We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the new look and feel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fortuna
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love the new look and feel”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Clean, fresh, and now looking better than ever... I love what you have done with the place! It is such a nice change to have an independent option in the neighborhood. The new lobby is fantastic and I love the new touches in the rooms - you made choices I would have made.

The staff has always been A+, but now they are so proud of the renewed product. I think the hotel maybe the best value in the city and the most welcoming for me and my family. Thanks for the personal service and the well thought out amenities.... we will see you on the next road trip for sure... and we will tell all our friends about you. Thank you for being so dog friendly as well! Mrs. Jones loved the room.

Room Tip: Book in advance as this property does sell out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wineteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
We are very happy to be the independent choice and option in Fortuna and Humboldt County. We have had a lot of fun updating the lobby and breakfast and look forward to continuing this process throughout. The staff loves an A+ on its report card... thanks! We look forward to having you and Mrs. Jones return soon. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    173
    87
    40
    28
See reviews for
165
180
33
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane Valley, Washington
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Front desk staff was friendly at check in and check out. Breakfast selection was above average, and food was hot and fresh. It was evident that the staff, management and ownership of the hotel really care about there guests needs. Can't wait to visit the hotel my next trip down the 101hwy whether for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, General Manager at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thanks so much! All of us at The Redwood do really care about our guests and their experience here in Fortuna and Humboldt County. The front desk staff, housekeepers and maintenance team are here because of you! Glad you enjoyed our breakfast, we want you to have a great way to start your day. Look forward to having you as our guest again. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This was a very relaxing experience stay at the Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel. The indoor pool was nice to go to on a chilly rainy night and hot breakfast every morning was super awesome!! To top it off there was the Eel River Brewery Restaurant within walking distance and the food was amazing!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jamalili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thanks for enjoying The Redwood. We have been focused on making our full, complimentary, buffet breakfast a great way to start the day… I am stoked that you found it "super awesome"! Love that! We hope to have you as a guest again soon. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel By The Sea, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This is a clean, well maintained property. Centrally located off the redwood highway, it is walking distance to the Eel River Brewing Company and a short drive to shopping, restaurants and a casino.The staff was friendly and the complementary morning breakfast was a pleasant way to start the day.I prefer this property to the other national brands in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Neil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thanks for all the great points and kind words. At The Redwood we want to give the travelers and visitors a Humboldt experience. We will continue to develop and grow with this. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, USA
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We didn't have a reservation and the desk clerk was able to give us a room so we could have our aging pet in the room with us. The room was extremely clean and in a quiet area. Very nice, we go to Fortuna several times a year, we'll stay at The Redwood again. The ladies in the office were so helpful and very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paula N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
So glad we were able to accommodate your family and pet. We are so very fortunate at The Redwood, the staff at the front desk is great and we they want you to feel comfortable. We look forward to having you and your pet as our guest again. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2014

The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel is a wonderful place to stay. Clean and spacious rooms, some with spa tubs. The staff is friendly and courteous. Lots of interesting deco throughout. Excellent breakfast bar with eggs, bacon, sausage,cereals, juices, etc. Near the Riverwalk, Eel River and the awe inspiring Redwoods. Indoor pool and spa. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gjtidalgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
So glad you enjoyed all aspects of The Redwood. Especially the main reason we are here… the redwoods. They are indeed awe inspiring and so happy you got to experience them. We look forward to your return. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortuna, USA
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Recently I spent a week in Humboldt county. I had my well behaved and friendly dogs with me. Of course to find a hotel that would accept pets AND treat them like people guests too, was terrific. The Redwood is a great value at an affordable price for a decent hotel, I've paid more and received much less. At first look, I thought this was anther one of the chain motels, but once inside, was completely charmed by the decor theme which was the Humboldt county redwoods. A kayak was mounted up in the lobby skylight! The front desk was cleverly made to look as if there was a cord of firewood stacked right there! The staff wears State Park service style shirts! The room even had mountain tree scented bath amenities! There were great places to walk my dogs adjacent I was even more fortunate to go with a Groupon, which gave me $50. to spend at Springville Steak. What a wonderful place! Old redwood interior, great food and a warm and friendly staff. The waiter wrapped up a few steak scraps for my dogs when I told him they were out in the car! Of course I went back the following evenings of my stay. You can trust the Redwood on the Fortuna Riverwalk!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fortuna
0.1 mi away
Best Western Country Inn
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Fortuna
197 reviews
13.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
4.4 mi away
Bear River Casino Resort
15.6 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel

Property: The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel
Address: 1859 Alamar Way, Fortuna, CA 95540-8535
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Fortuna
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fortuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel is an independently owned luxury hotel in Fortuna, CA. Our accommodations reflect the natural beauty of the redwood area. Located off US 101 in an area with traveler services, The Redwood seeks to be your one-of-a-kind choice. Our central location serves as the ideal base camp to visit the many state parks and enjoy other outdoor activities in Humboldt County. . In the afternoons you may even find a plate of brownies at the desk, a wink to another famous Humboldt industry. Some of our amenities offered include complimentary buffet breakfast Two stories, exterior corridor, parking in private lot near all guest rooms, 100% non-smoking. Indoor pool, pets welcome, guest laundry, and we have hand painted murals and lobby map for your viewing and convenience. But the heart of hospitality is not the amenities, it is the service. As your independent hotel choice in Fortuna we strive to give "boutique hotel" service and exceptional hospitality. Because we are small and independent, changes will continue to improve the guest experience. The guest is the reason we are here, but the redwoods, rivers and general area are the reasons you, the guest, are here. With this in mind, we seek to offer you a strong sense of place. That sense of place is the Giant Redwoods of Humboldt County. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Fortuna (Ferndale Area) Hotel Fortuna
Holiday Inn Fortuna
Fortuna Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing