downtown San Mateo!”

Tokie's Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 70 Restaurants in Foster City
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed February 12, 2019

We were anxiously awaiting the opening of the new Tokie's in Downtown San Mateo. It was worth the wait as they haven't missed a beat! The food and service remain flawless. The seafood and sushi is all so fresh and it's great fun to share a Saki shot with the staff!
Definitely try the Firecracker appetizer as well as the Spicy Scallop Hand rolls!
Say hi to Dexter the long time manager who can suggest the best items on the menu!
Cheers!

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Billochuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 82 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2019 via mobile

Great new atmosphere with the same really good food. The sashimi was very fresh and the shrimp tempura excellent.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2019 via mobile

Was family favorite. Sad to say this great little restaurant closed with the rest of the shopping center last year. Was a great spot. Moved to 4th in San Mateo,

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank P5975GYdavidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2018 via mobile

Had great sushi and beers with the family after Thanksgiving. Very nice decor in the new place and great service. Nice bar area for waiting too, because it gets very crowded. We had short ribs and dragon roll and spicy scallops and soft shell crab nigiri. All delicious but soft shell crab was the favorite. We hadn’t been to the foster city location in a while and were so happy to go to the new location in San Mateo. Very good.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank travelagentreplies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2018

Went to Tokie's today in San Mateo for dinner. The location is on 4th ave right off El Camino. Parking is on the street and can be difficult at times depending on the time. The restaurant looks very modern and inviting with plenty of seating.

The menu appears to have changed compared to Tokie's when they were in Foster City. I miss the sushi sampler platter so we ordered sushi a la carte. The sushi was very fresh and the portions appear to be larger. We ordered the tako and unagi and they were more than 3" long which was really nice. The California roll and tekka maki was also really good. We ordered a few other rolls and their standard of delivering good fresh food has not changed. Also ordered a large hot sake to go with the sushi.

Overall I enjoyed the meal and will be coming back to try a few of their entrees. Strongly recommend Tokie's for Japanese food.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kgv2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokie's Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tokie's Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing