We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog Friendly Gateway to the Redwoods”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fortuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We arrived without a reservation. The front desk accommodated us with a friendly and positive attitude. Our dog "Cowboy" was greeted and welcomed without a problem. The double queen room was spacious and comfortable. The room was probably the cleanest, freshest hotel room I've been in, in a very long time. All the little things were there. Plenty of fresh, fluffy pillows. Awesome coffee maker(single cup) and tea in room, with complimentary mini oreos. Convenient outlets bedside for gadgets. Great wifi and TV. Indoor pool and jacuzzi. Convenient grassy area for dog duty. Complimentary continental breakfast. Quiet, super clean and affordable. If you're driving up to see the Redwoods and need a place to stay, I highly recommend the Best Western in Fortuna, CA.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nitram4id
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 704 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

I've spent a lot of time at hotels due to our daughter playing travel softball & now D1 college softball. Taking our time driving back from Oregon, this was a nice place to stop.Quaint location, right by the Eel River. This has been one of the best hotels we have stayed at. They actually care about the property, they were restriping the parking lot & a man was wiping down the benches in the morning, someone working on the plants. Lobby decorated for Easter, cookies & candy for guests. Nicely landscaped, bird feeders by the breakfast area, very cute. The little extras-makeup removal sheets, nice like of toiletry items, a pack of mini oreo cookies,coffee maker, fridge, microwave in the room. In the lobby- several coffee thermos with different kinds of coffee, almost every flavor of coffee creamers, whoohoo! Breakfast very good, in fact they had to put a keyreader lock on the door as guests of other hotels would sneak over, take a tray & go back to their hotels (the other hotels have breakfasts also) nearby.Everyone working here greeted us warmly even though they're working on a holiday. This is the first hotel that I've stayed at where the fridge works without taking 6 hrs to get to the right temperature. Maybe all hotels should buy Black & Decker mini fridges. 1st time everything in a hotel room worked without fail-amazing! I've stayed at 4-5 star hotels where there was something not working- lights, fridge, bad beds, noisy rooms (thin walls). It was so quiet...last 2 hotels we stayed-floors squeaked, neighbors could be heard. One of them was one of the major 3 chain hotels. We have stayed at swanky resorts & the employees just seem to go through the motions ie., slap on a happy face, kind of like Disneyland. The employees here are real & seem that they do care about their guests & it shows.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Cindi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Consistently wonderful experience. Excellent value. Super clean, comfortable, quiet and friendly. Wonderful full breakfast. Professional, friendly staff. Highly recommend this hotel, even if it is a bit out of your way off the freeway. This is our home away from home when we visit family in the area. This property will not disappoint!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Took my daughter and grandchildren to BW Country Inn. Stayed in the suite!! LOVED it...was so very clean, had TWO bathrooms, plenty of room for kids stuff and loved the cookies. Staff is amazing and the half indoor, half outdoor pool is the best for swimming. The breakfast was better than any restaurant we have been to in a long time. The location is quiet and beautiful and has windows you can open in the room. I can't wait to come back to this wonderful place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I was blown away by the cleanliness of when we walked into the Sequoia Suite. Our suite had 2 seperate bedrooms, plus a sitting area to relax in the recliner The kids love the indoor/outdoor pool too! The pool even had toys to add to the fun for the kids. Overall, I was very impressed with the quality of rooms and also the friendliness of staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Tiffany L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We liked staying at this Best Western hotel, not just because of the chocolate kisses at the lobby door:-) The staff was helpful in suggesting us a good place to eat nearby. We had a comfortable room and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTravelOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Very nice Hotel! Great service! Beautiful room. Swimming pool and soaking pool felt GREAT! You really get a awesome value when you stay here, since the room also comes with a contental breakfast. They very much cater to their guests.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fortuna
13.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
15.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Redwood Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
15.7 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
731 reviews
15.7 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Country Inn

Address: 2025 Riverwalk Dr, Fortuna, CA 95540-9552
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Fortuna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fortuna
Price Range: $98 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Country Hotel Fortuna
Best Western Fortuna
Country Inn Fortuna
Fortuna Country Inn
Fortuna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing