We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fortuna
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mountain Home, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for the price!”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We only had 1 issue with the hotel and that is the upstairs. The ceilings are very thin. The neighbors that were upstairs didn't seem to understand "courtesy" of others. The staff and the owners were so very nice and welcoming. It is a place we would stay again but having dogs we are put in the downstairs. We are a family of 3 with 2 furbabies. Our daughter turned 17 on this trip and we are just not accustomed to all the noise that people can make like that!
It was nice being able to leave the dogs for a bit to get out and do some walking and hiking in the Redwoods. The breakfast every morning was awesome. It was also very nice to be able to go to the lobby area and grab hot coffee whenever we wanted it. The $50 credit that you got for the Springville Steak house was so worth the money to eat there! Amazing staff and great service, not to mention the food was great!

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise or do not like the noise of constant walking back and forth do not sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaitybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
So happy you chose to stay at The Redwood for your daughter's special day! We have really been trying to focus on making the breakfast a great way to start your day, glad you enjoyed it. We do have quiet hours at the hotel and are always happy to enforce that policy. Springville Steak is a great, new addition to Fortuna and we are very happy you got to dine there. Hope to see you again soon for another special day. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    182
    87
    42
    29
See reviews for
173
183
34
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Bragg
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Everything was good. But house keeping was horrible. My girl and I stay two nights. And after the first night my girl and I left and did some shopping. When we can back in into the afternoon the bed was made but the sheets were never changed and the room was never cleaned. House keeping didn't even give us fresh bathing towels and they left the old ones on the floor. My girl and I weren't pleased at all with the house keeping. If housekeeping did there job I would probably stay there again but from what I seen I don't think that going to happen and I make a trip up there once a month. Other then that everything was great.


  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brandon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
We are very sorry for the problem with housekeeping. We do take all reviews serious and the GM and the housekeeper responsible have had a positive discussion. When any guest returns from their day they should return to a clean room. As part of our green practices the sheets are changed every three days and we can change them out if soiled or requested by the guest. This should have been communicated to you. We do hope to have the possibility to make things right for you as well. We do still have biscuits and gravy everyday! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We've liked that the room was clean and practical and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We asked for a room at a higher floor and we have received an upgraded one without additional fees. A nice touch: cream dispenser.

The fridge was a bit too noisy and we have unplugged it. Also the AC was too loud and we didn't use it long although it was a bit chilly. We used instead the blankets from the second bed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Catalina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Uk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed here as it was close to the Humbolt Redwood park (which is amazing) and it offered a good location and value for money. It did the job - the staff were friendly, the rooms decent enough and quiet and it was close to a good brewery which served great food and beer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank TheHowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Another comment about our location! We agree, great location and perfect base for your redwoods experience. Humboldt Redwoods State Park includes the Ave of the Giants which can't be missed when visiting the area, and only 15 minutes from The Redwood. And once back at the hotel you can easily walk to the brewery, another great redwood experience. Hope to have you in the area again. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Recently stayed at The Redwood for 3 days and had a great stay. The room were clean and quiet, it's location can't be beat for access to the redwoods and coast, and the staff were very friendly and answered all our questions. Really love that it's independently owned, as well. It's was also really nice to have access to a hot continental breakfast every morning, not just boxes of sugary cereals and pastries like most places. Would be glad to go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jr A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, General Manager at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Glad you loved the location of The Redwood... as we say, we are the perfect base for all there is to do in and around the Redwood Coast. We are very happy to now be an independent hotel and that has really helped us to make better choices, especially with the free, full, buffet breakfast. We have been able to make improvements with our egg dishes as well as all the other items we provide. You, the guest, are the reason we are here and the staff recognizes that. We would love to have you return. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Love the price and the King Suite. Love the price and the King Suite.
Love the price and the King Suite. Love the price and the King Suite.
Love the price and the King Suite. Love the price and the King Suite.
Love the price and the King Suite. Love the price and the King Suite.


  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
We love our guests. We love our guests. We love our guests. Safe travels. Safe travels. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2014

3rd trip[jan.,feb.and march to fish].friendly,helpful staff and the rooms are excellent.minor point:i have noticed that there no longer laundry bags or pens/pencil and paper in the rooms.i have stayed here many times and will definetly be back again.


  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jake I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thanks for making The Redwood your fish camp. Especially all three months! We do have pads and pencils in all the rooms and it looks like we missed your room. Very sorry and please do not hesitate to ask the staff for anything you might need... we have plenty of supplies. And laundry bags have been ordered. We look forward to having you return. Good luck with the fish and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fortuna
0.1 mi away
Best Western Country Inn
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Fortuna
200 reviews
13.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
15.6 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
4.4 mi away
Bear River Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel

Property: The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel
Address: 1859 Alamar Way, Fortuna, CA 95540-8535
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Fortuna
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fortuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel is an independently owned luxury hotel in Fortuna, CA. Our accommodations reflect the natural beauty of the redwood area. Located off US 101 in an area with traveler services, The Redwood seeks to be your one-of-a-kind choice. Our central location serves as the ideal base camp to visit the many state parks and enjoy other outdoor activities in Humboldt County. . In the afternoons you may even find a plate of brownies at the desk, a wink to another famous Humboldt industry. Some of our amenities offered include complimentary buffet breakfast Two stories, exterior corridor, parking in private lot near all guest rooms, 100% non-smoking. Indoor pool, pets welcome, guest laundry, and we have hand painted murals and lobby map for your viewing and convenience. But the heart of hospitality is not the amenities, it is the service. As your independent hotel choice in Fortuna we strive to give "boutique hotel" service and exceptional hospitality. Because we are small and independent, changes will continue to improve the guest experience. The guest is the reason we are here, but the redwoods, rivers and general area are the reasons you, the guest, are here. With this in mind, we seek to offer you a strong sense of place. That sense of place is the Giant Redwoods of Humboldt County. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Fortuna (Ferndale Area) Hotel Fortuna
Holiday Inn Fortuna
Fortuna Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing