We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Super 8 Fortuna(Fortuna)(Great Value!)
$77
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Country Inn(Fortuna)(Great Value!)
$93
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Travel Inn(Fortuna)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (566)
Filter reviews
566 results
Traveler rating
193
198
99
47
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
198
99
47
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanchain hotelbrownieholiday inn expressindoor pooleel river brewerystaff was very friendlyplace to staythin wallsoatmealsausagethe river walkroad tripone night stayfree breakfastnon smokinggreat room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
536 - 541 of 566 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I will admit that we were spoiled by our Holiday Inn Express breakfasts and found your breakfast to be less than satisfying because the food was not hot and the coffee sub-standard.

Otherwise, we enjoyed our visit and were pleased with the ambiance. We will return if we are in your area, but may not give your breakfast a second chance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 24gadabout35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

We are very happy you enjoyed the ambience of the hotel. As The Redwood we are striving to create a sense of place and are very excited with the changes we have been making. This means we have left the Holiday Inn Express frozen, prepared items for breakfast in favor of cooking frittatas from scratch. A door to the equipment was being repaired and has been ordered to ensure that all items stay hot during breakfast. We look forward to your return to see our continued improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This place is awesome. Nice clean rooms quite atmosphere, great staff and I love the redwood theme they across all the public areas and the rooms. Will stay here every time I'm in the area. Also try the breakfast with a variety of freshly made items.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dhruv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

During our 6 day road trip in August 2013, we stayed one night at The Redwood Fortuna. Holy cow, the people there were amazing! Helpful, sweet, kind, knowledgeable about the area (including a perfect-for-road-weary-kids/parents restaurant!), and just plain old nice. Garrett was terrific with our special-needs kid as well as the regular brother (well, all of the employees were), Alicia made special's brother feel like a million bucks, and Jessica did an extra-special turn for mom: she beat me to it and cleared my place for me! Imagine what a sweet move that was for an exhausted parent. = )

The pool was wonderful-- not cold like the places that cheap out on heating, not hot like a bath tub, but just right. Absolutely fun and refreshing!

The owner, Jeff, took extra time to listen as special-kid wrenched up his courage to ask for something. Just so you know, Jeff, the kid wrote that success story from his encounters at The Redwood Fortuna as part of his self-advocacy project over the summer, and his teacher commended the successes. Thank you!

Nice people. Refreshing pool. I'd happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OWhovian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Wow! We are humbled by your review. As the owner, I am also proud of the fact that all the positive points you mentioned are how all our staff strives to act daily. We will use this review as the standard for how we assist our guests. We greatly enjoyed having your family at The Redwood and I enjoyed our conversation at the front desk. Thanks so much and we look forward to seeing in the redwoods again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The new owners did a nice job refurbishing the Holiday Inn Express in Fortuna. The moment you check-in, you can tell how badly the owners and staff want this project to be a success.
My wife and I spent three nights in August at The Redwood and had a delightful stay. Our room was large and very clean and was recently refurbished. The linens were new and the bathroom recently refurbished. The pool and Jacuzzi are indoors and well maintained with a huge mural of the redwood forest on the wall. Our room and the entire complex seemed very quiet as it is located far enough from the highway to eliminate any noise and shares the area with a few chain hotels, restaurant and gas station. I do not understand the prior review about noise, unless the noise came from other guests.
The staff were very accommodating during our stay and seemed eager to answer our many questions about the area. Their recommendation for pizza was especially rewarding.
The Redwood is located in the town closest to Humboldt Redwoods that has the usual supermarkets and stores that are not present in the small communities within the park. It is about a fifteen minute drive to the first large groves and less to smaller groves. We have stayed in a cabin in the park on a prior trip and both alternatives for accommodations have their good points. If one were planning a one week visit, I would split it between the cabin and The Redwood in Fortuna.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tommytag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you very much for recognizing our eagerness! The staff at The Redwood has been great through our transition. As owners of the property for the past five years we saw an opportunity to create a better sense of place for those coming to the redwoods. We look forward to your return to Humboldt County.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I booked a one-night stay here with my family while visiting relatives in nearby Ferndale. Ferndale accommodations are limited - particularly with children - so Fortuna offered the nearest hotels for our purpose.

The hotel is an older style with exterior doors and a rectangular floor plan without separation between the bedroom and the sink area of the bathroom. It's not fancy, but if you want fancy in the Eureka-Ferndale-Fortuna area, then leave the kids at home and find a B&B. Speaking of the area, the Redwood is in a cluster of other hotels almost on the banks of the Eel River, just outside of the main part of Fortuna. It's within walking distance of one or two restaurants, which is convenient.

Our room was clean and plenty large for our family of four. It included a refrigerator/microwave combo and a sitting table which we used for breakfast in our room the morning of check out, as all of the limited seating in the lobby was being used by other guests as a convenient place to digest their breakfasts. (Some were still there a half-hour later when we checked out.) We were not unique in having to gather our breakfast and take it elsewhere to eat, but that's an issue resulting from inconsiderate guests and not a shortfall of the hotel. The service was very good, particularly with respect to changes we needed to make to our reservation.

One oddity I found was the elevator. More correctly, I didn't find an elevator. I assume there is one somewhere, but we didn't see it. As our family is quite fit, mobile, and even, dare I say, nimble, it was only inconvenient when schlepping luggage up to and down from our second-floor room (and when making multiple trips with breakfast in hand).

In summary, The Redwood was clean, it was reasonable, the location was good, and the service was good. It's a 2.5/3-star hotel and I'd stay here again. If you know what you're booking, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrEricG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

It is always encouraging to see such a great response from a well traveled person and thank you for recognizing our great staff. You were not amiss... we do not have an elevator at the property. We try to inquire about requests for upper and lower floors when making a reservation at The Redwood. We are also working on increasing the seating for breakfast and will be adding seats as we move forward. Safe travels and we hope to see you in the redwoods again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews