We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Mexican Food, Cleanliness a Problem”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of El Torito

El Torito
Ranked #3 of 61 Restaurants in Foster City
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
385 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Average Mexican Food, Cleanliness a Problem”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The food was average -- not bad, not great. Service was quite good, and value was good. However, we were put off by tables with sticky tops. The table tops looked clean, but something is wrong. I suspect that whatever they use for cleaning the tables softens the varnish on the wooden table tops. They really need to fix this problem. The sticky table tops ruined the meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    23
    13
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Good food and good service. Macho Combo platter has a little of everything and it was all very good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Since I am a misplaced native Californian, I was so happy to see this right across the street from thre hotel. I Missed it so much

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MJonesAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly Fast Service and Great Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

Unlike other local options, their bar service here is fast and fantastic. Indulge at happy hour or any evening you like, you won't be disappointed with the service or the margaritas!!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not bad...not great, but conveniently located and friendly!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

I had an unexpected extended stay in the area due to weather issues at SFO. Was booked at the Crown Plaza which is almost across the street from here. Margaritas were tasty. The table-side prepared Guac tasted good; however, a lot of it was prepped ahead of time--but at least the avocados were cut and mashed table-side. Bartender was friendly as was the guy who prepared the Guac. I'll go back if I ever spend another rainy day near SFO.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigpoppa1855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Torito also viewed

 

Been to El Torito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing