We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Foster City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Homestead San Mateo SFO
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Foster City
Reviewed June 14, 2012

our stay from start to finish was most disappointing. Brownout when we checked in, card keys often malfunctions requiring us to make several trips to the front desks. Problems and requests made could not be acted upon without the Manager's approval.....the Manager was always unavailable.

Think twice before even booking at this hotel........there are far better hotels in the area than HOMESTEAD....EXTENDED STAY SAN MATEO. You can try Courtyard Marriott or Hilton Garden Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This place was a pain from the time we checked in! We visited this place before deciding on making a booking and made several requests which we were assured wouldn't be a problem. First, we asked for a room on the ground floor. Well, we got a room on the second floor. Next, we asked for a non-smoking room. The room we got had a "no-smoking" sign on it but smelled of cigars from the minute we walked in. And within an hour from the time we checked in........we lost electricity! And internet was spotty the whole stay!

We immediately complained with a gentleman (didn't get his name) at the desk who was quite helpful. He said, in order to make up for all the problems, he would give us 6pm check out since we told him we had a late-night flight on our check- out day. He said he would clear it with his manager who wasn't around at the time. We checked with him again a day or so after and we were told that 3pm was the best he could do. We wanted to talk to the manager, LISA BASA, but she wasn't around AGAIN.

We finally got to meet manager LISA BASA days later when she sooooo rudely knocked on our door and, in a very loud voice, began to rush us out because she had a cleaner to clean our room and check in the next guest. She was practically yelling at us!

We followed her to the front desk to tell her we certainly didnt deserve that kind of treatment! We told her we would certainly be filing a complaint with head office and she said we could go ahead and file a complaint with whoever we want. Well, LISA BASA, i dont know who the hell pissed on your cornflakes this morning but you can be sure we're taking this to your head office!!!

We come to San Franciso at least once a year because the weather is nice, the food is good and the people are pleasant to deal with. LISA BASA doesn't seem to be from the SAn Francisco area....

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Annafrommanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

This hotel is poorly maintained, dirty and overpriced. I made a last minute reservation at this hotel, during an emergency trip to San Mateo. I staid one night at this hotel and I paid $200 for my room. My room was dated, dirty and plagued with dust. My room was also infested with ants and moth. The hotel room reeked of cigarette smoke. Based on my personal experience, I would not recommend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meticulous_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabiano_Silva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foster City hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo
0.4 mi away
Courtyard San Mateo Foster City
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites San Mateo Foster City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead San Mateo SFO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead San Mateo SFO

Address: 1830 Gateway Dr, Foster City, CA 94404-2467
Location: United States > California > Foster City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Foster City
Number of rooms: 220

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing