We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owners provide nice upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fortuna
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The new owners did a nice job refurbishing the Holiday Inn Express in Fortuna. The moment you check-in, you can tell how badly the owners and staff want this project to be a success.
My wife and I spent three nights in August at The Redwood and had a delightful stay. Our room was large and very clean and was recently refurbished. The linens were new and the bathroom recently refurbished. The pool and Jacuzzi are indoors and well maintained with a huge mural of the redwood forest on the wall. Our room and the entire complex seemed very quiet as it is located far enough from the highway to eliminate any noise and shares the area with a few chain hotels, restaurant and gas station. I do not understand the prior review about noise, unless the noise came from other guests.
The staff were very accommodating during our stay and seemed eager to answer our many questions about the area. Their recommendation for pizza was especially rewarding.
The Redwood is located in the town closest to Humboldt Redwoods that has the usual supermarkets and stores that are not present in the small communities within the park. It is about a fifteen minute drive to the first large groves and less to smaller groves. We have stayed in a cabin in the park on a prior trip and both alternatives for accommodations have their good points. If one were planning a one week visit, I would split it between the cabin and The Redwood in Fortuna.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tommytag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you very much for recognizing our eagerness! The staff at The Redwood has been great through our transition. As owners of the property for the past five years we saw an opportunity to create a better sense of place for those coming to the redwoods. We look forward to your return to Humboldt County.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (553)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

527 - 533 of 553 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

I booked a one-night stay here with my family while visiting relatives in nearby Ferndale. Ferndale accommodations are limited - particularly with children - so Fortuna offered the nearest hotels for our purpose.

The hotel is an older style with exterior doors and a rectangular floor plan without separation between the bedroom and the sink area of the bathroom. It's not fancy, but if you want fancy in the Eureka-Ferndale-Fortuna area, then leave the kids at home and find a B&B. Speaking of the area, the Redwood is in a cluster of other hotels almost on the banks of the Eel River, just outside of the main part of Fortuna. It's within walking distance of one or two restaurants, which is convenient.

Our room was clean and plenty large for our family of four. It included a refrigerator/microwave combo and a sitting table which we used for breakfast in our room the morning of check out, as all of the limited seating in the lobby was being used by other guests as a convenient place to digest their breakfasts. (Some were still there a half-hour later when we checked out.) We were not unique in having to gather our breakfast and take it elsewhere to eat, but that's an issue resulting from inconsiderate guests and not a shortfall of the hotel. The service was very good, particularly with respect to changes we needed to make to our reservation.

One oddity I found was the elevator. More correctly, I didn't find an elevator. I assume there is one somewhere, but we didn't see it. As our family is quite fit, mobile, and even, dare I say, nimble, it was only inconvenient when schlepping luggage up to and down from our second-floor room (and when making multiple trips with breakfast in hand).

In summary, The Redwood was clean, it was reasonable, the location was good, and the service was good. It's a 2.5/3-star hotel and I'd stay here again. If you know what you're booking, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrEricG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

It is always encouraging to see such a great response from a well traveled person and thank you for recognizing our great staff. You were not amiss... we do not have an elevator at the property. We try to inquire about requests for upper and lower floors when making a reservation at The Redwood. We are also working on increasing the seating for breakfast and will be adding seats as we move forward. Safe travels and we hope to see you in the redwoods again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We should have known something was wrong when we saw the guest in front of us at check in was cancelling his booking after having seen his room.
We checked in but found our room to be extremely noisy, with an unpleasant stain and 'personal' hairs on the sheets. Like the other guest, we checked right out again.
Also, contrary to what the manager says in his response below, the renovations to the lobby are not complete. Today, 31 August (Labor Day weekend) there was dust everywhere and a builder at work.
Not good at all.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Oli_C-23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

After speaking with the front desk staff that assisted you over Labor Day weekend, it appears you might have had a long day of travels. I can assure you, as well as all reading this post, that no guest had left in front of you after inspecting a room. We were indeed oversold that evening so the guests might have been directed to another hotel because we were not able to accommodate them. Within minutes of your leaving our hotel, the front desk attendant inspected the room and even untucked the linens to try to correct the issues that you have stated. No such issues were apparent. In March of 2013 we contracted with a premium linen company that has ensured a high level of linen quality for The Redwood and this has been the case Their was indeed a finish carpenter in the lobby putting the finishing detail on the new wainscot. As has been stated in other reviews, we pride ourselves on the cleanliness and competency of the staff at The Redwood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is an excellent hotel to stay in. The staff is very friendly and accommodating, making sure we had everything that we needed. Everything was nice and clean. Being able to walk to Eel River Brewery is an added bonus. I will definitely come back!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Caitlin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just returned from 2 days at this hotel. We booked before the change from Holiday Express and thankfully- they honored our reservation and "point" discount rate. The complex is showing its age and wear but I have to say it was well run, clean and surprisingly quiet. The "new" rates start at $129 according to the desk person. I don't know how that rate compares to the many other hotels in the vicinity. Complimentary breakfast was very much like an Express Inn with juices, micro eggs, gravy & biscuits, yogurt, bagels/sweet rolls and fruit. It was nice enough for the reduced price we paid. I probably would feel a bit differently if we had paid $129.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank msbossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

We are very happy you still chose to stay with us after we transitioned to The Redwood. The staff has been great during this change and have made the switch seamless for our guests. We have currently completed renovation on the lobby and are beginning the room upgrades in September. We have kept our rates at the same level as what we charged last year during the summer and they are comparable to our neighbors. We look forward to having you as our guests again. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

It's is a good hotel in a funny location. Having said that, there are a lot of other hotels in the same weird area, such as comfort inn, best western etc. yes, it's a sort of industrial area, but, 'downtown' Fortuna doesn't seem to have much to offer for accommodation or dining.

We found the hotel to be comfy and quiet and the staff pleasant and eager to please. Especially liked the lemon scones at breakfast! A big bonus for us was that we were almost next door to the local brew pub (Eel River Brewing Company) where we could drink decent beer and eat a reasonable meal.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank motomoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDLivingtheDream, Owner at The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for recognizing our great staff! We have just added the sconces to the breakfast service and we are happy you enjoyed them. We find that our location is a perfect starting point for your access to the Humboldt Redwoods, both to the north and south. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel many many times. But this time was a wonderful surprise. The up grading of this hotel is fantastic. Bringing in the Redwoods and the great fishing in in the area. The decorations are pleasant, fishing poles in the hallway, a collage of fishing flies that were made by the owners grandfather. So many little surprises through out Alicia does a fantastic job with the breakfast bar and all the new goodies that are available. Gina is wonderful as well. Garrett is fantastic he has the brownies ready and always a smile. The rooms are clean and the beds are made just right by Epifonia. I really appreciate the mirror with the 5x in the bathroom. We were not disappointed in the turn over from Hoilday Inn Express. This is an excellent hotel and the people are so accommodating. We are in the area a lot and will stay here definitely.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Judie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fortuna
0.1 mi away
Best Western Country Inn
15.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
13.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Redwood Country
15.6 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
15.6 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel

Address: 1859 Alamar Way, Fortuna, CA 95540-8535
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Fortuna
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fortuna
Price Range: $97 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel is an independently owned luxury hotel in Fortuna, CA. Our accommodations reflect the natural beauty of the redwood area. Located off US 101 in an area with traveler services, The Redwood seeks to be your one-of-a-kind choice. Our central location serves as the ideal base camp to visit the many state parks and enjoy other outdoor activities in Humboldt County. . In the afternoons you may even find a plate of brownies at the desk, a wink to another famous Humboldt industry. Some of our amenities offered include complimentary buffet breakfast Two stories, exterior corridor, parking in private lot near all guest rooms, 100% non-smoking. Indoor pool, pets welcome, guest laundry, and we have hand painted murals and lobby map for your viewing and convenience. But the heart of hospitality is not the amenities, it is the service. As your independent hotel choice in Fortuna we strive to give "boutique hotel" service and exceptional hospitality. Because we are small and independent, changes will continue to improve the guest experience. The guest is the reason we are here, but the redwoods, rivers and general area are the reasons you, the guest, are here. With this in mind, we seek to offer you a strong sense of place. That sense of place is the Giant Redwoods of Humboldt County. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IBC Hospitality, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Fortuna (Ferndale Area) Hotel Fortuna
Holiday Inn Fortuna
Fortuna Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing